For @enginewitty - Day 248 - Haiku - My Alliance Peace Pic

20190204_010629 - Cori's Alliance Peace Pic.jpg

Let there be peace on . . .
(what planet is this again?)
Oh yes, that's right . . . Earth.

I've been a peacemaker all my life, as I noted in my first two Steemit posts, and have written about several times since.

In my introductory post, I spoke a little bit about who I am, what I'm about, our mini farm and what we are trying to do here. A few kind souls stopped by to give me an encouraging word, which was more appreciated than they will ever know.

On my following post, I went more deeply into why giving and kindness mean so much to me, how my parents led by example, and some of the projects and organizations I've been fortunate enough to work with over the years. Yet despite working long and hard on the post, in the end, I had one upvote and no engagement.

And the single upvote was from my husband.

I am hardly alone in this sort of experience.

Unfortunately, it has driven a lot of great writers and people away from the platform, as it is truly disheartening to see plagiarized photo after plagiarized photo, nearly always uncredited, and often not even bothering to tell what the photo depicts, making hundreds of dollars for no effort, while good and even truly great content goes unrewarded.

But in my case, I began engaging with some of the communities on Steemit, and started to really see the potential. Poets United was the first community to catch my eye, as I've been a published poet since 1999, in print and online, and I knew at the very least that I was likely to find at least a few people who spoke a common language.

And through them, I started seeing more and more Alliance members, and engaging with them, only to find that in several cases I had found kindred souls.

It is the communities which have brought so many of us together, finding commonalities with people from all corners of the globe, sharing knowledge and experiences, and having a blast in the meantime.

And, as a part of the mix, more and more Steemians began doing their own creatively peaceful and loving things, to counter all the negativity coming from what passes for government and the news these days. From @tarc, @thewritersblock and @youarehope, to @freewrite and @spunkeemonkee, and all the projects in-between, there is so much positivity taking place on this blockchain, and so much of it is coming from Alliance members!

And as discouraging as it is to hear those who should know better in Washington spouting ideas so patently ridiculous that any smart 8-year-old could poke holes clear through them, it is wonderfully encouraging to find not only like-minded people, but people willing to act on their beliefs, creating positive change in their own lives and communities, and by extension in the world at large.

I am both proud and humbled to be a part of it all.

I am grateful for the Alliance, home to so many of my very favorite Steemiams, for this fabulous and diverse and brilliant and talented and entirely goofy group of people, who regularly exhibit strength of character, exceptional intelligence, clear-eyed insight, huge hearts and overwhelming kindness. I thank you all.

I am doubly grateful for @enginewitty, who is the one who brought us all together. We all owe you, my friend. Our one and only Sexy Pirate Lord of Darkness. ;-)

Making my own corner of the world a better place has been my goal for as long as I can remember, and for me that has always meant creating peace, tolerance, love, forgiveness, giving people the benefit of the doubt, and simply being kind.

And this is exactly the kind of thinking I've found among my fellow members of the Alliance, loving people who give of themselves freely, who are always ready to give an encouraging comment when it is most needed, and, bonus!, are simply fun to hang out with, in Discord and in person.

20190202_110233 - Eddie's Incense Burner with Lit Pinon Incense.jpg

So I leave you with the photo above, an image to me of ultimate peace, as this is my dad's incense burner from when he first became a Buddhist when I was twelve.

I am burning my own favorite incense, natural Southwestern piñon, a treasured gift from my wonderful husband Marek. It's smell brings forth fond memories of camping trips with my grandparents in the Rocky Mountains every summer, and how somehow, despite beautiful sunny days, it usually managed to rain every night. ;-)

Peace out, my loves, one and all!

I am dedicating this post to #thealliance, and to further this fabulous family, half the liquid proceeds earned from my post will be transferred into its account.

The photos above were taken by me earlier tonight with my Samsung Note 8 smartphone.

