Wandering towards a mission statement.

I'm not really at a point where I'm ready to put together the formal language of a mission statement for the project, but I'm getting closer to having the concepts in mind.

I talked a little bit about building a community-minded middle class, and that's still the main goal here. But I think I want something a little more high-level as well, and that's what I'm thinking about today.

I am very much a proponent of the idea that we should be growing the content, curation, and community aspect of Steem by making it more fun, more compelling, and more rewarding to participate voluntarily, rather than engineering the system to try to force people to participate in order to get their stake rewards. We don't get good users by marching them in with spears, and it makes everyone else's experience less enjoyable.

So The Mesopotamians is very much about supporting voluntary growth, and supporting users who themselves support voluntary growth, and I want to make that explicit. I wasn't consciously choosing people for the program that way but I seem to have anyway, and I will be from now on.

Sort:  

          I think to many people look at steemit as a job, as a way to make an income. Yes as a supplemental income steem and steemit do have a good potential. I see the real potential though in steemit as an online global community. Yes some of us work on steemit, some of us play on steemit, some of us create on steemit, and some of us have a shit load of fun on steemit.

          There really is nothing wrong with the last one, or any of them. Some of us even learn some enlightening things on stemit, and some are reminded of the not so nice activities of people. many people, many meanings, many uses. One size no longer needs to fit all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98