Having A Lasting Impression

in #thinking5 years ago

Hey My J's,

It's me back again for your daily dose of random thoughts for the day is my thoughts and today's topic is about making a lasting impression. In our modern times' impressions aren't about quality it's about quantity and its counted by social media vanity metrics

Impressions in page views, post views, video views and follower numbers all of which are highly superficial and inflated. These people are revered to have cracked the code to this popularity contest we call life and are reaping all the so-called benefits of fame, so many aspire to have.

Empty highs but real lows

While a select few of us will reach the upper echelons of perceived modern success be it money, fame, or both. The adoration of strangers is fleeting as quickly as they are acquired. While this is a natural pace of things many who chase these goals don't expect their 15mins of fame to end and are often devastated when it does.

Play a different game

Someone once told me the best way to beat the game is to never play it and its a saying that has stuck with me and I come back to it often. So how about proposing a different game instead? Why not try to make a lasting impression on someone instead.

Try to use the time you have with a stranger, friend, family member or colleague and give them an impression that will last a lifetime. Some would even call that a relationship, would it not?

blogpostimage (002).png

Have your say

Has anyone made a lasting impression you? Or have you been told you made a lasting impression on them?

Holla at me in the comments! All my commenters I will now refer to as Jessie. Jessie is a good friend of mine, but Jessies got a girl, and I want to make her mine.

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, simply comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sort:  

Someone once said - people might not remember what you said, but they will always remember how you made them feel.

You have a point there, I think sometimes we crave that recognition of someone telling us that rather than hoping that it is the case lol. But the more I think of it, the more I feel I have made an impact even if I was never told.

yes. it's not the type of thing people generally tell you to your face. And they might only realise it in hindsight.
And sometimes it can happen in one of those fleeting seemingly random interactions with a stranger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17