#naturalmedicine #haiku #tribegloballove #tarc #yah #ecotrain #thewritersblock #smg #ghsc #thirtydayhaikuchallenge #teamgood #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #womenofsteemit #steemusa #qurator #steemitbasicincome #bethechange #chooselove #photography #neighbors #beauty #love #animals #dogs #rescue #adoption #spayandneuter #homesteading #permaculture #naturalhealing #dogrescue #dogsofsteemit #rabbits #animals #grace #poetry #philosophy #beablessing #naturalremedy #gratitude #abundance #give #family #peace #tranquility #giving #donating #philanthropy #naturalhealing #pets #cryptocurrency #culture #peacemaking #peacemaker #friendship, #warmth #self-respect #respect #allowing #giving #peace

@edxserverus_5 - TSU Banner.png

SubscriptionPackOwner.png

ecotrain.png

The Writers Block.gif

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://tinyurl.com/y93h9wt4

TribeGlobalLove Banner.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

That incense burner is soooo cool! Bet a lot of different aromas bring up memory lanes. Thanks for being you sweets, you are appreciated. 🤗🤗🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, Witty, you are as well. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Fantastic post, there is so much truth for us all in your own Steem Blockchain journey - it's much more then just posting and hoping people find you - discovering the communities and like minded people that make this experience so much more rewarding then just that value on your post upvotes.

I really love what @enginewitty has done with this #peace sign promotion, encouraging us all to come together and share our love for the platform - I'm still behind with doing my own post but I will - it is a superb way to bring us all together.

The Steem Blockchain still has many challenges to overcome, but it also has so many new projects, ideas and incredible focussed people coming together to make it a truly unique experience - I hope more like you will see the value in communities and keep sticking with us.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks, @c0ff33a -
I appreciate your support and your insights.

I should note as well that the oil painting behind me was done by my aunt Fran, who was my dad's best friend from 6th grade on, and one of my favorite people in the world.

She was also hilarious, and a huge Lakers fan, well into her 90s. Sharp as a tack, she was, up until the end. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

I love that picture of you -look at your happy smiling face!! Just lovely!!And that incense burner is just gorgeous - what a treasured thing! We were talking about house smells the other day, and I asked my boy what our house smelled like (he's 22 and moved out a few years back) and he said 'incense!' - at least it's not smelly butt socks. Lol.

Big up the Alliance - such great fams in Steemit - love love love. I must go hang out with you guys more.

Thanks, @riverflows!

I was actually trying to get a pic with my black kitty, Bear, but he was less than cooperative. In the end, I couldn't juggle him, my peace sign, and snapping the photo all at once. ;-)

So it's just me, goofy peace sign shirt and all. I'll upload a photo of it later.

Posted using Partiko Android

You? You? Wow, that's hard to imagine: Your second post at steemit, and despite working long and hard on the post, in the end, I had one upvote and no engagement. And the single upvote was from my husband. That sounds like me, minus the upvoting husband - he and the offspring and my sisters and even my parents don't read what I read. Many have assured me that for most writers this is a "thing," in spite of conventional wisdom. Ha. Amazon's policy of not allowing reviews from friends or family overlooks the fact that my sister would 1-star everything I do. So would my daughters. ;)

LOLOLOL!!! I never said that he read it, just that he upvoted it.

For a while, he was logging in and automatically upvoting my posts, but with rare exceptions, he only occasionally even logs in any more. He'd much rather play games on his phone. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

You've a lovely smile! It's so true that it's the people who make this platform such a terrific place. With all of the fantastic communities and projects, there really is a place for everyone to feel connected and accepted. Thank you for sharing your story and your treasured incense burner.

it is wonderfully encouraging to find not only like-minded people, but people willing to act on their beliefs, creating positive change in their own lives and communities, and by extension in the world at large.

Beautifully said! Peace and love and laughter to you, Crescendoofpeace!

Thank you very much, @brisby! My husband liked the photo as well.

I was trying to show my shirt, which is a recent gift from him, as it shows a stylized peace sign with "Weed, California " beneath, as he just drove through there twice. His joke was that whoever drew the circle was clearly too stoned to get it right. ;-)

Ah well, maybe later. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for joining the Peace Train! 😊
I like your earrings and that incense burner is fabulous! 💖

Thank you!

The incense burner has long been a favorite of mine, and the earrings are my favorite pair from the years when I was making jewelry.

I haven't made any recently, but I've been wanting to get back into it, so you never know, I may just start doing wire work again. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, didn't realize you were into jewelry-making! I made jewelry like that for several years, too; even sold a few bracelet-earring sets at a shop near where I once lived. It was a fun hobby! Still have all my tools, but haven't done it since getting on the Steem blockchain.

Yes, I did as well, in galleries and during events, usually hosted by a close friend of mine.

Too bad I wasn't making jewelry while I had my own gallery, but everything in it's own time, I suppose.

My issue now is where to work without kitty "help." ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09