The Dancing Dreamers with DJ Damashii Episode 18 Recording and Recap - What PLUR Means to Me, Why We Rave, and Julien and Asher Came to Talk About Rave Relief!

KAOZthedancingdreamerswdjdamashii18RECAP.jpg

This week, in light of recent events in the Salt Lake City EDM scene and all the craziness that erupted, I wanted to bring the focus back to what's important: PLUR. In this episode of The Dancing Dreamers with DJ Damashii, I decided to go back to the roots of why we rave.

I talked for a bit about how my initial venture into the rave scene wasn't founded on the right things, and how my first few years of being in the EDM scene, I was one of those kids whose only idea of raving was that it was a time to get messed up and do drugs and drink booze and just party all night to forget about everything else. Eventually, I got jaded from the scene and stopped going to events, because you can only party so hard for so long before the initial glamor of it all starts to fade away and you wake up one morning asking yourself why you still go to these things.

Then I went in-depth into what each letter of PLUR stands for and what each letter embodies, what Peace, Love, Unity, and Respect all mean to me. After talking about PLUR, I started to discuss why we rave. I talked about how everyone I've spoken to, as well as myself, has expressed that they keep coming back not just for the music or for their favorite artists, but for the PLUR.

It's that overwhelming sense of serenity that we all experience once we fully become immersed in the PLUR vibes at a rave, that keeps us coming back for more. Most people think that it's all just about the drugs and the partying and the sex, but veterans of the EDM scene will all tell you that all that stuff is merely a surface-level mask and the true meat and potatoes of it all is found in the genuine care and love that people have and express for each other at a rave.

I then briefly went over how several people have come to me recently expressing that the recent upheaval in the SLC EDM community has really caused them to take a step back and think about the companies and artists they have been supporting locally. Many of them have decided that they will no longer support several people and their companies because of how they chose to show their true selves in public posts. I think this is quite fascinating, and it will be interesting to see if their decision to be more ethical ravers with PLUR and community building in mind, will actually have a tangible effect on the Salt Lake City EDM scene.

For the second hour of the show, I had Julien Lyman, The Dancing Beard of Rave Relief, scheduled, and he showed up to the studio with Asher, the man who started Rave Relief! It was a pleasant surprise for sure, and I was so glad to officially meet the man who started it all.

They talked about how Rave Relief began, which really highlighted something that I've come to realize myself over the course of being back in the EDM scene since last year, that every little interaction we have with people around us counts for something and makes some sort of impact on other people's lives. It took one person at a show helping Asher through a rough trip for him to realize his dream in life, to help other people who end up in situations like that as well as help prevent situations like that from happening, through harm reduction and dissemination of information.

We then got into the subject of how Julien joined Rave Relief and ended up becoming a sponsored dancer for the organization, as well as how the persona of The Dancing Beard was born and how Julien has been able to use it to continue to spread the love and the good vibes wherever he ends up going.

29261190_181034259286902_9185019894456909824_n.jpg

We also talked about Rave Relief's acceptance as the Utah chapter of DanceSafe, and what that means, what the official endorsement entails. Julien was hard at work promoting all of the upcoming shows that Rave Relief will have a presence at, as well as throwing constant shoutouts to other members of the Salt Lake City EDM community who he is grateful to know and be associated with.

Of course, an episode of The Dancing Dreamers with DJ Damashii would not be complete without me asking my guests about their dreams, so we rounded out the episode with a brief discussion on both Asher and Julien's dreams. Check out the recording below to find out more!

If you missed the live broadcast of the eighteenth episode of my radio show on @MSP-Waves, you can listen to the recording below:

Thank you everyone for tuning in last night! And for those who didn't tune in, thank you for listening to the recording, if you choose to do so! But regardless, thank you for being here and checking out my post!! I hope to see you all in the audience next week.

Last night's episode featured tracks from Congorock, Jason Ross, Above & Beyond, Aly & Fila, Porter Robinson, tyDi and Col3man, Cyber, Illenium, Tiësto, Andrew Bayer, and The Prophet. Unfortunately, for this recording, I had to remove those tracks in order to get this video uploaded and posted. If you want to hear the music that I play during my shows, you'll just have to tune in to my live radio show every week! :P You can also click here to launch my Spotify playlist for this episode. I look forward to seeing you there for Episode 19!

As always, my final gratitude before I end this post goes out to @globocop, @r0nd0n, @ma1neevent, @wipgirl, and the rest of the @MSP-Waves family for helping me with my show and for the constant encouragement! You guys are all amazing, and I truly appreciate all that you have done for me!

See you all next week for the nineteenth episode of The Dancing Dreamers with DJ Damashii!


When and Where Can You Listen In?


MSPlogo.png

My show will take place every Wednesday (or Thursday, depending on where you are), at the following times:


5:00-7:00 PM PST
6:00-8:00 PM MST
7:00-9:00 PM CST
8:00-10:00 PM EST
12:00-2:00 AM Thursday UTC
10:00 AM-12:00 PM Thursday ChST
(ChST is Chamorro Standard Time, the time zone used in the Mariana Islands)

You can tune in directly through the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty server on Discord if you are already a member of the @MinnowSupport Project.

If you are not a member of MSP, you can also tune in through the @MSP-Waves website:
http://mspwaves.com/listen

If you would like to tune in and also chat with audience members who are not in MSP, you can do so through Twitch:

Click HERE for a complete listing of all my previous episodes!

DJDamashiiFooterBanner.png

Special thanks goes out to @bembelmaniac for this awesome banner!



Check out some of my other posts!


Content Creation Platforms on the Steem Blockchain
Six Sites You Need to Know About as a New Steemian
How You Can Withdraw Your Steemit Earnings to USD
How to Use Tags to Maximize Visibility for Your Posts and Gain More Upvotes
How The Minnow Support Project Helps You Achieve Your Dreams on Steemit
How I Achieved 200 Followers in My First Month on Steemit
Why I Chose to Invest $100 in Steem
How To Set Up Your Steemit Profile
The Dawn of The Dancing Dreamers
The Dawn of Friendship In a New Age
I'm Just an Island Boy Living in Utah who Loves EDM



!steemitworldmap 40.754539 lat -111.902618 long Salt Lake City, Utah local Steemian! d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rodeo670
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-dancing-dreamers-with-dj-damashii-episode-18-recording-and-recap-what-plur-means-to-me-why-we-rave-and-julien-and-asher-came


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73