I love ThursdayssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)

1Thursday.jpg

Often times I write posts that just never turn out the way I’d like them to. Sometimes they share more about me then I like. Other times I just felt like the effort was not there.

So things just end up in the recycle bin from time to time or lost into a folder to never be seen again.

--This one I never took the photos I wanted
--Share more than I had liked
--Did not really like the tone
--Was not a gaming post and felt boring
-- Was meant for a contest entry but I did not feel it was within the requirements. It was more of my thoughts of things than the actual me out and about. It fell quite flat on what was being asked and I just did not have the time go back and rewrite it again.

I wrote this right before I took a short break for Christmas back in December. A lot needed to be done for the end of a year. I was going about my daily life on Steemit as well without trying to interrupt those operations either.

This is about a Thursday a while back.

12:00:01 AM

The clock strikes midnight and I’m still awake. It is now Thursday. While I usually do the bulk of my curating around midnight to 3 am. I was fortunate to have started a few hours earlier. Something I been trying to do as of late. I’m starting to wrap things up now with 2 final posts found.

I spend around another hour manual going through a dozen or more of different gaming tags: gaming, game, tabletop, steem monsters, and quite a few others. While I have other tools at my disposal it is easy to become disconnected when reducing everything down to just minimum to quarry. Not to mention video content is more of a manual endower. Before finishing this for the night I take a quick look for live streams on Vimm. Since these have to be watched live they are often overlooked.

I get a couple more possibilities for the coming day(s). I sort everything between I’ve research and its going get shared or submitted somewhere to holding for 24 hours to see how votes come into. Along with, the authenticity of ownership issues I was unable to resolve and need to further look into but I’m just too tired. As such, I put it off for another day.

2:20 AM

sweet.png

While doing that I’m also chatting on discords for a while. Apparently, this is my last message sent.

3:20 AM

ring.png

I play some Path of Exile until around 3:20 AM. Since the new season started not too long ago I have been getting in time when I can for this game. I finally made it into the part of the game I enjoy mapping. Where you collect maps and place them into a device to run the map. My gear, however, is quite bad. so I spent more time buying items from other players, and switching out or getting new skill gems for more hp, resistance, armor, and damage.

quest.png

After that, I got some turns in for a game I’ve been playing weekly for a while now on steemit. Thursday was part of a quest that runs till we win, fail, or weekend ends. So this is rather common for me to do.

4:30 AM

blog.png

Which lead me again to being disappointed with using steemit.com with all the things that seem to be breaking, loading errors, and just not making sense. In my typical commenting/posting at a way too early in the morning fashion I posted at 4:30 am—no regrets.

5 AM

I watch a little bit of YouTube before finally being able to sleep. While that is not out of the ordinary I prefer 3 am. That just how things go these days. I’ve not slept great in years. Too many things failing.

9 AM

I wake up. I got two glasses of water for my breakfast and that is it. I’m not a breakfast kind of person. The light burns and my eyes are redder than the sun from looking at monitors all night long.

9:10 AM

I do a quick scan of messages, emails, voicemails, and discords but I prefer not to get involved with anything this early in the day. So I make a mental note for later. I don’t want to get caught up on replies to replies to replies right now. I would never get anything done.

I finish off some work before 11 am and submit it for review. Of what it was about I’ve decided not to share. It’s a story for another day perhaps.

11 AM

Till around noon I’m in a meeting. Some research, planning, and organization are being put into place for possibly opening a new business. With how the right to repair could go these days it can be a risky venture. It will be a multiple layer approach offering from repair, system building, limited/low-end recovery (maybe) and some other stuff as well. I don’t know much about repair or recovery but I can handle other aspects for the group that no one else is interested in. While the chances of nothing coming to fruition are high. One must always be looking for a new opportunity while they can find a way to afforded to do so.

12 PM

I take a short break for lunch having a bottle of water and a packet of ramen noodles.

12:30 PM

Afterword’s I start to bump up my multitasking. I’m kind of all over the place from talking about Steam Winter Sale in Discord to getting some deals done, replying to contacts and so forth.


A older screenshot I’ve shared before on Steemit.

I use to be primarily involved in a few real cash economy and other games. With it being December and many events going on in said games such as Merry Mayhem 2018. People are looking to buy or borrow assets.

Till around 2 PM Several deals where brokered that reduced my ever dwindling stock and my overall risks. It was not a lot of money but I’ll take it. Some of this stuff is getting quite old along with those games. While I don’t mind holding and getting what I think is a fair price. There will become a time where it’s no longer viable to sell or those items are no longer have any demand.

