Head on the pillow

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)

I am so far behind today as I had to catch up on work missed from last week and the my wife had a meeting in the evening so I couldn't start "Steem work" until around 9pm. It is late now and I should go to bed as I am heading to Helsinki tomorrow for the night, bit I have trouble sleeping if I feel I haven't completed the day. The title of this post comes from something I have lived by the last 6 years.

Lay your head on the pillow at night knowing you gave the day your all.

I sleep better following this. Although not enough.

Since I was a kid I have stayed awake late because I always felt as if I was going to miss out on something interesting, even if there was nothing interesting going on. I seem to have a skill at entertaining myself through observation of the mundane and have come to believe that extraordinary lives in the ordinary.

Many people are looking for highlights but miss the specialness of normal life, events and people. We are somewhat conditioned to respond to highlights and as a result, I think we lose the value of the world around us that we see each day, especially the people in our lives that we interact with. We take life for granted.

This evening while my wife was at the meeting I spent a few hours with my daughter doing normal stuff - playing Lego, building wooden blocks, drawing with pencils and giving her a bath. Ordinary stuff but the kind of evening that would be heavily missed if no longer available.

A colleague and friend today was saying my daughter is an "old soul" and I agree. It worries me a bit because she is much like me and that means that she could feel quite out of place in the world of she doesn't find interests to dig into and invest in. When I was a kid I didn't find enough and while curious, lacked the resources to invest and instead floated.

There is a difference between going with the flow and drifting and I was more drifter without a home. Perhaps this is why I felt I would miss out on things if I slept because I was looking for something that drew my attention enough that I would build a life from it.

I am hoping my daughter will find her starting point interests early enough so she can feel she is moving toward something rather than away from wherever she is. Direction with intention and a sense of control of life experience, at least how she thinks about it.

When I am with people I often feel like a kid, someone who is yet to grow up enough to know what I actually want in life. Still a drifter searching. I don't know if it is true it not because to do move with intention bit, still haven't found the end point of my interests where I feel, this is me, mine and what I am meant to do.

Perhaps that is just the way of life or maybe the way of life for me and always will be. Maybe drifter is my strength position and is why I am able to have a general ability in many areas.

Maybe my normal is what makes me special and I am taking it for granted. Maybe it is weakness I should cut away also. Hard to say but I am curious enough to know that the journey continues on for at least as far as I can see.

I think thus is my all for today.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(from the pillow)

Sort:  

What I'm mostly good at is sleeping 😂

lol. we all have our skills. ;D

I'm glad you gave it all yesterday. Did you sleep better? Did you have any dreams that you remember? Were they different from your regular ones?

Posted using Partiko Android

I rarely dream anymore. I think it is partly because by the end of the day I am out of thoughts as I have processed them through my writing.

After following the somewhat stressful lives of some of my characters I'm pretty happy with my mundane boring life XD

I still hate housework though but at least have a nice house to hate that about?

Some people are more driven than others and they need to find and run with some purpose. Some people are content with whatever (and contrary to popular belief there's exactly nothing wrong with that XD).

I have insomnia that's related to my brain constantly churning everything and taking forever to shut down (worst cases is all night...which of course means no sleep as by the time it's about ready to think about shutting down finally it's boot up time). Don't know if that's similar or completely different to feeling scared of missing out on things (probably different as I tend to go out of way to miss out on things, usually drama XD).

What's the weakness you should cut away? Taking things for granted or your normal? As one of those things I can agree with cutting away :)

After following the somewhat stressful lives of some of my characters I'm pretty happy with my mundane boring life

I haven't been able to find a good balance so far. Too much "must", not enough choice.

I have insomnia that's related to my brain constantly churning everything and taking forever to shut down

This is why I started "completing the day fully" as I would lay my head down and start thinking for hour upon hour.Completing life in the moment meant I could sleep within minutes most of the time.

What's the weakness you should cut away? Taking things for granted or your normal? As one of those things I can agree with cutting away :)

Is it normal or a habit that is self-defeating?

What you lived as a child, I am still living until now. Somehow I am still waiting for the unknown. Something I feel but dont see. Will still wait...

Waiting never helped me, working toward something (even if not suited) did help a lot.

Maybe you are just meant to be a drifter...?!

What you say is so recognizable (except for the daughter-part, since I don't have one. Lol)

I still feel like I'm going to miss out on something interesting when I should go to sleep.

I've kind of accepted the fact that 'my thing' is everything and nothing. I see people around me finding there place in life and doing what they feel they are meant to do. Sometimes I envy them, sometimes I don't.

I actually like the search... I often think that I'm addicted to it. And that it is just that addiction that prevents that I find what I think I'm looking for.

I've kind of accepted the fact that 'my thing' is everything and nothing.

I am okay with this part of it.

I actually like the search... I often think that I'm addicted to it. And that it is just that addiction that prevents that I find what I think I'm looking for.

