A little old farm

in #thoughts5 years ago

I am not a farmer but, I grew up farm adjacent which makes me farmer adjacent. Well, that is not really a thing but I did grow up in a little town that was surrounded by farmland and some of the best wineries in the world. I really miss having a decent glass of wine at the end of the day like I did once upon a time yet, my wife can't drink wine anymore and it just goes to waste. Drinking alone is not my thing.

Lately, I have been thinking about all the things that I haven't been doing over the last few years while taking care of all the things I have been doing. The last time I went out at night with a friend was August last year, the last time my wife and I had a night off together was 11 months ago on my birthday. Life has taken its toll on living life but I don't complain too much because I understand that there are much worse experiences out there than the one we live yet, we can only know what we know.

Why I see my self as lucky is that while it is tough and the last six months especially have put us under a mass of financial pressure, I have not only been able to increase my inputs, I have also been able to increase my outputs. I can't imagine what life would have been if I was unable to increase my workload significantly and I am glad that I have been able to prove to myself that I am capable to endure up until this point. I have been in plenty of tight situations before but, not with a family that depends on me. Living without alone I can do and have done, it is different when others are involved.

But, here I am still able to write a few words on the Steem blockchain and earn some seeds that I keep planting in the hope that one day, the rains come, the sun follows and the crop grows to open up enough space that those who depend on me, need not as there will be a surplus. Surplus is something there has never really been in my lifetime, very little disposable income.

I actually find the term interesting as it essentially means, money to waste. Why would anyone waste money? It is a tool that can be utilized for a whole range of quality adding activities yet, people tend to throw it away frivolously when they do have any excess, even if it leaves them in a bad position not too long after. Instant gratification until buyers remorse sets in yet, most do not realize they do it to themselves. I think I have been guilty of this enough in my life to recognize it in others.

What I do know for myself is that I am not content with my current life situation but accept it as testimony of my own actions throughout my near 40 years. It is interesting I think how many people know all of the things that others should be doing yet they themselves are struggling to make ends meet, fighting depression, suffering in their health. You'd think they would be preaching the opposite but instead have the gall to advise people to be like them.

It is amazing to see how many people are suffering in various ways but do not recognize the role they play and how their predispositions and choices made on preference have led them to this very moment. It is easy to claim not having access to opportunity but, that is not generally the case of it. I was thinking about this in the case of the pre-mine on Steem, how many at that time would have had the knowledge, resources and taken the risk to mine Steem even if they knew about it back in 2016? Easy in hindsight but looking forward?

As I have said before, Steem is where I am both harvesting and planting. I harvest Steem through my words and ideas that I put forward, I plant that Steem back into the system in various ways in the hope that some of it will take root and grow into something of value. In my opinion, it is no different than learning a trade in the hope that it can be utilized in the future. Steem is not the goal, Steem is just a tool. What one can do with Steem is what is important.

Yes, buy stuff and play games but, what is bought, what games? What am I able to invest my Steem or, my vote into in the future? Will it be useful or useless it is too early to tell but I am calculating that in a few years from now, the hand full of Steem I hold is going to be a very versatile value tool that can be directed and focused in multiple ways and even used simultaneously.

While not there yet, Resource Credits are going to be a value mechanism even though they do not have drawing power on the Steem inflation pool. They are the bandwidth, they are the energy that can be formed in various ways to create a whole range of things plus, provide others with access to those things. People look at the system now and can't imagine what it is capable of in in regards to what it could already do, let alone the things that it hasn't come close to being tasked with yet.

But, I think about my family too, I think about being able to provide something for my daughter who is likely to grow up in a world with diminished education and employment opportunity in a polluted ecosystem where illness and premature death is the norm. Yes, it might be on the other side of the world but, does that make it alright? What if she wants to do something about it, what if she wants to try? We definitely aren't giving it much of a try to improve the future situation ourselves. Mostly, we just pretend to care, virtue signal and then stay passive.

If in 16 years when my daughter gets the keys to her account, the inflation rate on Steem is a steady 1% and she has significant draw on the pool because her Daddy held for her, I wonder... I wonder what she would use her Steem seeds for, I wonder how she would vote, where she would see value? It is hard to say right now but, I work under the assumption that she is going to be much wiser than myself and therefore, would use it better.