In one such game that the screenshot is from, I’m more or less just down to the skills that I’ve started to sell which was one deal I had made.

2 PM

I Put some time into writing a book I hope to publish one day. It uses cryptocurrency as the monetary system. Image a universe where everyone is paid in cryptocurrency. That sounds great till you really think about it. What if you were born on a planet that had such a class system of high society member where paid in one type of currency and all the lower class were paid in another.

Even with many lifetimes you could never be afforded to acquire anything of luxury as the coin you were paid in is not accepted and the exchange rate was so bad you could not be afforded it in any legal way. You could not even buy a house or a car. You could only rent from people who accepted the cryptocurrency you were paid in. It did not matter if you moved somewhere else on that planet. It is all controlled by the ruling class. The only planets that would accept you were ones that were worse off than the one you lived on and had a lower priced cryptocurrency. Which of course you could never be afforded the luxury of travel to another planet in the first place.

I’m always a slow writer when it comes to these kinds of creations. It may never get finished or published. I may never make more than a few bucks off it. I’ve not looked into great detail yet about publishing it one day as that is quite a ways off. I don’t share it with anyone either. It won’t be on Steemit.

It was a rather slow day. My mind has been on a lot of other things as of late. Stuff I really don’t wish to go into further details on. I sometimes just enjoyed the view out of that window into the woods. Where I wish I could enjoy right now.

6 PM

Gave my eyes a short break. Lifted some dumbbells and did some stretching. I sit way too much during the day and night. So it was time for a real break.

It was also time for dinner. Had two frozen burritos out of the freezer that was warmed for a while in the oven. Toss on some cheese, rice, sour cream, and hot sauce to finish it out. While I could have microwaved them it’s just nice to bake them in the oven for a better texture.

7 PM

Had a short meeting about referrals. Everything from Steem Monsters to Epic Games and stuff I won’t be talking about

What is really attractive right now in a down cryptocurrency market is something like Steem Monsters referral system. Booster packs and start packs are fixed rate of 2$ USD for a booster and 10$ USD if I recall for a starter. Yet referrals pay out 5% in Steem or SBD. This means you are getting a lot right now on jus some basic purchases from every referral. If the markets 10x in a year and or two and you held that is quite a nice ROI for time invested.

The other thing is epic games having their own referral system at some point as they build out more. If you paid $59.99 for a game and got at least 20 people to use your referral assuming 5% you break even. Anything more than that and now you’re in profit.

The issue then comes down to getting enough traffic. While some have started to play SM because of me (I suspect) my conversion rate on first-time sign-ins and using my link to then sign in is maybe 5% at best. It rather hard to tell. I suspect I could be even much lower. Many have to sign in before just to see what it was all about with buying anything.

The other issue is having enough traffic driven to the content that has a referral link in it. That is the biggest issue I’ve always seen Steem having. Lack of content consumers and I really have no idea what kind of traffic I’m even getting if any. I centrally don’t think it’s enough to even benefit from taking advantage of Epic Games referral system. I’ve not fully looked into their offering as I have a traffic issue to resolve.

Some methods where discussed but nothing promising in the time frame I need them to be in. I’m just not a social media expert and my presence is non-excitant. More than likely an opportunity not worth pressuring more than I already have been.

7: 40 PM

Another meeting. Truth be told I despise them with a passion. Everything was quite in the early stages of development. I don’t dare say anything else.

9 PM

https://www.tradingview.com/chart/?symbol=BITFINEX%3ABTCUSD

Took a look at the markets for a little while and talked with some friends. With the stock market having another bad day and worries of recessions being heard in quite a number of places I’m starting to feel the stress. Cryptocurrency, on the other hand, seems to another interesting day. Granted the night is still young. Everyone still seems to be thinking strong on sell, sell, sell.

With a few business owners I’ve talked to today and in former months things are not going well. They have not been for a while now. Some of them did not even hire holiday help like they normally do. In fact, they are already cutting hours.

Some of my friends even are finding themselves with fewer hours then expanded during what is supposed to be the business month of the year. They seem to be rather cheerful about it since now they get to play more games over the holidays.

I’m always told how much it sucks to work at X, Y, or Z. Wish I had an answer for them but I don’t. I feel like I have an even less of an answer then they do about life.

11:30 PM

Have not had much time for the gaming community today. Just a quick mention of the Steam Summer Sale during the day. Not a lot chit-chat going down tonight with it being the holidays and the state of everything in the crypto space.

