Maiphai Bar, Chiang Mai: Friendliest bar yet.

in #th5 years ago (edited)

So today I decided to take my mobike out for an evening cruise and look around to know the area a bit better because I felt as though the part of town my condo is in was a bit too touristy, unfriendly (because of too many customers,) and overpriced. I found a winner on a drive-by.


source

Originally I actually drove by the place because I hadn't explored very much at that point but I remember as i did my drive by (which was on a bicycle,) the people inside noticed me and smiled and waved - nothing more.... no "hello hannnnsome man!" or "hey where you go?" or anything like that (you would probably need to have visited Thailand to know what I am talking about.)


source

After i cruised around on the bicycle for another 30 minutes or so I was so moved by their cool-as-a-cucumber approach to potential customers that I went back. I parked my bike and walked in and they remembered me from driving by before (perhaps because I actually AM a hannnsome man? I dunno) and were immediately very very friendly.

If you haven't learned by now or are new on my blog - sometimes having good service is much much more important to me than if you actually have a good product. Customer service is so important in the bar and restaurant scene and over where I currently live in Chiang Mai I have seen very little of it despite the fact that there are some really good restaurants over there. Maybe it is just me, but i will go to an average place that treats me like a friend rather than go to a place where I am treated like Gordon Ramsay treats his kitchen staff.


source

Their drinks were just the same as they are everywhere else and just a little bit cheaper (like 10 Baht) but the thing that won me over was the attitude. At one point all the staff members started dancing with the customers and I apologize for the horrible out of focus picture but I haven't yet bought a new phone.

51648839_419227208820309_2536616597074739200_n.jpg

It wasn't terribly late and there was only 8 customers, but the staff members all seemed to be genuinely enjoying themselves and also seemed genuinely interested in making sure we also enjoyed ourselves. I knew all of their names before I left and I will definitely go back to that place whereas the other bars I have been to (I've only been to 3 including this one) I don't believe i will be a patron of ever again.

I think it is so very important for staff to treat the customers they have, even if they only have a few, as though they are happy you decided to go to their place.... I mean, we are spending our money there and at the other bars I have been to their attention to you ended as soon as you ordered your drink. Being nice is free and I don't understand why more people don't do it.

if you find yourself in Chiang Mai and you want to have a good time I would imagine this place can provide it for you (contact information contained in this link)... I'll likely go there again tomorrow.

Sort:  

Hello hannnsome man lol. Never been there so I can only imagine what it is like. Very true it costs nothing to be friendly to customers and after what you have experienced lately this is a breath of fresh air. I would also go back to a place that was so welcoming.

I have never been to a bar before as my parent are always in objection with it. I did not really know wether it is bad to visit a bar as they always see it

family first pal. There is some merit to what they say. I think it all depends on the person. A lot of the problems in my life have come from going to a bar, but most of the good things are because of it also.

It is very nice to be well cared for and to enjoy a good place at the same time. I think this is great to spend a while of pleasure and good conversation with friends and drink a few cold beers (I can't try one for a long time ...) before I used to do it frequently and thanks to the moments lived I can resist the abstinence hahaha. Enjoy the days, friend @gooddream.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75