SOMETHING TO THINK ABOUT

in #thoughts5 years ago

paul-reiffer-professional-landscape-photographer-california-sunset-pink-emerald-bay-lake-tahoe@2x.jpg

I have obviously had some bad news with friends this week and last week and it does make one think. I have thought about my Steemit account and what would happen if something happened to me.

It may sound stupid but as we grow our accounts are becoming worth something . Steem will be going to go up in value at some point and then the accounts will be worth quite a bit. In some countries these could be life changing sums and it would be sad to see these accounts frozen ,holding Steem with no way for family to claim them.

I would be rolling around in my grave with all this hard work going to waste. I will make sure I am covered and the people that count know what to do if something ever happens.It isn't something that would normally cross your mind but it is important. If I had 100 SP or a small account I wouldn't bother but even still one should.

Could you imagine one day finding that granddad was a member of Steemit and he had thought his 150 Steem was worthless. Who knows what the value will be in 10 or 20 years time. I will never presume anything after not buying Bitcoin at cents when it was starting out. That was the miss of the century in my eyes and a moment we wish we could rewind.

This is just a thought and one never knows. I am not a pessimist by any means and it was an issue that I would just raise for everyone to mull over.

Image source paulreiffer.com

Sort:  

I think you raise a very important point. It's all great creating a new financial system, but we have to solve all those issues that were previously fixed in the old system.

The reality is, if you hold crypto in a single signature account and you are unable to pass on your private key, all your funds are lost.

It's why I started up @eloq and I hope to develop solutions for Crypto investors in the UK, so professionals such as accountants and lawyers can help manage private keys.

That is a fabulous idea and one that will take a lot of worries and hassles away.

Yep, maybe an online password manager like lastpass or 1password with access for your significant other, just in case...

Posted using Partiko Android

Like I stated below. Lastpass has a feature that allows you to give people emergency access without having to have access at all times. That way you still have a level of security.

I've been thinking about this too. I guess instructions in paper with the master key or all of the keys would be a good thing to do. And an extra mention to the family that would be going through my stuff with big red letters: "THIS IS IMPORTANT AND VALUABLE, DO NOT THROW ME AWAY, READ ME!"

That is exactly what I was thinking of doing.

Me too, this has been my most thought resolution. Dang young mistakilis must know their dad has a bunch of steem...I think that lastpass will come in handy

I have yet to be disappointed by lastpass. And I'm not even utilizing all avalible features yet.

I've done it! I wrote all neceserry informations in paper and put it in the drawer.
My mum knows about it 😄😄😄
@cryptoandcoffee start following you and want to read your valuable posts ❤️

gGive me your private keys @cryptoandcoffee. Il make sure it gets to the young coffee's when you pop your clogs. By the looks of it you have not long left. I will charge you 1 steem per week for the privilage!

Shit you are hilarious. I have no plans of popping my clogs just yet. The 1 steem per week with what I have left will make you rich.

I have a thumb drive and paper copy with directions, it should be kept safe!

Who knows where steem will go in a few years.... I definitely will not miss out.

Been a while @cryptoandcoffee

You disappeared and it was noticed.

Unfortunately I can't be around as much anymore... I will come as often as I can though

Sorry to hear that but at least you will be around.

That's a very good thought! My password manager (last pass) actually has an option to set up family accounts who can access your account and all login credentials in case of an incapacitating event. They have a realy well put together summary of how it works too!

I need to have a look at something similar. Something easy and straightforward.

I highly recommend last pass. For the annual price I pay it's totally worth it. And I'm using YubiKey U2F 2 factor so without the physical key good luck getting in.

This is their "Emergency Access" setup interface:

Since I don't have anyone close to me I currently don't have any emergency access setup but when I write a will this will be configured accordingly.

They also have a free acount with limited features if you want to take it for a spin.

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 25.26% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got a 42.64% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.623 which ranks you at #5566 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 5573).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 274 contributions, your post is ranked at #74.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34