Sailing Past the Sun - Day 160 - Daily Haiku

20180705_20010120180705_195847 - Gorgeous storm clouds at sunset.jpg

Beautiful storm clouds
as majestic as tall ships
sailing past the sun

I did a little mowing this afternoon, but didn't realize that there was no more fuel, so when I ran out of gas, I had to cover the mower where it sat and head for the store. On exiting the store, I noticed some of the storm clouds painted by the coming sunset, and stopped to grab a few shots. These were taken with my Samsung Note 8. Enjoy.

20180705_195847 - Gorgeous storm clouds at sunset.jpg

One of the things I enjoyed the most about seeing the fireworks all around last night, was that we had storms off in the distance, so the exploding fireworks were punctuated by occasional flashes of lightning and rumbling thunder. Absolutely gorgeous.

And today, we had predictions of isolated thunderstorms, which formed all around us, as they often do, giving us rumbling thunder and occasional lightning flashes throughout the day.

While I was mowing, the wind suddenly whipped up, clouds moved in, and the temperature dropped about fifteen degrees in less than five minutes . . . but no rain. Then the wind died down, the clouds parted a bit, and the sun broke through, but we were allowed to maintain our oasis of cool for at least a little while, which was a blessing.

Interestingly, and oddly, I checked the nest after I mowed, and was surprised to find a single nestling in the nest, with none of the others in evidence. Mom and dad were around, and didn't seem particularly concerned, so perhaps the little guys were even closer to fledging than I realized, though they are still considerably smaller than their parents.

I got home after dusk, so I refrained from checking them again, as I didn't want to give them the added stress of a light in their faces, but I'll check them tomorrow.

I haven't even seen any of the fledglings testing out their wings yet, as baby birds often go through wing-stretching exercises for days before attempting to leave the nest, so I question their ability to fly this soon, but then nothing is impossible. Hopefully they all found their way back to the nest.

20180705_201010 - Gorgeous storm clouds at sunset.jpg

This last photo is the view that greeted me upon leaving the highway, with the last dying gasps of the beautiful sunset, framed by lovely greenery on both sides.

And yes, I stopped the car prior to taking this photo. Luckily our streets aren't terribly busy at this time of day.

I'm still listening to rolling thunder in the distance as I write this, one of my favorite sounds in the world, and one of the most relaxing sounds in the world, second only to wind and ocean waves.

It's a lovely evening here, the fireflies are out and active, the mockingbirds are back to singing, and all's right in the world. Be blessed.

#thirtydayhaikuchallenge #isleofwrite #teamgirlpowa #steemsugars #ladiesofsteemit #spirituality #philosophy #naturalworld #raisingvibration #positivevibes #goodvibes #mockingbird #nestlings #babybirds #grapevines #peace #love #tranquility #thunder #distantthunder #distantstorm #lightning

Sort:  

Ah! You said fireflies. Takes me right back to Tennessee. 💖

Yes, thunder is an incredible sound. I don't know if I find it relaxing, but I like it... unless the forest is too dry, then I don't like it. But if it brings rain for thirsty plants, it's great. I love the awareness you have of the clouds, and the sun, and the birds. Wonderful post!

Thank you for your lovely comment, @katrina-ariel!

And yeah, I know what you mean - I never really saw fireflies on a regular basis until we moved to Tennessee.

We didn't have them on the West Coast, where I grew up, and in Florida we only had a few along Lake Seminole, because of all the spraying for mosquitoes.

But here they are in their glory, as this property hasn't been sprayed in at least eight years, and they are thriving, as are our local bees.

Life is wonderful. ;-)

You have a way of capturing some really beautiful moments - Ican see you there, taking it all in so reverently and consciously. Thunder is awesome - my husband in particular adores storms. Thunder, rain, waves, wind - symphonies of nature, so divine. Love this post.

Thanks, and thanks for your lovely comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86