Be Kind to your Mind - World Mental Health Day

in #thealliance6 years ago (edited)
I am one of millions that suffer with anxiety and depression. I have battled with this illness my whole adult life and much of my childhood.

ieeijscoy5.jpgyou image
Source Unsplash.com

Some say it is a disease born of experience, others say it can be genetic.

I believe that my situation has arisen from both.

My parents and grandparents have suffered with various mental health issues. My son also has issues. I believe that it has been passed down through the generations through our genes.

I have also had bad experiences, of which I don’t want to go into here, but I have been left with PTSD which affects my life on a daily basis.

I have been on antidepressants for at least 18 years and I try to come off them every now and then when I feel well, but it always ends with me crashing and becoming very ill and I have to start taking them again.

The mind is a very delicate thing and nobody truly understands it. Some people make us feel safe and secure, others can make us feel in danger, just from being in their presence.

I have had therapy in the past, but it didn’t work for me. My therapist actually made me feel worse because when I did open up to her, she was obviously shocked at what I had to say and wanted to refer me elsewhere because she felt she didn’t have the skills to deal with my situation effectively. This made me withdraw even more and I never took therapy any further.

jv71oh8m82.jpg
Source Unsplash.com

When I met my husband as an adult 15 years ago, I was not in a good place. He was gentle and kind and supportive and never once made me feel threatened. If anything, he made me feel safer than anyone had ever done my whole life.

This was a pivotal moment for me. I had trust issues and never let people get close. This was the first time I was allowing someone close enough to be able to get to know me properly.

Without the love and support of my husband over the years, I know I wouldn’t be the person I am today.

nirgwr179m.jpgyou image
Source Unsplash.com

Cherish those in your life that help to keep you mentally healthy. Appreciate the ones who make you feel safe and secure. They are few and far between.

Most importantly, be kind to your mind.


Thank you for visiting.
Much love, BB xx

The STEEM Engine

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

What a wonderful post. I've never suffered from the clinical form of depression, just the more ordinary and temporary kind.

I do have PTSD. When I got that diagnosis it was a massive freedom for me. Prior to that, I was pretty convinced that I was insane and needed to guard my behavior very carefully.

Thank you for sharing an intimate piece of you. It takes great bravery to do so, and I appreciate it.

Thank you Big T.

PTSD is awful. I am so sorry to hear you also have this.

Many people don't understand that it can literally tear your life apart. Some think this can only be experienced by soldiers or people at war, but it can happen in everyday life through traumatic situations.

My head knows that logically I am no longer in that situation, but the slightest trigger and I am transported back to that time and moment which is terrifying. I can relate about thinking you are insane, there is nothing more frightening than questioning your own mind.

Big hugs, BB xx

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Wow! Thank you so much!

Took some courage to bear the state of your being. Kudos.

Thank you so much. We need to remind ourselves about the importance of looking after our own mental health as well as out physical health. <3

What a beautiful way to raise awareness and to remind people how important our mental health is. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you for your kind comment <3

This is a beautiful post coming straight from the horses mouth. I'm so glad that you found someone who is so supportive and loves you so much to help you through your journey

I would be lost without him, I truly would! We have our ups and downs like any other married couple, but he is my rock.
Thank you for your comment <3

That’s beautiful, brave, and real.

Thanks for choosing to share that here.

It kinda sucks that you had that experience with the therapist; at least they were honest about their capacity to hold space for you. I would offer to not give up on that, maybe shop around until you find one you feel safe enough with before opening up.

Huge mega good juju vibes heading your way.....

😊🙏🏽💜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you :) I am in a good place right now which is great.

I was shocked at the therapist's reaction at the time but looking back I am glad she didn't try to help me as I could tell it was too much for her to handle and she wouldn't have provided me with the right safe place to be able heal.

Maybe in the future I will revisit the idea but for now I am happy with where I am at.

BB <3

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

What a wonderful post! Thanks for sharing your experience and raising awareness on this issue! You rock!

Thank you for your support @lymepoet <3

Oh honey. Can I hug you from here? I hear you on the anxiety/depression ride, though our stories are different. I'm SO glad you have your husband.

Cherish those in your life that help to keep you mentally healthy. Appreciate the ones who make you feel safe and secure. They are few and far between.

Truth. May we be kind to ourselves, and to each other.

Hugs back atcha! There are so many that suffer in silence.

May we be kind to ourselves, and to each other.

This is sooo important! Sometimes being kind is all we need to do to help someone else even if we dont realise they need that kindness!

Much love, BB 💕💕💕

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by beautifulbullies (bulldogs) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14