Celebrating My Acceptance To The Alliance By Doing My First Curation

in #thealliance6 years ago

6E27059A-9A9A-408E-8527-07D8B961B679.jpeg
Photo by @hobotang - taken with iPhone

A while ago I posted an application to @thealliance. It’s a community I’ve heard plenty about thru @ameliabartlett, and its supportive and positive community I have wanted to be a part of. Being a new writer, sharer, blogger... I didnt expect to be ushered right into the inner circle, and was ultimately welcomed to ‘the classroom’ - a place for Alliance applicants to get a little coaching and mentoring. Excellent for me. However, being the nonconconformist, rebel, can’t-tell-me-nothin’ type of dude, I didn’t take well to the #homework portion. We’re instructed to produce a post with a few guidelines, one of which being subject matter.


Last week’s subject: toys. “This is bullshit, toys, really!?” “Why the hell do I need to do this?” “Why can’t I just write my own content without them telling m what to write about?” Yeah, just being honest. Nevertheless, I did the homework. I was inspired by some of my camera ”toys” laying around (In this moment I picture an parent shouting at a child “PUT THAT DOWN ITS NOT A TOY!”). Actually, these Gear Talks have been some of my favorite posts to date, with Part 1 & Part 2 released, and Part 3 in the works.



Asset 1-210.png

Then something big happened...

I was welcomed to the family, and it feels great. I’m grateful for my mentors @Zen-Art & @Carrieallen getting me out of my comfort zone. The classroom truly is beneficial, and specifically helped by guiding me thru some tools to make my post more aesthetically pleasing and read better. I don’t know any other way to say thank you other than...doing my last homework assignment, lol.



Asset 1-210.png

This week’s subject , bugs.

Ugh. It’s rare for me to share this about myself, but here we go... I don’t like bugs. The ticks are the worst in Tennessee - especially this year; And for these reason I do not have many photos of bugs. I gathered a couple from the archives, but then had an idea to curate a few of my favorite. Let’s gets right into it!



Asset 1-210.png

Every artist needs practice.

How do you practice your craft? I know Amelia, as a writer, likes flexing her #freewrite muscle. As a photographer, I like to focus one one or (a few) of the elements of design, and focus on that for the day. For example, “today I’m focused on texture.”

See the elements of art below:

9F8550AF-8ADF-47EE-BB8C-853755593844.jpeg

Graphic from Paper Leaf

Let’s forget about the bug fear-thing and remember - I’m an outdoorsy guy.Have you ever taken time to slow down on a hike in the woods? If I had to pick my favorite artist it would be Mother Nature (the most hippie thing I’ve ever spoken, lol). Art and design is everywhere - especially the BUGS! ugh, gross.

B11BD0BA-D310-4F43-AA07-B818122CBB4F.jpeg
Photo by @davedavis91 - check them out here

Here’s what I see
  • Shape, Size, & Line - Check out this butterfly wing! Steals the attention of your eye immediately, as it draws you closer to the details in the body and leg.
  • Color - The active color really catches my attention first seeing this image. This starts a trend all off images, as the colors almost interact with the natural greens of the scene.

A9501493-7C56-4FBE-95C1-C5DF770E04A3.jpeg
Photo by @fauzi86 - check them out here

Here’s what I see
  • Color - The contrasting color scheme of oranges, yellow-oranges, and greens are my favorite part of this variety of lady bug.
  • Value & Texture - The excellent exposure of this images creates the perfect shading across the body allowing the viewer to discover the translucent strange dimple-patterned shell.



85C9C43D-BA0A-4DF3-8A0D-D5C2E5234B92.jpegPhoto by @adibiqbal - check them out here

Here’s what I see
  • Texture - This backlighting shows every detail of this exoskeleton - almost dimple-like texture
  • Size - The perspective and macro lens makes this dude looks like a MONSTER!
  • Line - Again, amazing detail shows off the clean lines of these buggy legs equipped with what look like unusable thump-like features.



1878B0AD-C7E3-4D6D-A631-875BB7FB16FC.jpegPhoto by @miroslavrc - check them out here

Here’s what I see
  • Space - the use of small amount of negative space paired with this beautifully framed buggy makes this one of my favorite frames of the bunch. Although imbalanced - it works perfectly with the focus point being right in the golden margin.
  • Color & Value - Vibrant greens pop against the dark background. The amazing detail allows the reddish antenna to show.



Asset 1-210.png

What did you learn?

...that I don’t like bugs but still consider myself outdoorsy?
...about the elements of design?
I learned a lot here. From honing my searching skills on the platform to stepping out of my comfort zone. It’s always a nice refresher too - take a leap - do something bold.

What elements do you see in each?

It’s all an interpretation, so no wrong answer here. I find that my best work is produced with a large variety of elements instead of just one or two. Photographs that have many (or all) of these principals always make for more visually complex/appealing images.

This was my first attempt at a small curation...

... and it was HARD! Maybe it’s just because I’m still a new Steemian, but I find it difficult to search and/or navigate to any specific content i.e. a specific type of bug. Some might say this was just an excuse to avoid going out and finding some creepy-crawlers - I say I’m just working on building some community, while still finding my personal style. I’d appreciate ANY and ALL feedback.



Asset 1-210.png




Hey, my name is Tang. 👋

Most people know me for being a bus dweller - I converted a school bus into a custom RV, but I’m also a film photographer, dreadlocked Legolas, and a dad to a dog named Hobo. Right now, I'm experimenting with vintage cameras and expired film, learning how to mountain bike, and sharing my adventures along the way.

First time on my blog? Say hi below. 🤙

Sort:  

Really I feel for you right now, caught in the middle of Felt and Donuts...if you can struggle your way through that you can do anything.

It's good to learn and share though, and what is it they say..."What doesn't kill you makes you stronger", well if I escape this comment without too many spankings I will feel like I am doing well.

I really like you shared and referenced other people's photography , that made it all so very special. Good luck with our future endeavours.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

My goal is to remain authentic. I’m not here to prove anything or be someone else. I’ve found a group full of positive community-based folks, like yourself that I can learn from will support along the way. Thanks for being part of the journey @c0ff33a

Loading...

I am glad I made you do this and very happy and grateful you did it. Your sassy little attitude will be missed in the Classroom and I am happy @c0ff33a will have a pleasure of experiencing it in the Playground too. :D I am happy that your homework about toys was about cameras (as I hoped it would be) and that you stepped out of your comfort zone with bugs. Your work is amazing and your posts look absolutely lovely now. I am glad I was on your path and you were on mine. Much love to you and see you in the family soon 💚

Thank you for the kind words and support. 🙌

Welcome to #thealliance family, @hobotang! And I love, love this article. Thanks for sharing!

Hey thanks for taking the time to drop by and comment - super grateful to be surrounded by such positivity ✌️

Thank you so much for featuring my photo, I really appreciate it. :)

Curation is hard, yes. But this is great! Love the butterfly photo. I am also totally outdoorsy but definitely not a fan of certain bugs, however, I love butterflies, dragonflies, and fireflies. :)

Great job on this assignment! Yes, curation is difficult, but you did a good job, and I like your analysis of the shots you curated! Bravo! 🙂

Thanks @thekittygirl I’m going to give it another shot soon. I’ve got a little something in mind for the nonconformists, rebels, and risk-takers 😏

oooooooooh,  that sounds exciting! 😁

Welcome to the Family @hobotong great to see some amazing bugs....steem on!

Thanks for the welcome, and for dropping by! Happy to have the opportunity

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85