Don't think I will get a motorbike in Chiang Mai

in #th5 years ago

I have always had a motorbike in Thailand. It is the preferred method of transport because it is super easy to park almost anywhere and consumes very little in the way of fuel. They are also quite inexpensive to rent and if you know where to look and understand the way the laws of ownership function, they are quite easy to buy and then sell on when you leave.

That being said, just as I indicated in the title, I can see very little reason for me to bother having one up here in Chiang Mai.


source

They look like that and a Fino also happens to be one of my favorite "twist-and-go" bikes. They are normally between 100 and 150 CC's which sounds weak until you consider they will generally go fast enough to kill you instantly. If you are careful and don't drive like a lunatic you'll be fine. However, there are a number of reasons why I am seriously leaning towards not having a motorbike in this city at all.


source

  • That's the first reason right there. The roads are packed. There are a million people here and I would guess that most of them have at least one vehicle. There really isn't anywhere left to build any more roads so yeah, it is only going to get worse as time goes on.

  • The cops here are looking for payouts on a daily basis. Unfortunately they target anyone who is not Thai a great deal more. I sat at a coffeeshop at a police checkpoint and roughly 90% of the people they pulled over were tourists. They notice the non-Thai skin, or they see the rented bike sticker that is required on the front of the bike, pull them over, and give them a fine. The only Thai people I saw get pulled over were not wearing helmets and I thoroughly agree with ticketing these people. Wear a friggin helmet!

  • On a bicycle, you can basically do whatever you want: Wanna ride into oncoming traffic on the wrong side of the road? Go for it and just stay out of the way. Wanna ride on the sidewalk? No problem! Feel like bypassing a one-way street on your push-bike? Nobody even looks at you funny for doing so. (by the way I'm not suggesting that you should do this like a jerk, it is perfectly safe if you are comfortable with your bicycle and realize that it is your obligation to get out of the way should there be a problem)

  • This next part really applies to people like me: I work online; I don't really have to be anywhere at any particular time so what's the rush? I have a schedule to maintain 2 days of the week and that's it!

  • The Grab taxi app (it's like Uber, but in Asia) is so remarkable well-made and inexpensive you will never have to wait anywhere really. I have gone from one side of town to the other and the total bill has never been more than 100 Baht ($3).

  • The aforementioned Mobike company that has thousands of bicycles for you to use anytime you want all over the city so if you don't want to walk, you don't have to for long.

  • you can get almost anything delivered to your house. Meals, groceries, beer, liquor, even cigarettes. The service for this delivery is normally around $1. This used to be complicated as F**k but now that any chat app has a "share my location" option, you don't even need to know how to speak Thai to work this out.


source

There are also these things. They are called Songthews and they are basically buses. It doesn't matter if you are going to the next block or 40 miles away, the fare is 30B (less than a dollar) so once i figure out their routes I may use that from time-to-time also.

These things I have listed above are a powerful combination of reasons for me to not purchase my own vehicle. I may at some point purchase my own bicycle, one that has gears and a basket for me to put doggo in to go to a park, but as it stands right now, I really can't justify having one. Time will tell.

Sort:  

Yea man I totally understand that! In the south it (mostly) wasn’t quite that bad, but when it’s insanely busy, and the plus the cops... pretty much a no go for me too!

exactly: Down in the south everything is so far apart that you really must have your own transport. In Chiang Mai, no matter what part of the city you are in, you are never very far from what you might need.

To ask me not to ride a motorbike is like asking me not to breath ^^

I do actually have a 115cc automatic Fino, as well as my 250cc. I rode all over the north of Thailand many times over on that little Fino. :) It is still my daily commuter bike, but the Kms' are ranking up.

I understand your reasons though. When I first arrived in Chiang Mai in 2006 is was no where near as congested. Not many foreigners too. ..at least not like today. It was heaven to get around the city (which, as I said in a previous comment, I now avoid).

One point about the traffic police though, is that they have designated targets. So yes, you will see them pull over tourists / foreigners are certain hot spots, but outside of the city you will see them pull over only Thai on bikes or only cars. It just depends on the zone. So tourist hotspots are for targeting tourists. Which makes sense when you think about it ..and more profitable.

Nice insights though, and can see why today there are easier options not to ride. In 2006 there wasn't grab etc..

since i don't really need to be anywere fast I think i am just going to Grab or ride a bicycle. Or rent a motorbike and only use it on the outskirts. I am completely qualified for an actual license but i am more of a "meh", i donwanna to that... type of guy

We took a taxi bike while in pattaya and my god the engines are absolutely powerful and they can accelerate and pull. We were overtaking the bid branded cars with ease.

Posted using Partiko iOS

yep. It just goes to show that if your vehicle doesn't really weight very much, you don't actually need a huge engine.

You don't need to own any transport where you live. There are just so many options and all at a reasonable price. I like the sound of the Grab taxi app as it sounds cheap and a quick option.

I enjoy my bike but atm the traffic is so bad it becomes a nightmare.

Taking a Grab is Not really better as you are trapped in traffic with a car.

I hope this is just for chinese new year and normalize After again

Posted using Partiko Android

oh it is worse for you in Phuket. At least here in Chiang Mai we are not an island so they actually have a ring-road that they call the "superhighway"

Lmao at the second picture. You got to be kidding me. How about air polution?

well, a lot of people in one place and that is gonna happen. That picture is an extreme example. It is not common.

you are correct man @gooddream...if we used motorcycle, we can transfer anything to house,it can be used traffic time to go away...we can go through the other vehicles.you are same to me...i always used my HONDA bike to go anywhere.what is your bike?

i no longer have one. that was the entire point of the article :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27