lookit ! a super weird play I helped create : video

in #theater6 years ago (edited)

This photo just now randomly showed up in some weird Facebook ad. I dont even care about that but its funny! The facebook post didnt even make sense. Its like half a newsletter written out like a facebook post and the photo does not seem related to the content. Some kind of weird spam maybe!

This photo features my friend Rebecca holding two masks I painted for a theater production called Mystery Mark. The play was based on a book by my friends Josh Wagner and Theo Elsworth a couple of years ago.

83f952c7-4d55-4fde-b294-860607d24165.jpg

So I thought I would share them because why not. I havent ever seen these masks again. Thats why it was cool to have them pop up randomly just now! Aren't they weird!

Here it is in action

Mystery Mark from Motion Noise on Vimeo.

All the props and art for this play were paper mache. I am pretty sure I paper-mached these masks too but probably not from start to finish. The way we made all the art was we got together a couple times a week and just paper mached for hours and hours , a big group of us. So we would just work on whatever thing needed it the most. Yet another friend, Scott Morris, was the art director. So he designed all the props, we papermached and painted them. A giant collaborative art project. The play was super weird. I mainly just like sitting there doing one thing for hours on end.

Please go look at this photo by yet another friend, who has copywrited this photo so I cant place it here, but you can go look on his site : https://www.jonathanqualben.com/Events/Mystery-Mark-Viscosity-Theatre-A/i-PtRvBTT/A

I also did the Cukoo clock on the wall which I was rather proud of :) ...its in the beginning of the video. And also a bunch of parts of the other things. Like even the walls. I made the big orange haired dudes mask but I didnt do his hair, for example. I did dye his hair i think. OH AND THE TV ON THERE IS MINE TOO AND I NEVER SAW IT AGAIN. lol but its ok... everythings going to be just fine.

So if you ever need someone to come paint props or do paper mache for you, I would totally come be a theater grunt for you by the way, for a free place to stay and strong wifi. just saying.

Sort:  
Loading...

some cool work on the mask! I enjoyed this weird strange tale, very vivid and stunning ar design work on this, it oddly gives me a dejavu feeling, I believe this scene happen to me on Salvia once, but it was too strange, so my mind protected me from it so it suppressed the memory of it. until now that is

great now am gonna have weird, strange paper mache dreams...

oh P.S. I might take you up on the offer one day =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25