Challenge: The things I think I need

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)

Over the past decade, I have been conducting various experiments on myself.
(If you haven't picked up on it yet: I am quite odd!)

One of these has been to challenge the things I think I need.
(I mean, do we really need all these things?)

Here's just 3 of the things I have discovered:
(I am not suggesting you do these, but maybe I will inspire you to challenge your thinking a bit.)

floor2228277_640.jpg
Image by PIRO4D from Pixabay

1) I don't need a bed.
I can sleep on a mat on the floor. (Which works super well BTW, and as a bonus it's so easy to clean.)
Benefits:
-Higher quality of sleep.
-My back feels great.
-I am more flexible and my posture has improved.
-The room feels bigger.
-I can make my space multi-use.
-I can sleep anywhere.
Read more:
Is it good to sleep on the floor?

2) I do need a pillow.
I tried to sleep without and I just can't do it. I experimented with what works best, and I found that a foam wedge pillow works best for my purposes. I find it extremely comfortable. (Plus, I can flip it and use it as against a wall for sitting too.)
Benefits:
-No snoring.
-Fewer inner-ear problems.
-Fewer sinus problems.
-Multipurpose.
Read more:
Benefits of using a wedge pillow.

3)I don't need a table and chairs.
I had read at some point that sitting in a chair is very unnatural and potentially very bad for your back.
Benefits:
-Sitting on the floor is quite comfortable.
-I change positions more often.
-Better circulation.
-The room feels bigger.
-I can make my space multi-use.
-I can eat or work anywhere.
Read more:
5 Amazing health benefits of sitting on the floor.

What are some other things that you can think of which we really might not need at all?

-Akiroq

akiroqfooter.png

Sort:  

🤔🤔🤔 . Have to say I love my bed. I was laughing to myself there if my wife slept on the ground, I would have the bed to myself . You alright down there on the mat darling! 😂😂😂

Well, there you go eh. It's not going to be everyone's cup of tea.

jajaja tienes razón, hay muchos beneficios, también me rio pero si vives aquí en Venezuela hay que tener un buen veneno para ratones, cucarachas y todo tipo de bacterias y es difícil aun mas cuando tienes bebes pequeños.

I am sure that things are nowhere near as difficult here in Central Mexico as they are in Venezuela.

I am thinking it would be really nice to have a raised platform for sleeping. One made out of concrete would be so good to have! Yesterday again, we had over 30 cm of water rushing like a river through our apartment for over 2 hours before the sewers backed up. (This is normal here in the rainy season.) Everything must be raised off of the floor and the smell(from the sewage) is really overwhelming. Thankfully, I live in a very small apartment. It took my daughter and I just over 8 hours of hard work to clean out the water and sewage sludge before disinfecting the floor, up the walls, and anything that touched the floor.

I don't like to spray for insects but I can't live with that many bugs, so I must spray(I don't think it is possible to live here and not use anything). Mainly, we have so many ants here, your usual bugs, termites, and spiders. There are cockroaches, but I do everything in my power to keep them out. I don't like them!!! I keep all of my food in sealed containers (glass jars). Nothing can be left out.
There are scorpions, snakes, and poisonous spiders, but thankfully, I have kept them out of our apartment!
I have cats, which take care of mice and rats. I really don't like rats. They are too big!!!

I know it is not great for the environment but I have to use diluted bleach to combat the mold, and fungus because of all the rain and high humidity. I don't know what else I can do about it!

Yeah, I can't imagine going through this with a small child. My children are all adults now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00