A place of widespread niche suffering

in #thoughts5 years ago

I left the office a touch early today as I am a little under the weather and, tomorrow I have a 12-14 hour day of travel and training ahead. Training ill or tired is quite terrible because it robs much of my ability to think on the feet, something that is vital in what I am doing as the conversation I am involved with move very fast.

Have you ever felt like you don't fit in? I have spent a lot of my life feeling that and while it was pretty obvious why when young, I still have that feeling a lot today. I think a lot of it is because I am not overly interested in the kinds of things other people are interested in and never really have been.

This doesn't mean I don't listen to others though, which means I learn about the things they care about from them directly. Due to my personality, activities and professional life, this has meant that I have been exposed to a great variation of topics and had a chance to listen to people who are passionate or experts about them. While this is possible these days through watching videos or reading articles, there is definitely a different level of impression made when face to face.

This is something that is pretty cool on Steem too as there are at least some people who are presenting the things they are passionate about, meaning that it is possible to listen and learn a lot about a great many things. However, how many people are content to watch the same movie over and over again? This can sometimes be a problem as even though someone is talented, there is only so much market and attention capable of supporting their passion.

Something people who are creatives need to remember on Steem and likely anywhere else in the world is; just because you are skilled and passionate about what you do, it doesn't mean others will continually support it. This translates as, very few people can maintain a niche position, even if they are good at it because eventually attention will look elsewhere. The audience that stays continually is an audience that is interested, are fans.

Are you passionate about a sport or a genre of music? Does this mean you can't appreciate other forms of sport or music? No. However, you prefer use most of your time and energy where you enjoy, you watch more football than tennis, or listen to more rap than classical. Whatever it is, you spend the majority on what you like, and regardless of how skilled or passionate an alternative might be, the interest in it is not likely to be maintained for long stretches.

This the problem for many contributors on Steem that prefer niche content areas as no matter if occasionally they get people who love their work and support it heavily, those people are also likely to have higher interest in other areas and will subsequently, return to their mean. However, it is still possible to get consistent support and do what one is interested in and passionate about on Steem if a contributor can also present topics that are interesting to others well.

This is a challenge because what is interesting to others is often where their knowledge lays and this means that they have a more discerning eye so are likely to be more critical of content in their knowledge areas. While a crypto enthusiast might love a painting or story from time to time and be generous with their vote, they will be less generous if that artist presents crypto news poorly, especially if they claim expertise through the delivery. However, if they find someone in their niche they enjoy, they can support consistently.

It is not easy to go across many topics these days as the level of "expert" is easily attained with a Google search where people believe they have in depth knowledge because they read a book on it. No, that is just information and while it can be used in arguments, it is very, very low-hanging fruit as these days, no matter what the topic is presented, material can be found that says the opposite is true.

This scares the majority of people in many ways as most fear criticism as they tend to associate themselves and identify with what others think of them. This means that many avoid presenting their thoughts unless they are sure they are correct, and that means sure that the majority will agree with them as it protects them from the random critic. In many ways, this willingness to conform by avoiding anything that might not go with the group is a form of self-repression and self-censorship. Is it censorship if self-inflicted?

But, perhaps I have strayed off topic from the beginning of this article quite a long way, something I tend to do quite a lot because, these are my thoughts, I have no book or format to guide me. But, this is the thing with it all as while some people complain about niches not getting support on Steem, how many actually investigate why that is? Most just go along with the average sentiment that it is the whales fault, the orcas, the dolphins, Steemit Inc's etc.

I know a guy who is passionate about 1940s and 50s black and white Finnish movies. Tell me, how many of those have you seen and would you sit through post after post of his presenting the nuances of it and reward it, just because he presents it well and loves what he does? Unlikely, but I thought you wanted to support the niche content - but you are yourself are unlikely to support other niches you aren't interested in.

For niches to be supported consistently, there has to be enough people who are interested in that niche with enough willing resources to actually support it. Reward the behavior you want to see more of, reward the content you want to see more of.

For me, I like to talk about many things, just as I do in real life and even if I don't know much about what the conversation is on because as I speak, write and engage, I learn along the way, even if it is a conversation in my own head. You can be self-taught you know, you do not need a guru as through experience and thought enough, knowledge builds organically. It isn't compulsory to read a book either, however there are shorter and faster paths to developing knowledge too.

Some people see that "not staying true" to one's passion area is selling out but, I disagree quite strongly because in most instances, having a wide range of experience and knowledge makes the expression of passion much deeper and complex. It is like cross training for a sport where weight and stretching work can multiply the application power of the sporting skills and while a basketballer is unlikely to be able to bench press the same as a dedicated bodybuilder, it doesn't mean it isn't beneficial to train in a gym.

