Father's Day in Thailand is Today

in #thailand5 years ago

Dec 5th is father's day in the Kingdom of Thailand and this is because it is the birthday of HRH King Bhumibol Adulyadej.

In_Remembrance_of_His_Majesty_King_Bhumibol_Adulyadej(1).jpg

As some of your may recall, this is not the current King of Thailand but rather the birthday of the previous King who tragically died on 13 October 2016 at the age of 88. At that time he was the longest-running monarch in the world.

The holiday is still recognized because he was an exceptionally revered person in this country and likely always will be. Upon his passing a period of mourning was declared and it lasted more than a year. During this time all government employees were required to wear black to work every day although I am certain, based on how admired this man was, that no one was forced to do this - they did so gladly.

King-Bhumibol-death.jpg

On Father's Day in Thailand many of the activites are similar to the Father's Day that exists in the western world. It is a day not only to pay respects to the "Father of the Kingdom" but also to pay respects to your own biological father. This normally consists of gifts made in school and a nice family dinner.

Where I am staying right now the owners of this building are spending the entire day having good food and general merriment and of course a large picture of Bhumibol Adulyadej is on the wall nearby complete with offerings under the images. I did not take a picture of this because I am not sure of the protocol and one of the quickest ways to get on the bad side of a Thai person is to do something disrespectful to the Royals - even if it is unintentional.

blogger-image-1648412609.jpg
one of my favorite shots of the previous King

I quite like this public holiday even though it means that a lot of the stuff I need to use are closed. Everyone is a just a little bit friendlier on Dec 5 and even though they don't know me, i have been invited multiple times to have food with the family downstairs. It gives me a good chance to practice my Thai and their children to practice English. Also the food is out of this world but I could do without the sitting on the floor because I find that impossible to do comfortably. Maybe it is because I am one of the least flexible people on the planet.

So maybe surprise your own father with a Happy Father's Day wish today and impress him with something that perhaps he, and you didn't know before reading this blog entry.

Sort:  

I'm actually surprised that how come they still haven't changed the date of father's day.. I miss Rama 9, of course! That's cool you're learning Thaiii :D

i was wondering why that was but i didn't want to comment. I figured i would leave that information for a Thai person to say . :)

Happy fathers day to all in Thailand and around the world!

I didn't know they celebrate father's day on dec 5 there, since when they started to do that on this date? In fact, I don't really know since when is father's day celebrated in the western world nor what inspired it, so I can't make any comparison.

Father's Day is the birthday of the King in Thailand as he is seen as the Father of a nation. There are actually 2 Father's days at the moment. For the current King and the one who recently passed away. I don't know if they will eventually phase out this one but he is so highly respected that it will likely be a while.

Do you know if the Birthday from the King before Bhumibol Adulyadej was also phased in?

Here many places still have pictures of him instead of his son though.

The little movie they show of the king when you go to the cinema is also a bit weired still. With the knew king they had all those real pictures. With the new king he is photoshopped in, in all the pictures which kinds of tells me there are not enough pictures yet with him and his people to make such a short film

the previous king held the throne for a massive 70 years. During the beginning of his reign his father's birthday might have been honored as well for a while, but I have not actual records of this ever having happened.

First of all happy father's day to all my Thailand's bro and sis I'm from India and we celebrate father's day on 2nd Sunday of June so enjoy

I did not know that the celebration of Father's Day in Thailand had to be the birthday of the King, Father of the Kingdom, @gooddream. I read that the celebration is similar to the one we do around the world with gifts and food, so join the party and have a good time, my friend.

Reading this article is even surprised me regarding a fathers day in Thailand on 5th dec. Thank you for this kind of information and go ahead. Gokd one namaste. Thailand king was really a hood person.

Posted using Partiko Android

What a strange situation, is not it? It is incredible that a monarch or a ruler in general is so revered and for so long, when in most countries everything happens in common

It's great that you enjoyed that day in Thailand and more that you enjoyed the menu.

May God continue to bless you and give you life and health to continue enjoying these special places.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22