Photography Course - Week 1 - Apertures

in #thesteemengine5 years ago (edited)

I decided that I really ought to learn how to use my DSLR camera properly, so I booked onto a community photography course.

It is only 5 weeks long, but there are different stages that you can attend. I missed the introductory course, but managed to get on the 'Next Steps' course.

I was worried that I may have missed vital information from the intro lessons, but as it turned out I hadn't missed too much and he recapped anyway, so I managed to catch up fairly quickly.

The lesson was based around Apertures today. I love macrophotography so I tend to use a F2.8 or lower if I can as I love a nice blurry background! So today was right up my street.

DSC_0003 small.jpg

Unfortunately, I had left my macro 1:1 lens at home (school boy/girl error) so I had to make do with my contemporary 18 - 300m lens. I had a lot of comments about how big it was haha

DSC_0090 small.jpg

I learned how to manipulate an image using the exposure adjustment option on my camera, which is quite a cool thing to learn when you like taking arty shots.

The automatic mode will always assume you want to see everything in the shot and can sometimes overexpose everything, but if you control it yourself, you can make certain parts of the image as light or as dark as you want them to be.

DSC_0012 small.jpg

The tutor had brought along a lot of random items as well as bright lights and torches to get us using our imagination on lighting up our subjects. Some were more creepy than others, I think he was still in Halloween mode...

DSC_0069 small.jpg

This final image is my favourite, it reminds me of Christmas which is of course only around the corner! The sparkle adds a certain magic to the image.

DSC_0079 small.jpg

These images were taken on week 1 of my photography course and I will post the images each week with a description of what we learn.

All the images here are my own and I used my Nikon D5300 and my 18 - 300mm contemporary lens.

I hope you have enjoyed the images, thank you so much for visiting!

Much love, BB xx

The STEEM Engine

20180516_002249_0001.png

SB_new.png

Sort:  

Oh how fun. I know I don't get the full effects from my DLSR because it's been at least 40 years since I was in any sort of class. I'm just jealous of you :)

Really nice images, and this class will lead to even greater images from you. Thanks for sharing them.

Thanks Big T, I really enjoyed it! It was unusual to focus on the light rather than what image I wanted to take, but can see a difference in the shots here to my usual shots, so it has opened my mind already and it is only week 1! :D
BB <3

Isnt it so cool to learn the tricks of settings to improve your photos Aperture is very important in this regard :)

absolutely! It helps that the teacher explains it in a way that I can absorb the information too. I am not the best in a classroom setting, my mind tends to wander when I am bored or given too much information lol

LOl I can relate to that I am exactly the same thats why most of my learning with my camera has been a little online research but mainly trail and error

I when I started photography again went out witht he camera and would experiment with settings and then see what I got and eventually worked out what I liked ;)

Oh wow, these are nice shots... I don't know anything about photography, I point and click on the auto settings and hope that the subject is mostly in view and nothing weird is in the background (which there usually is...).

I'm going to be learning alongside you if you are going to keep posting these articles!

Thank you @bengy!
Sometimes the weird things in the background can make the shot! xD
I guess I really ought to write about the technical stuff as well in my posts, maybe it will help me to digest the information better too.
Yey, we can learn together! :D

Haha... I'll make sure I'll tell my wife that when I next take a photo of my little girl framed by two adult butts!

OMG, you didn't! haha

...yep.... I didn't notice until my wife pointed it out...

What a great idea. I did a photography course about 20 years ago, but the emphasis was mainly on developing your own photos. Unfortunately I haven't remembered much about that! I need a new camera, and if I get a DSLR, I will definitely do a photography course, though not about developing photos. I'll leave that to the experts!

I think the course is designed for people that are starting out but have a little experience in using their own cameras on auto setting, so it is perfect for me. I am sure there are many levels at which you can learn but the basics is best for me for now haha

Gorgeous shots! I just love the internet for being able to learn such cool things! A few years back I stumbled upon Open2study, an australian university that offered many online courses for free. I registered for photography and loved it!

I have tried a few online courses, but I really wanted a hands on class for this so I could ask questions about my camera and show them what I was doing so they could tell me what I was doing wrong and how to fix it. I really want to do an online photoshop course though, I love watching @ykdesigns tutorials! :D

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Great photos!

Thank you so much! :)

Nice. It sounds like you learned some good tips! I've had my Canon DSLR for over 5 years now and I still just barely know the basics. lol.

I love looking at photography but I have never understood the technical side of it so I thought why not learn it properly! hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17