The Words We Choose

in #thoughts6 years ago

7DA8A58E-A403-49D0-AC03-161ECB13534F.jpeg

Freedom to choose does not give one freedom from the effects of his/her decisions.

--Paraphrase of Bob Proctor

Few people, I think, would argue against the idea that words have power.

Words give shape to our thoughts. They speak to our emotions. They carry information, both inward and outward.

Words have the ability to lift us up and/or bring us down. They have the ability to change who we are. When we choose our words, we choose the shape of our thoughts. When we choose the shape of our thoughts, we choose the type of person that we want to be; we choose the kind of life that we want to live. When we make conscious decisions about the kinds of people we want to be and the kinds of lives we want to live, we begin to change ourselves; and by changing ourselves, we begin to change the world around us.

Just as one can work from the inside out to change his/her life, a person can also work from the outside in.

The way to work from the outside in is by making decisions about the information, the emotions, and the words that we allow to enter our subconscious being.


Image Credits: All images are original



The Words We Choose is a post that generally (but not always) presents a single quote, without context or explanation, in the hopes that the words of the quote will inspire those who are open to its message to become a better person today than they were yesterday.
Sort:  

So true. Often forgotten but nevertheless true.

Yeah. I liked this one. I wanted to find the exact quote, but it came from a lecture I listened to on YouTube, and I couldn’t figure out which one it was (I’ve been listening to a lot of lectures/talks recently). This one really takes on new meaning for me when I think of not making decisions deliberately, or when I think of letting other people make decisions for me.

Inaction is a decision, and it can lead to undesired results.

when I think of letting other people make decisions for me.

Works out great for me. Look at all the wonderful decisions my Congressman has made for me ;-P

He, he. Is he looking out for you?

I was referring to people a little closer to us in our lives, people who tend to influence our decisions and change our minds just because we fear disappointing them or challenging their ideas, etc. I think you probably picked up on that though.

Did you give Shannon a listen?

I listened at lunch at work one day. I couldn't get Shannon in Nashville on my phone ("Must be played on the Amazon Echo") but I listened to Shannon and the Clams. I enjoyed some of the songs

Hmm ... I just found the Nashville album on YouTube. I really don’t know anything about her, but if the songs I’ve heard, the ones I’ve liked have reminded me of a cross between Neko Case and Cher. Sometimes, maybe, I can see the album falling into an Amy Winehouse does country sort of comparison too. I’ll check out the Clams stuff later today.

Every Quote have a lesson in it and liked it😀

Or a few different lessons. Or lessons that evolve with us as we change throughout our lives.

I was once told people stories. Humans have a fascination with words, with the sounds and rhythms, with the nuances and subtleties, often not even realizing how a slight change of inflection, a small turn of phrase can change their perspective on...everything.

Word Kill, Words Give Life

I encounter those nuances everyday working as a teacher of ESL. Of course, I can’t think of any good examples right now, but it’s amazing the difference a word can make in meaning and, as you said, perspective.

That’s an interesting list of proverbs you directed me to. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15