Even though we like to consume from the best, we are more likely to support what we are interested in even if it doesn't come from the best. This is why people support people often on steem, not just the content of each post and this is why those who have presented a personality are more likely to get support than those who worry about their content alone.

People are people. People are interested in people.

But everyone has to remember that each of us have our preferences and interests and we are likely to spend most of our time in those areas. For some it might be art, others economics, others still mathematics and statistics.

How many people are interested in what you produce and also interested in you? To only have one of those things means you better be bloody good at what you produce or, bloody interesting as a person.

Well - What makes you worthy of consistent support?

If you can't be passionate about what you do without support, are you actually passionate at all?

Passion (n.)
late 12c., "sufferings of Christ on the Cross," from Old French passion "Christ's passion, physical suffering" (10c.), from Late Latin passionem (nominative passio) "suffering, enduring," from past participle stem of Latin pati "to endure, undergo, experience," a word of uncertain origin.

Are you willing to suffer for what you care about?

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I tend to have two modalities here on Steemit. The first is my photography, which, fortunately, is a pretty universal interest to most audiences. Beautiful women, photographed in extravagant locations, wearing lingerie is widely accepted by men and women alike. That’s really convenient for an original content platform. The second is my comics and writing, which is the constant force of creativity in my life. I’ll do this as a dynamo, consistently, whether I’m rewarded for it or not. Far more than photography, I consider this my calling. Interestingly, lately I’ve been getting even more rewards for my comic posts than the photography ones...which has caused me to start thinking “...maybe I should just do that.”.

Personally, I think you have an endless well to draw from because you just share your day to day thoughts and I always read them. I, too, have a short attention span, but I tend to consistently read your blogs through, @tarazkp

The second is my comics and writing, which is the constant force of creativity in my life. I’ll do this as a dynamo, consistently, whether I’m rewarded for it or not. Far more than photography, I consider this my calling.

I find this fantastic. You are one of the people who are multitalented and present well. I enjoy your freewriting also.

“...maybe I should just do that.”.

I think you would radiate still between points even if you tried =)

I have it easy, everyone has thoughts :D

This was a solid message. I fit into this scenario like a glove and need to keep this in mind.

When you feel better, 10 push-ups with every post you write is a good formula for getting off the ground... (eye roll).

I think we all fit into it at some stage. It is easy to get complacent and comfortable and then justify it.

That is like 7000 pushups a week or something ;D

I agree on this with you. I think this is how a person develops. First we have one or two interest areas. Then little by little our interests expands. The most successful people today have to go either deep or wide. By deep they have to become the best in the world in their niche. By wide they can combine different niches and become the best in the world at the combination.

Remember also that mastery you have over your thoughts will inspire far more people than actual content ever will.

I think writing about narrow niche topic could be successfully supported on Steem if a few fans of such niche would invest heavily in Steem and combined SP would allow sustained support of such community.

I have done this for Artstorm, Pinky and Spiky and Secrets of Organ Playing communities. Quite a few people because of this can continue doing what they are passionate about on Steem.

I think writing about narrow niche topic could be successfully supported on Steem if a few fans of such niche would invest heavily in Steem and combined SP would allow sustained support of such community.

I agree and I think this kind of thing will happen through the more purpose built applications. They will also be able to attract targeted advertising for their niche.

I have done this for Artstorm, Pinky and Spiky and Secrets of Organ Playing communities. Quite a few people because of this can continue doing what they are passionate about on Steem.

Yep. I know there are people like @V4vapid who support their interest areas similarly (as well as wider too) and I think it is able to in tme build strong communities, especially if those within power up and buy a bit too.

Hit the nail on the head! It comes down to how each of us will prioritize not only the Steem Power but also the time we have to engage. When it becomes limited, we will also go back to what we enjoy most.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hierarchy of attention should be a thing, if it isn't already. Perhaps I could become the social media Maslow ;D

When it becomes limited, we will also go back to what we enjoy most.

This is definitely the case and I have seen it on steem as prices fall after a rise. During the rises, people are freer with their votes and spread wider, on the fall, they consolidate - sometimes only to themselves.

Some people are consistent no matter the price, like Haejin :D

Very limited time, as is far too common, @tarazkp, but wanted to "drop in" quickly and say I thought some of the points you made in this one went well beyond the always good content we can expect when reading your posts. They were, at times, brilliant!

Maybe I will have time later to come back and elaborate. No promises ... But, I did want to at least provide a little encouragement ...

"Training ill or tired is quite terrible because it robs much of my ability to think on the feet ..."

Yep, "been there done that" ... Hope you get to feeling better soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06