Mediation & Curation

in #thealliance5 years ago (edited)

#thealliance

In what I can only describe as a recent misunderstanding - which seems to happen a lot when things are written, language barriers & dialects are involved and with people just plain being different - I feel something needs to be said about using our tag for personal differences. Was it a family matter? Family members were involved, yes, but it only involved two which had personal issues with each other. I would like people to refrain from using our tag to progress with demeaning posts. The Alliance is about spreading the love and helping each other, not tearing each other down or belittling people.

Mediation

With that in mind, I do respect that sometimes issues cannot be resolved between two parties and sometimes seek intervention. Perhaps that's why the tag was used to begin with, as some sort of cry for help? Either way, these things should be addressed and done fairly and I think would best fall into a mediation category. We're all family here, so I'm sure most of you know what happened already. So, there seems no need to make THE NEW MEDIATION CHANNEL in our castle any kind of private matter. Can consider it like a court room where a peaceful solution can be reached based on both parties' "cases" via family opinions and suggestions. I think this most recent one, a simple "I'm sorry, it wasn't meant that way" should be sufficient and the issue dropped and people move on. In fact, I believe this already happened. If this is uncomfortable for you, seek out @zipporah as I know she also has a mediation server on discord called The Kindness Collective. Thank you.

Curation

Getting Votes is great and all, isn't it? I mean, how many of you would actually be here if you weren't getting some sort of 'monetary' reward from it? Seems like that is the primary reason any of us are even still here. Which brings me to my next little confusing quandry I feel needs to be addressed.

Engagement

The engagement levels on this platform have plummeted something fierce. The lack of comments and true engagement has been one of the things we pride ourselves on. This isn't meant as a crack at anyone in particular, because even I could do better. I really think that the two disappointing freezes recently have turned a lot of people completely off. So, this is me encouraging the fam to rally together and make people feel wanted again! How? Comment, comment, COMMENT! I'll be running around more lately with this account and curating comments. Hopefully this helps to make people feel more welcomed and that their time is worth it spent here. Be you my peoples.


A rising tide lifts all boats!
If one of us lifts up, we can all lift up!
We simply help each other. Like family.

~ @bluefinstudios ~

#thealliance new pagebreak.png
Want to join us? Read this first.
Want to support the fam too?
Join #thealliance curation trail!
10SP - 20SP - 50SP - 100SP - 250SP - 500SP - 1000SP - 5000SP

#thealliance support.png

Sort:  

I know this may seem kind of abrasive and not a popular thing to say but I really hope people take it the right way. But many people who say they do not get out in the "trenches" a.k.a Commenting and Curating I see hanging out in Discord for extensive period of times and quite frankly way too much. Chatting about life, relationships, foods they like etc..etc..

Iam not saying Discord is not a viable Medium to further your Success here at Steemit. It is ...as building relationships on this Platform is so IMPT. But I think people would find more Success if they balanced it out better between being on Discord and getting out there and Commenting

Good anecdote on balance. Much appreciated and I agree about discord. There could be a lot more out here than in there. The advantage Discord has is real time so it retains that value of better personal communication.

You have a good point there @robertandrew i do not understand how people can chat on discord for hours i am usually flat out with my normal job then i try to do my best in putting up my posts and upvote and comment as much as i can and still i run out of time that i don't have not even a minute to chat on discord not saying that i wouldn't like to but there is just not enough hours in the day and i like to spend every minute of my time been productive. I think if people want to waste that much time on discord and not be were it really matters they should go back to Facebook....enough said.

everyone loves getting comments!

I am definitely guilty of not commenting as much as I should. I am changing that and I started today... its funny that you put this out because I have been thinking the same thing about myself here lately.

And the mediation channel... thats such a good idea!! I just hope that I never need to use it.

Thanks @enginewitty I take your words to heart and promise to be a commenting fool!! You might get tired of me lol

I'll take that as a promise and expect you to max out your RC's from commenting too much! Which gives me an idea...

As long as they aren’t comments like “wooooow nice” or something. Honestly, the RC system has seemed to quell that a bit. Even though I used to see more engagement, what I saw was largely fake.

Consider it done!

Oh geez... I'm afraid to ask! Lol

LOL you probably shouldn't :P

My commenting has definitely fallen off in recent months. I have let myself get distracted by some major personal life stuff and then just by my writing. I'm trying to actively engage more, but I'm struggling to find the time. I need to do better.

Btw, I really respect the way you handle things like this with meditation, etc. This group is a very good thing you're doing.

We all have IRL things, myself included, and I am not advising anyone ignore those issues. I also am glad to see you here on this post!

As for the mediation, I wasn't even there when everything happened, just been asked to get involved. Without actually taking sides, this is the best I can do, thank you for the respect :)

This is such a great reminder and I DO raise my hand ✋ as I'm guilty on the comment thing to.
I know life can happen but I do feel like I've got behind on my comments and definitely can step up. Soo... New week and I will change that 😉👍
And as for the issue part... I agree on what you said.. We can't all get along with everyone but respect each other is important and spread love isn't that hard.
I belive if you really engage... You do get to know people and then it's also easier not to get misunderstanding... Communication is the key.
Thank you for being so amazing and making this family what it is.... Only Love from me ❤️

Yes, respect is key. There is no way to make anyone do anything they don't want to do, but respecting their opinions and decisions is very prized. Which, is fostered by engagement and really getting to know someone :)

Yes exactly 😉👍

You are absolutely right everyone should be getting along and supporting each other. I had nearly maxed out my RC after hard Fork but it’s back up and I’m doing my best to get it back down. 😂 hugs U &R

Wha! I was crippled for almost a week on here, was painful!

We're a big bunch, and varied... but still, issues happen, and sometimes, alliance members needs a bit more of intervention.

Still this isn't an Alliance issue.

I didn't think so either.

more comments it is - but I have to say that time is always a factor... I used to be on top of the comment league all the time but haven't seen my name there lately (maybe I haven't looked). Just saying that there are times when we just have to step away from the computer LOL

I know, real life is hard to balance with the online one, but it is what makes people feel like putting their time in here valuable.

You make excellent points and I think we are all guilty of this.. In recent months we have lost our ..... momentum (I was gonna say steem but that was just too lame a pun) due to the knocks we've taken.. the down time, the HF20 fiasco, users leaving because of the low price of steem that just isn't recovering..

I've certainly lost a lot of motivation lately.. but you're right.. the only solution is to knuckle down and get back in the game!

Hey man, I've said it before and I'll say it again - this is a marathon and I look at it like we all just needed a drink to replenish ourselves :P - many miles to go yet my man.

I remember you saying that and you are quite correct. :) It is a marathon.. we are playing the long game :)

Yes – should you require the presence of a neutral, third party, feel free to reach out. I'll do my best to help you find resolution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04