Things I love about Thai New Year (Songkran)

in #thailand5 years ago

You might recall how I was a bit of a Scrooge in the last article that I wrote about the Thai New Year a.k.a. Songkran. This is a nationwide holiday of sorts where the entire country erupts into a water war that goes on for days.

For the most part after more than 10 years of this I find the revelry to be more annoying than fun, but as a balance I would like to highlight the things that are great about Songkran even if you don't want to participate in the party.

The joy it brings to the kids


source

What child wouldn't want to engage in a water battle that is going on literally everywhere? Yesterday I was riding my motorbike and passing all the (very polite) partiers until I spotted a group of kids who were below I would say 10 years old. They were very happy to be able to spray me with water and since it was a bunch of giggling little kids, I didn't mind either. I think this day is likely something they look forward to all year round and who am I to deny them this?

the long holiday brings families together


source

While it is common around the world, Thais tend to spread out in their professional lives. Generally this incorporates moving to a larger city such as Bangkok or Chiang Mai although many professionals have very modest roots from a small village in the countryside. Since Thais tend to have a 6 day workweek, there are very few opportunities to go and visit mom and dad. These reunions are normally filled with a large group of extended family members getting together for a bunch of food and visiting and well, who doesn't like that?

Everyone gets a much deserved break



source

Generally speaking, Thais work a lot more than westerners. Unless you work for a bank for the the government, a 6-day workweek is standard and many tourism oriented professions will not even have that. I know many Thais in the industry that only get 1 or 2 days off a month during high season and the Songkran break is 4 or 5 days long. This much deserved break is certainly something that everyone can look forward to. I personally feel as though Thai people work entirely too many hours and the happiness that such a long break must bring them is probably something everyone is completely overjoyed about.


So there you have it. In my first article I said i was fed up with this holiday but that is only because of a few hotspots of bad activity that happens in the major party areas. However, I think that overall the holiday is a great one because it gives everyone a chance to relax and revisit loved ones. Sometimes I think I take my own life for granted because I have an atypical schedule and get lots of time off. I enjoy seeing happiness in others so therefore, I am extremely happy that this long and important holiday exists.

Sort:  

Holidays and time off are very important and didn't know the Thai's only get one day off a week. having no time for friends and family must be a bit harsh, but I suppose they know no better and are just used to it. I tend to see other family members once a year or so and that is not enough really.

That is pretty awesome how the kids can have such fun with it. It can be important at times for us to stop and see the world through their eyes. It can make a huge difference in the way we see things too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13