Hardforking our daughter Steem style

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)

At the moment, I am trying to put @smallsteps down for a nap as it was an early morning, after a long night as our dog is ill and had to be run out very often and it woke smallsteps up. She doesn't like napping during the day now and is in the transition period to no day nap but, she really does need it.

Next week she turns three and with her new maturity, there are going to be changes introduced to her normal rhythms. And we are going to change the code Steem-style by bundling lots of points together.

Firstly, as she is getting bigger we have moved my office (which I never get to use) out of her room so she has more space to play. We did a lot of this in the morning and she likes the new real estate. This will hopefully shift some of the activities out of the loungeroom.

Next, there will be no more "potty stickers" after she turns three. This will be the second reduction in sticker rewards in the space of a few weeks. She has been good with this too and while we waited "late" to potty train, she has gone from zero to doing it herself almost completely in 4 months, and doesn't use the potty at all anymore. What we have decided is that we are going to start giving her the opportunity to get something small every week that she can choose. Later this will become pocket money.

She got 5 euros from her grandma for cleaning the summer cottage for a few days and when asked what she would buy with it, all she wanted was sausage.

We are going to help her build an economic understanding that provides the tools for investment. This is for personal finance as well as self-development. Schools fail very hard in this area and most parents act on habit - and my habits of economy are poor. Eventually, she is going to get access to her private keys and I want that as she does what she wants, and chooses well.

The third major change with the new age is she will shift classes at daycare and move into an older group. It has been a challenge for her a little as she has been in groups where she is far more advanced with her language and hasn't had people to talk with other than the teachers. While the gap is closing, I think she will enjoy moving to a group that speaks more.

I want to start introducing more options where she can choose so she can see the outcomes of her actions, but I don't want to rely on rewards as incentives. We have been pretty good with this so far and she hasn't really done done thing because she gets something for it, she does because she enjoys the process of the doing.

While I love that she is growing so fast, it is also bittersweet as she is leaving the toddler behind and becoming a girl with a plan. Today I asked what she wanted to go when older and she in turn asked me what I do. After explaining, she replied, "Maybe I will do that then."

I hope not as hopefully she is far too smart to follow in my footsteps. I hope her small steps take her far further and broader than I have managed.

I think I should take a leaf out of my own book and hardfork myself too, as I know that a better me is possible.

Taraz
[a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I got my kids as well some accounts but even if they are older, they don‘t use it much. Only if I do the posting and so on. We might start an initiativ to start a global kid steem teaching.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think that at some point there will be an interface that is more kid-orientated that they can get into it more easily.

good idea....

I think I should take a leaf out of my own book and hardfork myself too, as I know that a better me is possible.

Very true for all of us.

It is hardest to take ones own advice i guess.

I miss my son being three. He is five years old now and on the verge of starting school. something I think he is ready for but i most definitely am not :-)

The whole money thing is a fun lesson because of how he and countless other children (including myself all though years ago) have the minds set of "just buy things" without fully understanding how money is earned in the first place.

what will be different with him is this newer age of earning that is being created now. No longer are we all forced to trade out time for money but have the opportunity to earn through the value we bring to the table. of course not everyone can do this and it had a ways to go to reach it's full potential. but new paths are opening everyday and I will guide him as best as I can while learning the in's and out's myself.

The kids of the future are going to have to start getting comfortable with juggling multiple revenue streams as for many, one job isn't going to cover the bills consistently.

I don't want to rely on rewards as incentives.

I think you're on the right approach in this. I wish I hadn't gone that route with my girls. I now see punishment and reward more as conditioning. Consequence is probably the more natural approach, as we should all learn that there are consequences, both good and bad, to every action we take.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is a fine line in finding ways to encourage without using it as Pavlov's bell. I am not sure of the exact answer yet, but being aware is a step in the right direction - I hope.

You got a 51.80% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98