My first day in ninja school

in #thailand5 years ago

I do a lot of strange things. You could say that I am trying very hard to live a life that is a bit odd just for the adulation. This school is actually one of the main reasons that I decided to move to this city because the idea of being in a combat school seemed just strange enough for me to really want to do it.

15181338_572794546254551_2884740442696326765_n.jpg

I first went by months ago (I think it was August of last year) to scope the place out and I met the instructors. The thing that really impressed me was the CV (resume) of the head instructor Jongjet Pungsai. He was a member of the Royal Thai Military Police, a member of the Special Forces, and a personal bodyguard for hire for Thai celebrities and even a former Prime Minister. He also happens to be not especially huge - which says a lot.

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWXvAjbY4KrP8oNFNxMd8VGbNJpD4pxPHEod3UZPpxZkp7a85YqjMofzMeY7HiEEeR5itK29Y5F1dPaCqn7jfoL.jpg
source
that's him on the right

He also spoke excellent English, which of course, would be crucial if he was going to be able to teach a vast majority of his students. I only needed to meet him once to understand that this is what I wanted to do for the next year. I am not a small guy and I don't really want to hurt people, but I do like the idea of knowing that I can protect myself and my friends/family if the need arises.

The first day I was taught some basic stances and grappling, which is something that I am sure we are going to be doing a lot more of over the coming year. It was kind of like a military environment with a little bit of humor mixed in. There were 5 instructors teaching our class and all of them wandered around the 18 or so of us to monitor and ensure that we were using the correct techniques. It was my first day (and only one other person in the class can also say that) so of course I was making lots of mistakes.

15823351_589702621230410_8928035318831289669_n.jpg
source

We didn't participate in this, but one of the things that this class focuses on is disarming opponents and we received a demonstration from a master instructor and a 3-year student and i'll tell you what... I truly believe that these tactics would work in a real-life situation.

One of the things that they say is that "it doesn't matter if you are a man or a woman, if you are big or small, it doesn't even matter if you are fat: If you follow these techniques you WILL be able to defend yourself." I also liked the motto in huge letters on the wall that said "never strike first, but always strike last."

IMG20180915165651-1024x768.jpg
source

The fact that this class comes with a full administrative section that gets you a one-year Education Visa is just an added bonus. I am very hopeful that I will emerge from this class with some real knowledge and maybe a little less weight on me.

It's really too early for me to gauge if the entire course is going to be as incredible as today was, but I am hopeful. They all seem very dedicated to their craft and take is very seriously. This is NOT a method of bypassing the visa system... it is a real school and I am excited to attend class again tomorrow.

you can find more information here on their own website, the course isn't cheap but at 30,000 Baht (around 900 USD) for a YEAR as well as all visa processing fees included, it is a very good deal.

Sort:  

Wow!
I guess am now interested in going to a combat school
This is really motivating
Never believed a man like jongjet pungsai could be involved in all these captivating stories from being a member of the "Thai milliary police, a member of the special force and a personal bodyguard for hire for Thai celebrities and even a forner prime minister " what a role model.

Posted using Partiko Android

Didn't really know what combat mean at first but now I kind of got an idea. Your life is pretty random and I'm jellyy now 😶

hey... your life is too! I'm envious of what you do / know also. You never have to get visas... well, for L.A. I guess you do. :P

Come up and do combat class! haha, the short version is a mere 3 months!

Maybe after the US, i might do a short trip up north or to Malay a bit. If it ends up to be Chiang Mai, we sure should meet up!!

Oh! You forgot all about the taco bellllllll lol

i heard the Thai company wants to open 40 stores. Certainly at least one of them would be in Chiang Mai. however, i have heard that the food there is quite expensive. This might end up being a tough sell since the tex mex in Chiang Mai is already pretty cheap.

I actually don't wanna go because of it's taco bell but cause it's the first taco bell. I was hoping my video might go viral like the iconsiam one. Well, seems like not much time. I didn't check the price yet. Enjoy Chiang mai and the combat class!!! :D

in LA going to taco bell is frowned upon... i say go anyway and (please do this) ask for a meximelt beef. It isnt on any menu anymore but it is the best thing that this place has ever made. should cost less than 2 dollars and if you don't like it... i guess i owe you a beer.

I will pretend I don't like it XD

Having skills that few have is a huge advantage. Not that you want to use then, but you have them if required. I think what you are doing is pretty cool and an experience you will never forget. The price is very reasonable for one year and look forward to updates.
I have done basics in self defense and disarming others so it is another few levels up what you are doing.

I had days without knowing about you, thank goodness I see you again in my favorites writing, it's good to read you as always ... My dear friend, my respects.

Yes Netflix gets boring, let's do some Ninja classes instead. ;)

when i come home from ninja school i did three things: Walk the dog in the "park," went and got some dinner, and then watched Netflix. I thought about going to a bar but too tired after ninja training.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78