What if what I do now never benefits me but it does provide her the chance to invest into herself, others and all kinds of developments that help improve lives? Is my life wasted because I didn't benefit directly from my actions?

When I was growing up around those farms a lot of my friends were the children of farmers and by near default, could use their hands to create and repair, they learned the skills of the trade. Lots of those farms were near two hundred years old and once upon a time, one of their relatives sowed the first seeds, planted the first vine that would grow to later become an award winning wine producer.

People forget that while they are sipping their wine, drinking a beer or enjoying a cup of coffee, seeds were planted, work was done and, it was all started by people who had long passed but were willing to begin the process, even if they would never see its end.

Perhaps that is the point of farming though, it doesn't end if you tend to its needs, nurture its strengths and of course, understand its nature.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


View this post on Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Thanks, I did enjoy reading this. In my mind I can relate to a few points. I do feel better after some of those essays of yours.

Good night

I hoe it encourages some thoughts of some kind. :)

Sure it does, that's why I enjoy it.

As in life so in Steem money of SP are influence. Publishing content that is well-thought and good for those who heed it is one thing. Then, spreading it so that it reaches far and wide is another and that requires a lot of resources... or resourcefulness. Which is not easy to recognize in advance.

But there's the opportunity here. Is it the same as everywhere else or is it relatively better... or worse. That only time will tell but hope is here already. Growth, too. Although with pains and complains as growth usually is.

Is my life wasted because I didn't benefit directly from my actions?

I do not think so. I as someone who has never benefited from anyone’s estate but have seen others who have. And they are far better off .

If the only result from me being here with steem is to pass it on to grandson where it benefits him then I am successful.

I think this is the way it should be with the world at large too as we invest in many ways.

It is never too late to learn and adjust for improvements. While sometime impossible to get where one needs to be with the changes, at least it provides some perspective on how to set a legacy for those behind us. However, we have to be purposeful in achieving these changes as we often are at the mercy of external forces that have driven us to were we are (including our own decisions).

Posted using Partiko iOS

However, we have to be purposeful in achieving these changes as we often are at the mercy of external forces that have driven us to were we are (including our own decisions).

Yep, this is the challenge as when acting blindly we can be very unaware of all the damage that we could be causing, even to ourselves. I am hoping that going forward in history, we will become increasingly aware.

I was lucky enough to grow up on a farm (livestock, not crop), and the skills I learned then, have been of untold value, going through life....

Adjacent is close enough...lol
Do you notice a difference in people who have not grow up in a rural environment?

Not 'bad' or 'good', but different in.....something..... I have tried years to pin it down what 'it' is, but have failed miserably so far...

There is a difference in what is considered complex perhaps. Maybe rural people see complexity as something to tackle where city folk see it as a hurdle that gets in their way. Country folk tend to be better at relying on their own power and what is available to them.

mmmmmm...an interesting point...but nope...still not hitting no nails...

Yes I saw it. They aren't claiming it is theirs, and they tag you. it isn't plagiarism. Also, it is no different to you sharing news services for profit is it?

So - as an experiment - if I was to say, use all your posts, (without asking) and do exactly the same format as they did - and take profit from it ..... you would have zero issue with this?

Some accounts already do. They are not using the whole article, they are tagging the author and crediting them. They are essentially a crappy aggregator. Much like you sharing links to publicly accessible news services.

And, I can always flag them if I choose.

how do you get all these 'fulltimebot' upvotes, btw?

Which bot thingy, do you advise me to use?

your ideas of understanding life sir is awesome. I admire how you endure life even if you are alone. Every words you spoke are meaningful. In steem and in real life is true indeed. It's very long but I didn't notice it because I enjoy every word I read. Thank for sharing this, it's like an eye opener to me who is not that popular here in steemit.

Posted using Partiko Android

@tarazkp, Tight situations, specially surrounded with Finance is an obstacle which hold us really hard sometimes, but good to know that you've came up strong every time.

You are seeding Steem and i believe that you will going to harvest it with Surplus. Stay blessed you and your family.

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



You got a 50.45% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 16 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23