The Hive. How We See Each Other.

in #thehive6 years ago

The Hive

Howdy folks'.

I am not the one to ask to take part on your side in film trivia. I do like Owen Wilson though and recently watched a film called Wonder. I am also not qualified to critique a film.

Owen Wilson plays the part of the Dad in this film. Two children a daughter and a son. The son has an appearance we would not be accustomed to seeing everyday. The expected happens as he begins school for the first time after being home schooled. The hardship of making friends. The feelings of alone. The loss of fate. The down after the initial up. The progression of things getting better as time went on. These were all reflected in the film.

There was one part of the film that hit me like a rocket sled on rails. Bam! It was a realization about my own perception I think. Maybe, it was just because it was in a film.

If you have not seen this film, I ask you go look at it before reading further

Charisma honeypot.jpg

The Story itself did not share any new storyline I have not seen before. It did tell the story in an alternative way and it was not drawn out. The story progressed at a decent pace. There is a moment in this film which each of us can relate to in some way.

The first thing I noticed at going to school was the Hunchback effect, as people shy away. Where people are backing away from something they are not used to seeing. Where do we learn this behaviour? That's not a question I am asking, just one that came to mind. At what age does appearance start to make a difference to us?

This line of thought can open up all sorts of questions. The culprit is placed in different places by different people. I will start of with it's society, and that being as big a thing as it is is like saying nothing at all. Some will blame the parents. Others the chemicals in our system. Too many living in cities. I am looking at it merely from a personal point of view. A bit of a realization to myself.

I can see you thinking get to the fecking point already.

Charisma honeypot.jpg

The one part of the film that hit me with some powerful thought was when the dad and son were in the bedroom after a bad day at school. The boy used this helmet to hide his features and avoids the looks from others. Dad had taken this away one day and placed it out of sight. The helmet was forgotten for a while as things at school were not so bad. That day came and then the helmet was a thing felt needed again. That feeling of security. Dad explained that the helmet was in his room. That the helmet was there if it was needed. He took tie to explain why it was not needed.

It was that moment, I thought to myself I had forgot about his appearance as I watched the story unfold. Somewhere along the story it was not about how he looked but about how he felt. How the different parts of life and how we interact with each other hold presence in our futures. I reflected this to my own life and looked back at how I viewed others.

The earliest I can go back is to my teen's probably about 14 - 18. Assisting at events with those who need help from the community for various reasons of ability physical and mental. I did not do much more then attend and help with the set up of chairs and tea services. These people too though did not appear the same as the rest of the people I was used to meeting. Some could not walk, others were hard to understand when they talked. In most cases by their appearance you could see they might need help at some time. While this is different to the boy in the film Wonder. I draw comparison only on the appearance is not the same as we might be accustomed.

For the first couple of times assisting with the set up of the community room, not looking longer than one should look was not such an easy thing to keep track of. I stopped looking so long, began interacting more and talking with them. This is where a change in my vision first started. They were no different to me. They may have looked different to me. But then, we all looked different to each other too. The guy in the wheel chair was better than me at darts. One guy who could not speak very well thought me the rules of chess, I never beat him.

I guess the point is.

How we look is not who we are.
Sometimes we only see people when we stop looking at them.

At what point in the film,
did you stop seeing the boys features are not what you see everyday?

Make a Diff banner.jpg

You are welcome to join our Discord Server at
https://discord.gg/SQ3zSsp

Some other groups I invite you to take a look at are:
The @IFC Discord group: https://discord.gg/uSGDtKR
The @cryptoempire Discord Server: https://discord.gg/9JhyHXg
The @asapers Discord Server: https://discord.gg/2gJD7PW
The @buddyup Discord Server: https://discord.gg/3d5H3K8
The @steemitramble Discord Server: https://discord.gg/QJzP2zm


hive TY.gif

All the Hive Logo's and Banners graphics are provided exclusively
by
@Charisma777

The Hive, Working for an equal society.

Sort:  

I haven't watched the movie, I want to say though that we are more complex than what we are perceived, there are many layers to us and we are for good or bad more difficult to decipher than what first sight tells about someone.

Yes it takes many little things to make just one of us.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 164 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Lovely story. It made me not only look upi for the Wonder film, but also to wait impatiently your next post!

Not all my posts are as thoughtful.

What wonderful take-away thoughts you had from this film! I think the most beautiful thing you said was: "Sometimes we only see people when we stop looking at them." That is awesome! 💙

I've never seen Wonder and haven't been a fan of Owen Wilson comedy but I've heard you speaking about this movie a couple of times and I will be adding it to my watch list. Thank you for the recommendation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17