Thoughts from my dad's cellphone

in #thoughts5 years ago

I'm coming back from the city. I'm in the backseat again. Not like a boss, I actually prefer driving especially since my dad and his wife are 60 years old, but they are that kind of person who refuses to acknowledge that a 30 year old is more fit to do certain tasks rather than a tired from being in a Catholic first communion celebration 60 year old who wants to get home as soon as possible.

Hey hey, before you argue with me. Nothing wrong with being 60. We are all getting there and it comes with up and downsides, an upside is experience and wisdom, a downside is reflexes and reaction time decrease as the years go by.

Either way, I am stuck with the mafia boss seat, the one in the back.

IMG_20191005_181930980_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

I spent all the way to Mexico City writing, curatind sadly, downvoting. And now, I did the same on the way back but it seems I use my cellphone too much because the battery is dead now.

I've been on steem for two and a half years and apparently I've become an addict. One of those addicts that can't be just chillin and enjoying the view while traveling through central México. Nope, I feel like it's lost time and I could be doing something steem related. Since I don't have any posting key with me, all I have left is writing a post for Steem.

Weird, huh? It's been a long time since I don't really have to worry about steem power and curating. Don't get me wrong I'm not complaining, I'm just stating the facts. I'm thinking about that too I have planned in around a month and where I'll be afk 90% of the day and I'm looking forward to it but at the same time I'm dreading it, I'm not sure how I'm going to manage to not look at my phone all the time and come off as rude or even uninterested. We'll see.

Today after the first communion and while my dad and his wife went to visit my grandma (don't judge me, I see her quite frequently) I decided to go play flag football with my ex team, the one that I won a championship with in 2015. We are thinking of reviving the team starting in January next year, so we'll see. So far we are 6 - you need 5 to play - and we are all good players so it's looking good. I've been doing some exercise and I've kept a good physical condition and yet I'm dying inside. I'm tired, my left elbow is hurting and my right ankle - the one I broke in 2014 - is swollen; nothing to worry about, I'm used to being a bit decimated after every game day, especially since I reeeally put myself into it and leave everything on the field.

All I want to do right now is get to my old Farmers town in Puebla, see if I run into my crush - man, you should see her, she's as tall as me, brownish-blonde hair, brown eyes and a few freckles surrounding the cutest smile I've seen in a Mexican girl (granted, she's got Italian heritage from both her parents - and then go take a bath to get in bed and watch a movie while, you guessed right, I'll be curating and doing more steem stuff.

This is the steem life, I chose it and I love it. Read you later, amigos!

Sort:  

I totally get it, @anomadsoul. This platform is addictive. My only regret is that I don’t have more time for it!

I wish I had a better time management! It seems like I need my day to last 48 hours xD

Totally hear you! I need 15 hours per day just for work. Then there’s family, cooking, cleaning, writing and blogging projects, exercising... have I forgotten anything? Oh yeah, sleep.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sounds like quite a nice life!

Are you still able to survive just off Steem at these prices?

I don’t think 60 is that old, then again I might revisit that assessment in 14 years when I get there!

Oh yeah, I'm still surviving off steem but to be honest, I'm spending around 100 bucks a month because I had to come back and live with my dad while I figure out the next step :/

So yeah, not really a victory if you ask me :P

It's not old at all, I actually think that 50-60 is probably the prime age for several things, just maybe not driving on a highway after 15 hours of activity and while its raining like crazy haha.

I understand you, I'm also addicted to STEEM, that used to drive my girlfriend (now wife) nuts. But now she understands it and she doesn't complain. She still doesn't understand anything about the crypto world or blockchain but she supports me.

My parents are also around 60 but they still drive very good. And when my dad drives and he is returning home after a trip to another city he also likes to go as fast as possible to return sooner.

When you go to Mexico City from Puebla do you pass through Cuautla (Morelos)? We live in Cuautla, but we are moving to Guadalajara first thing next year.

It's good that you found someone who understands your priorities, it's hard to do that haha.

I don't I go directly to Mexico city and I haven't been in MOrelos for years now. You'll love Guadalajara, it's one of my favorite states in the whole country!

Nope, I feel like it's lost time and I could be doing something steem related.

I'd tease you more about being an addict but I can't really say much as I'm about the same with my project XD And people like you keeps projects like this going :)

I'm not sure how I'm going to manage to not look at my phone all the time and come off as rude or even uninterested.

If you're with someone then you're with someone :)

I've been doing some exercise and I've kept a good physical condition and yet I'm dying inside. I'm tired,

Getting old sucks apparently XD

Good luck with the team and the crush!

Oh cool, did you play? What was the score?

I can't wait for the next Flag Football season.

We won like 54-14 :D
I got some swollen ankles and my left elbow is killing me, I think I hyperextended it but man, it's good to be back on the field.

hahaha you're getting old xD Get well soon man!

Me too. I love Steem.

Good jhob friends go to up steem

Saludos bello

Posted using Partiko Android

Muchas gracias, saludos!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31