Particle Man's curation particles, August 8

Notionally August 8, anyway. I pretty much lost my Wednesday to flying east and sleeping it off, so this is a little late.

This is a weekly feature of some of the work @themesopotamians project has supported on Steem through the @particleman account. The Mesopotamians provides ongoing support to certain selected users in hopes of building a cooperative and growing middle class on Steem.




@eoj brought us three stories form the outside world of art gone wrong. Or maybe right if the one kid grows up to enjoy being named Kelvin. Probably he'll end up being an absolute zero.




@insideoutlet is keeping up with her positivity challenge, and that one is about playdates and scones. It has to be amazing jumping right into the "playdate" level of parenting, I'm pretty sure I would need a couple of years with a kid before I figured out that they probably wanted to spend time with other people.


@pifc has started a Discord sever for their project. I've only just started to poke around there.




Speaking of PIFC, @viking-ventures is reviewing her past choices and seeing how they're getting along. There are a few familiar names in there, and also a few people who unfortunately didn't decide to stay around.




@arseniclullaby is quickly becoming my favorite ranter about Steem. Sorry @meno, but Doug's are epic and they have swearing and cartoons. This one's about how he's going to go out and personally solve our traffic slowdown, and I hope he's right. (And maybe can teach me to do a better job with people I'd like to get here.)




@reazuliqbal built a Discord bot to run workshops for the Promo-Mentors community, but it's open-source so anybody can use it. I can think of three or four DIscords off the top of my head that would benefit from this.




@scrawly is experimenting with brush drawing and I really love how this piece came out. Not that I don't like drawing itself, but it's always a safe way to my heart to end up with something that looks like it could be a print. Woodblock and monotype are almost entirely opposite forms of printmaking, and yet this feels like it could almost be a bridge between them. It has the line and shape quality of a block print and the spontaneity and flow of a monotype.

Which all may be kind of pointless to a brush drawing, but it's the way I look at it as a printmaker who doesn't draw or paint very well.


Good work everybody! Keep it up!

Sort:  

Thanks for including me today! I hope you join in on the fun at @pifc - it's generally my favorite post of the week. I was fortunate enough to discover it the very first week. :-)

Thanks for the thought - it made me realize I actually have two active new people from the #printmaking tag for pretty much the first time ever, so maybe I can do one.

Mm, neither of them write much, though.

I just looked at the tag - only saw one person (https://steemit.com/@emilygiovanna), but she's a good example of someone who @pifc might help - as in, it might just give her the encouragement she needs to post more frequently.

I wish I had the SP to vote for everything that looks great! One day I will.

Great project. Following.

What a lovely comment <3.
Thank you very much for your support, as always.

Thanks for highlighting my post and absolutely great absolute zero reference, I caught it, nice one! Haha!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Great features this week. Everyone did a great job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29