This is one of my worries - what if it is an addiction? then I am no better than a heroin addict with a different target.

then I am no better than a heroin addict with a different target.

I don't think those two can be compared. First of all, it is it's not self-destructive, and second: you learn a lot while searching - even though it might be just a little of everything.

I don't really see it as a negative thing. I think searching has contributed to my personal growth way more than anything else.
Every now and then I miss the feeling of satisfaction, but then I realize that I learn something new every day, whether it is about myself or something else. Sometimes it's a huge important thing , sometimes just a small detail. That can be positive or negative, it doesn't matter. Fact is, I learn through searching.

And yes, maybe that means I only know a little about a lot, but I can't imagine what it must be like to have my personal 'thing'.
I guess my 'thing' is the neverending search.

Most of the time, I don't really mind. Mainly because I believe that's what life is all about: searching and learning. Finding out who you are.

I am hoping my daughter will find her starting point interests early enough so she can feel she is moving toward something rather than away from wherever she is. Direction with intention and a sense of control of life experience, at least how she thinks about it.

Imo, there is no control in lie experience.
I'm a control freak, but life teaches me every day again that I'm not in control. There are so many factors, of which most are out of my control...

Anyway... like I said, there are times that I regret I haven't found something that is really 'my thing', but I always feel like I'm moving towards something: more knowledge and - even more important - more insight in myself.

Direction with intention may sound good, but if I imagine what I would have missed in life if I had found what I was meant to do when I was a kid or a teenager - or even later in life.... There are so many things to explore... finding is the end point. And then what? Do you stop sarching? Do you stop learning? Will you only focus on that one thing? (Genuine questions... I really can't picture what it must be like)

Lately, I've been reading quite a lot of your posts. The insights you often share prove you searched and learned about many different things. Life, just to name one example.

Being a drifter in a society that is all about direction and performance may feel lonely and unsatisfying sometimes, but I believe it is a strenght

First of all, it is it's not self-destructive, and second: you learn a lot while searching -

It could be self-destructive though.

I guess my 'thing' is the neverending search.

What happens if you find your thing, but believe the never ending search is your thing and keep searching?

What happens if you start to focus on the negatives to create an excuse to keep moving on, never accepting of anything with a flaw, including with people?

You got me there...

I must admit my reply was a little short-sighted.
I only have to look at myself to know it can be self-destructive...

What happens if you start to focus on the negatives to create an excuse to keep moving on, never accepting of anything with a flaw, including with people?

That sentence just triggered an understanding of something my therapist said earlier this week. I didn't get it at the time, but now I do.
Maybe the reason I beat myself up all the time about my flaws is exactly that. I accept other people's flaws, but not my own... at all.

Maybe it is indeed an excuse to keep moving on...
Maybe I'm just scared to find my 'thing', because I don't know what comes next... I only know how to search...

Food for thought, for sure!

Thanks!

I have no idea about your personal position, but I do think that we should examine life a little more and our place in it. Glad that it made you think a little deeper in this area at least. Have a nice weekend :)

Thanks. You too!

The fact that you know you are a drifter, you can use it to your advantage in life. I also prefer staying up late as I do not want to miss out. My best productivity is late at night. Blessings @tarazkp. BTW nice photo.

Some people (me) are more creative at night. Perhaps it is the peace while everyone else sleeps.

I am hoping my daughter will find her starting point interests early enough so she can feel she is moving toward something rather than away from wherever she is.

All you can do by now, is inherit your old compass to your daughter and hope that she can also find her own brand new compasses on her way ahead to establish comparisons and points of reference with what yours have been marking as the north so far.

Earth's Axial Tilt has been assuring from 4.5 billion years ago that the north is not static and it certainly have been shifting, still shifts and will shift all the time.

I just hope that between these diverse shifts, she at least will be able to lay her head on the pillow without anxiety every night and stay still there without worries of any kind until the next imminent tilt. :)

Perhaps it is our lot in life to find a way to lose ourselves continually. :D

I just hope that between these diverse shifts, she at least will be able to lay her head on the pillow without anxiety every night and stay still there without worries of any kind until the next imminent tilt. :)

At the moment and as long as she is healthy - she sleeps well. The healthy part is the challenge :)

How interesting what we go through in our different worlds. I feel like I oversleep because time sometimes is so limited in my days. This is even with the knowledge of that abuse and then later imprisonment ruined my sleeping patterns for life.

Also I think all of us(parents) worry in our own personalized way about our children not exploring enough or not for a lack of a better word living a more self conscious lifestyle. It's a component I'd say of being a parent.

I think most of our lives these days aren't set up to be "well rested" as we have to fit into schedules that have nothing to do with who we are or what is best for us. I am hoping she will live an examined life.

Yes. We live in this repetitive environment that straying outside that crazy schedule sounds like a crime. I wish you and her nothing but the best ♡

Can you please send me the hi-res of that image or is the one in the google drive hi-res?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Should be hi-res on the drive. I will check it

You got a 46.47% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83