A couple with colleagues

in #thoughts5 years ago

Tonight for the first time in about 6 years, I went out for some food and drinks with colleagues. It was actually the first time I have been out with friends of any kind since something like August last year and, it was a night filled with a lot of laughs. I am pretty worn out though and I will have to get up in a few hours for the start of the usual Daddy/ Daughter weekend but, I am glad I went and think I really should do it more.

Over the last 3 or 4 years social life has taken the backseat to just about everything else and in the last 2 years, Steem has become my place of social interaction outside of working hours. I used to be an extremely social person and I enjoy interacting with people face to face and, I think that I am better at it that way too. I am so much funnier in real life too, but I guess... you had to be there.

One of my colleagues tonight was saying how he gets nervous when his work phone rings because when he gets a call, it must be something important - and probably negative. I guess with all of the apps these days, making a phone call is treated like writing a letter. It is kind of strange that we are constantly glued to our phone yet, we don't use it very much as a phone. For me, I much prefer direct calls to emails as perhaps surprisingly, I don't like to write and my emails are incredibly concise. I can also talk through an issue much faster and with more sensitivity directly than through writing.

I have often thought about Vlogging sometimes instead, but I don't think I would be very good talking into a camera without the direct feedback of someone to converse with. I don't even like taking selfies so speaking my thoughts into a camera feels weird just thinking about it so I can't imagine it coming across naturally and therefore, who would want to watch that? Some people have very good presence and persona for vlogging, I don't think I am one of them.

Perhaps I should try it just to get out of my comfort zone and as an experiment in testing engagement and interaction. I would like to do something where there is more of an immediate discussion and conversation and essentially, just have a chat with people on steem and get to know you all better. I think that is going to also be a big part of the platform as rather than hiding behind screens, people will value people more and more.

In many ways, the internet dehumanizes us and many people forget that there is an actual person tapping away at a computer somewhere to create a post, write a poem, paint a picture or code a new application. The person becomes lost and all that is important is what they create and what they can offer, it is the commodification of humanity. as I have mentioned before though, the people who generally do the best on Steem are the ones who prove themselves human, prove they are living, breathing, walking, working people.

People make mistakes too, say stupid things and are imperfect. The dehumanization of them through the interface of the internet makes everyone much more judgmental and unforgiving in their evaluation and expression of it. Fear of judgement is also why so many people likely hold themselves back from trying and perhaps, that is why I don't vlog. Perhaps I am comfortable having the filter of my words, even though people are likely even more critical of them.

The internet is the perfect breeding ground for antisocial behavior which is funny since so much of it is labelled as social media. I don't count most of the social platforms as social at all but I do think that Steem is going to increasingly become more socially inclined as it ties relationships together in more ways than just sharing of ideas through the development of a more complete ecosystem, including the economics of a community.

In time, there is going to be so many intertwining relationships on Steem that cover all aspects of life that it is going to become a near automatic habit in people's lives. For many like myself, it probably already is and many probably feel more connected to Steem than say, Facebook or Instagram. Many get emotional about Steem.

Emotional attachment on Steem is a sign of the things to come.

For me now though, all signs are pointing toward me crashing after what as been close to a 20 hour day. Oh, the picture is one I took of my daughter this evening when she came home. Perhaps I should Vlog with @smallsteps - What do you think?

Goodnight.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

People make mistakes too, say stupid things and are imperfect.

This sentence sums up the entirety of every moment of my life.

#realitybites 😊

Lol. Just roll with it and pretend it was all on purpose.

I also feel awkward vlogging. @mariannewest makes it look easy, but I'm out of my comfort zone. I enjoyed reading your thoughts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Some people make it look really easy I think. I can talk a lot but, to myself is harder :)

Yes, I know what you mean. I just feel awkward.

Posted using Partiko Android

YES for vlogging with your daughter.

/shortcommentwhilealmostasleep

Posted using Partiko iOS

I ran a little experiment this morning. It is going to be messy :D

:') Messy is good.

Agreed @tarazkp ...

"In many ways, the internet dehumanizes us and many people forget that there is an actual person tapping away at a computer somewhere ..."

