My Application for The Alliance

Now, been wandering the halls of Steemit for some 11 months now. My first account, opened last Summer, is orphaned. Don't mind me, but it was a go around with my Passwords and all...

But this one? BluefinStudios? Steady since last fall.
I was on another site, called ello, and a superb mentor: TheKittyGirl, dragged me on over here.
Things haven't been the same for me!


How did you find #thealliance?
I've seen #TheAlliance tag, around, here and there. Lately, quite a few of my time on Discord and Steemit, seems to be about Mentoring. Mostly Photographers, and a few other newbies on Steemit, in General. It seems, @ancapbarbie has noticed my moves to help some newbies get traction on Steemit.

She mentioned I should Apply to be a member.
She passed along a few links, including one with a link the The Admissions Office.

I go into the Admissions Office, and see the Welcome Bot message:
"3 questions; how did you find #thealliance, why do you want to be here, and what qualities do you have that would make you a valued member of the family. Then post it in the APPLICATIONS channel."


3 Questions? Three?
The first thing that goes through my mind:
Three
A weird Flashback to my younger days, and Monty Python:
...Then, shalt thou count to three. No more. No less. Three shalt be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be three. Four shalt thou not count, nor either count thou two, excepting that thou then proceed to three. Five is right out. Once the number three, being the third number, be reached...


But, enough whimsy, though...
... on with the Process:


Why do you want to be here?
That's a tough one. Mostly, It's not a want.
I help.
IRL, I mentor High School kids on a few Robotics Teams in New England. In my work, I mentor new peeps in the Special Events Biz. I feel strongly that we must pass along what we have learned.
So, in my Steemit world, I help.

I mod a few Discords. I help other Photographers.
The funny part about being a mentor, is the part where, you are helping someone else who has no idea what it is that they don't know. And the key to life is learning what it is one doesn't know, and how to understand those holes. Once you know something is not known, then the next steps are easy. Not knowing...? I want to help with at least showing that there are unknowns.

I suspect, a great deal of new folks on Steemit have little to no understanding of Curating. AND that is a shame. It's doubly true of most new Photographers. I'd like to find out more about TheAlliance,and see if Helping through #TheAlliance is something that can help me focus my Mentoring and guidance of new Plankton and Minnows.


What qualities do you have that would make you a valued member of the family?
Mostly, I truly enjoy giving back. A while back, I had a series of Photography Tips and Techniques on Steemit. I've never been one for holding back what I have learned. It's important to give back to others, the techniques you have learned.

I am a photographer, and recently, I saw a few posts by Dreemsteem, and others, about The Welcome Wagon.
It struck me, that I am not doing enough to help Newbie Photographers on Steemit. Seeing the Welcome Wagon posts, prompted me a few days back to be more proactive for New Photographers on here.

I went online, to go search #photography, find those Steemians with the 25 or 30 reputations, and spent time over the last last few days commenting on, and reaching out to New Photographers. Helping is what I will do. Help new folks with Steemit posts. With Questions and Answers. With learning how to Network, how to find new followers. AND mostly, to navigate the many unspoken rules here online.

I will do this, no matter my Alliance standing.
I'd like to join the Alliance and do it through the Alliance. Maybe learn more about best practices for helping others. Best practices for Networking, and Curating. the tips and techniques others have learned, and that I want to pass along to others.

Mostly, I realize at my whopping level of VP and SP, that there are so many, many more, with more time on here, more experience, and more connections, that I have much to learn, too. And that needs passing along to others as well.

steem Logo.jpg

Sort:  

Fabulous. Thanks for applying 😎

Many thanks for the quick help, earlier...

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Great application!!!! :D

nice application @bluefinstudios .... you'll love the alliance

Thanks.
I hope I can fit in with the family.

you're an excellent addition ... i hear you need to watch out for that @shadowspub ... she's a bit of a PITA

I saw that on the Application Page.
I think it was right in the rules for applying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13