I was going to try and get some curating done sooner but it just kept getting pushed back. Time to do some discord diving, searching using steemlookup, and then going out manually looking.

11:59 PM

Some are already sleeping by this hour of the day. For many there working hours are long over. Some would think mine is just to start. It’s almost Friday and I still got much to get done before I get some sleep. Along with setting some time aside for myself. I know what happens when I don’t even if it leaves me being up into the wee hours of the morning. I was hoping for some down time to get to some Path of Exile today. I’ll find a way to make the time.

I smile somewhat at the thought of blowing off everything on Friday and just sleeping. The 11:59 PM me already knows the 12:01 AM me will not find it so assuming an idea. Even more so since my own failures in life are 100% my own fault.

Final thoughts

I love Thursdays because it is just another day of the week to try and create future opportunity.

Perhaps one day I’ll get around to all days of the week.
I love Mondays

I love Wednesdays

So many wish away their days for the weekend or whatever big event is coming up in their life. I consider myself blessed for what days I have.

Information

Screenshots were taken and content written by @enjar.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

nice to see some well-known comment in here...dont we all love goblins..:)

I just pushed an article out as well. It's on a topic I want to write more about, but I feel like I was having a hard time making the article flow. I want to do better this year at posting what I think is good content, but maybe bad quality rather than posting bad content, but having it be better quality.

That is a rather complex topic. I forget if last year you also wrote about HIPAA? There are a lot of very deeply layered topics in health care. A lot of market options most never take the time to understand as they are just too busy with life and agree to whatever it put in front of them.

The audience that content reaches and understanding is more important than how we deem something to be good or bad content/quality.

We do live in the era of micro blogging and people using cellphones to read an alarming amount of content these days. They sure won’t be pressing the scroll bar for half an hour to read anything I write lol.

I’ve messed with a few different style of creating content myself. I still prefer my older and more drawn out formats. In the long run such ways of approaching content is both not viable and an old dying dinosaur with changes going on with this platform and everywhere else.

Best we can do is find passion in our words and the content we create.

I was going to say I like reading some of your longer articles, but have to admit on the topics I've been less interested in I start to skim once I see how long your article really is.

The value of your posts are definitely higher than the rewards you receive and hopefully one day this will play to your advantage.

The value of your posts are definitely higher than the rewards you receive

My posts are already earning rather generous for what they are. I see that reality every day with my other efforts elsewhere. I’m grateful to have the support I already do. Most are not that fortunate to create the content they want and have it earn over $1.

Really the only way for me is to either change my content or find a way to monetize it differently and drive non-steemian traffic to it. Parts of that formula is already being worked on they just take a while to build. From my index post (SEO) to my twitter (social reach).

hopefully one day this will play to your advantage

It leaves me in a rather interesting spot right now.

Bid botting is also not the answer for now. As it won’t pick up or earn profit to make up for the loss in votes for doing such an action. I would have to buy at least $30-50 USD worth of voting just to break even if I had a 10% profit margin in the long run per post ($3 to $5. Which opens me to all kinds of risk. That would also I suspect put my blog into the top 50 for a few hours. It would not get me trending in top spot however for my bigger tags since people bidbot bigger than that.

2019 is going be an interesting year. I’m either going find my way and become more effective in my time or reduce my time spent regarding Steem by 90-95%. I plan to always be around in some form or another for as long as I can. I have a bunch of different things I’m working on or will be testing throughout the year. Most of it is rather new to me and will be slow going. Some of it I won't be getting near for a while as like everyone else the start of the year is very hectic in trying set up the rest of it to be successful.

Man, I would not stand a day or even two in your shoes, lol. But I guess it is your way of living and you've grown accustomed to it, so if it isn't broken, don't fix it!

I like to keep busy trying and slowly evolve over time as well. Sometimes I have an amazing year and other times it’s just a grind and test the waters kind of year. A lot of what I want and where I want to be one day all connect together and I even have fun doing certain things. I just like to have the power to say NO when I like to in life. Many are not so free willed to do so. They dig themselves in a hole they can’t ever get out and saying no makes that hole double in size.

Often times I do not fully understand how wonderful an opportunity was till it has passed and had its time in the sun. For many they keep chasing after the last ounce of opportunity in something never truly getting ahead of it.

As I said my dude! If you like how you're handling your own business, keep it up! It works for you and for the things you do, so there's no problemo at all!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 251 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15