... it is dehumanizing and in ways beyond the thoughts you have to share with us here. Never online before Steem, it seems to me there is just something missing. A "virtual" person can really be whoever they choose to represent themselves to be. Is this virtual persona the "real" person or who they want to portray themselves as being?

Certainly this happens in "real life," but it is considerably harder to pull off face-to-face. As I have said more than once in here, Facetime is more than an app to me. That said, it is undeniable there is an attraction to interacting with others all over the world, when there is very little likelihood of ever meeting in person.

The other issue I don't care for is the aggressive behaviors which again are fairly easy to pull off if you are hiding behind a computer screen. Do some exhibit these types of behavior in "real life?" Yes, of course, but I believe it is much less common to be so antisocial face-to-face.

As for vlogging, like you, I am not comfortable with it. That said, if you had your wife video tape your interaction with @smallsteps, that would likely go a long way to it feeling more natural for you.

Get a good night's rest and we'll "see" you in the morning!

The other issue I don't care for is the aggressive behaviors which again are fairly easy to pull off if you are hiding behind a computer screen. Do some exhibit these types of behavior in "real life?" Yes, of course, but I believe it is much less common to be so antisocial face-to-face.

I would predict that the most aggressive online personas are among the weakest off. They want to exert their power because they do not have it in the real world. It is mostly attention seeking behaviour looking for validation from others.

It is a good idea to get the wife to film. In the next month she should finish her studies and then we all have a little more time together.

We agree on this @tarazkp ...

"... the most aggressive online personas are among the weakest off. They want to exert their power because they do not have it in the real world."

... as there are old sayings about bullies typically being cowards at heart, if they are stood up to. Not always the case, but often ...

"In here," though, I have experienced the Steem version. The worst are those hiding behind a large stake of VP, for which the rest of us have no effective remedy ...

Hopefully, I'll be around for the vlog experiment @tarazkp. A clip showing you and your little one will be a hit I predict!

Off into my day. We have our little grandson and granddaughter here with us this weekend. No vlog of it coming though ... 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Off into my day. We have our little grandson and granddaughter here with us this weekend. No vlog of it coming though ..

Enjoy the day and talk soon :)

How do you keep coming up with such interesting topics, and then execute such deep thought-provoking writing... several times a day, while raising a child, being married, traveling and working? HOW?!

The topics are easy as I use my own experience, thoughts and conversations with others as the sources. Finding the time is the challenge these days and it is a big hurdle currently. It does become a habit though and there is a compound effect of writing that allows me to relax also.

I also struggle with the vlogging concept although I enjoy those that do it well. I can’t find myself to do it fluently as I never like to prepare anything before my talks when I do present; it will likely feel less genuine which would be a mistake. However, I do believe we often need to stretch outselves and adapt. As the example, I used to avoid making calls like the plague but it had to be done often to ensure a project would advance; through executing we learn and can become good at it. It may be worth a try!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The preparation is the killer for me. I would want it to be natural but without the second person, it Will feel to forced.

I am going to try though. One day.

!ENGAGE 100

The bot seems to be sleeping this morning, but should be OK now :)

!ENGAGE 20

Here are your ENGAGE tokens!

To view or trade ENGAGE go to steem-engine.com.

I would like to do something where there is more of an immediate discussion and conversation and essentially, just have a chat with people on steem and get to know you all better.

You know, my dear friend. Should I code and develop the next successful Steem Daap just for you? That one to help you to get out of your comfort zone quickly and turn you into a remarkable verbose influencer hairy beast and an instant celebrity within the vlogging sphere?

¿Can I count with a fat & tasty SP delegation from you and your closest friends if I build it? };)

Make any dapp that makes it significantly easier here and I and many others will delegate :)

I reckon people would upvote vlogs with small because OMGTOOCUTE XD

She is not very camera ready.... we obviously didn't film her enough as a baby :D

No wonder it is rare for me to see you making a video or posting the face of your photo. I have been wondering why

Have you been wondering about it a lot?

No not much. Just that I have not seen you post your picture or video

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.289 which ranks you at #222 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 193 contributions, your post is ranked at #6.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29