HAIR LOSS - what I learned || hair loss journey part 2/2

in #thoughts6 years ago

E530F2E7-4B09-448E-B867-16F0081E629E.jpeg
As a girl, we might think losing our hair also means losing our femininity and as for me, it made me anxious and embarrassed when people started pointing out my hair problem but it wasn’t too long ‘till I realized my wrong view :)

I remember crying because of my hair. I was too afraid of looking less of a girl as if my confidence only depended on the length of my hair. But when I read about articles or when I saw videos of women who made waves towards the beauty norms like shaving their head, parading their own sense of style and such made me realize how important it is to love and show ourselves the way we want, not of the way we should. This changed and expanded my view towards my femininity. Although I like my hair long, I want to test myself and break out of the mainstream and it is my goal to someday shave my head when I’m ready :) yes lol!

Losing my hair is an experience that’ll be present in my mind mainly because I learned to get away from the conventional beauty standards. If you have read the part one of my hair loss journey you might be confused by how I ended up with a much bigger perspective. Yes, I tried everything to grow my hair back and I am grateful to have a full set of hair back but throughout my hair journey I also learned more about how hair would define femininity, which is false. My hair loss experience was an eye-opener to me.. ”how?” I have read countless articles about hair and how it is always associated to our identity: POWER, FEMININITY, BEAUTY STANDARDS etc. I was ridiculed by such.. ”when did our hair define our identity ?” is a question I always ponder. Why do we allow ourselves, as women, think that our hair is what makes us confident. Conforming to the conventional beauty standards of a woman is a shallow view towards femininity. Why don’t we break out of the mainstream and express our individual aesthetics? Afterall, the length of our hair, our clothes, voice, physique, preference etc. won’t ever define our identity.

DARE TO STAND , DARE TO BE DIFFERENT


Show your love by upvoting and leaving a comment. If you think this is worth sharing, resteem it!
And
Please continue to support @surpassinggoogle
If you haven’t voted for your witness yet, vote for Terry now!
Write
@steemgigs>>>https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71