Last legs and what if

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)

The buzz of the propeller is near my head and I imagine it coming free and slicing through the plane like it would in a Sylvester Stallone movie... But, it'd be okay, right?

I am writing this on the flight back to my home city which is only a 30 minute flight from Helsinki. It will not make it in by midnight and I am unsure if @appics will count as a Steem post which means, this might be the first day in almost 2 years where I didn't get a post in for the day. That'd be something.

I think that considering I am pretty analogue in a digital world, the numbers are pretty good. Since I can't actually check them since I don't have a connection, if I remember correctly I have cast something like 50,000 votes over my Steem journey which is pretty high considering I don't autovote at all.

I remember someone saying what is the big deal about being a manual curator and the answer is, nothing. But, it is something like a point of process where a manual voter is at least more likely to have seen and read the content voted, it is an acknowledgement of effort. Of course, there is nothing wrong with autovote get either, especially if one thinks through who they are supporting and why.

I like the why of things yet, I love the what ifs. I would say that it is a big reason I enjoy my time on Steem so much as while there is a lot of uncertainty, there is a huge amount of flexibility and room to move now and develop further in the future. The what ifs of Steem are near endless and I enjoy hypothesising where things may lead in the future, even if it is a long way away or, never actually arrives.

The timeframes people hold for results is generally shorter than what is actually required to get those results and impatience leads to mistakes. I was saying to my wife today that while I am training some pretty important clients, even though I am very green, if anything goes wrong at this stage, I am screwed.

I don't mind that situation as I take the approach of, do my best and what comes, comes. This way, regardless of other's judgements, I am at peace with myself knowing I did what I could with what I had at the time. The feedback I get means that next time, I will have more available than last which increases my chances of success of I use the information to improve my process.

Today's session was difficult and I am not going to know how it really went from the client's perspective until in the office tomorrow. While it was far from perfect, I did my best however and that matters, at least to me.

The plane is descending so it won't be long til on the ground where hopefully I will be able to get hold of a taxi. It is a 30 minute drive to my place from the airport too which means I should get home around 115 in the morning, enough time for a shower, 5 hours of sleep and back up for work.

While it is a hectic week and for quite a while now, a pretty full on life, there are an increasing number of what if possibilities creeping in through the work I do and the various processes.

I might feel on my last legs tonight but, what if tomorrow...

Landed.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

this might be the first day in almost 2 years where I didn't get a post in for the day.

woah! Here I thought I was being awesome with manual curation every day. :D

Hoping to find the time to post more consistently soon.

Lol, yeah I think I am a Steem addict but then, there are worse things to be addicted to.... Like XRP.

You should post more as you actually have interesting posts. :)

I take the same approach with my work as well as I too have been doing my best with my new role and doing things from scratch as prior processes were too legacy. It has led to delays and inconsistencies but more value added datapoints that have helped give perspectives. I think our type of approaches are appreciated more than those more hesitant to make decisions.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think our type of approaches are appreciated more than those more hesitant to make decisions

I hope so but never quite sure how others see the approach as some tend to think I am too blasé, which is not true at all.

Propellers on planes? Bloody hell!! Scary!!

Hell yeah. I heard I might be on a 6-seater for one location...

fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk!

Wow. 50,000 votes. That is a great milestone. Although maybe because you have been on steemit for two years but that is a great milestone you achieved. 50,000 votes??

Probably. It works out as about 75 votes cast a day I guess. I think I post an average of 3.5 top level posts a day and have 17000+ comments. I enjoy Steem.

Oh. No wonder though. Admiring that statistics

I take the approach of, do my best and what comes, comes. This way, regardless of other's judgements, I am at peace with myself knowing I did what I could with what I had at the time

There you go. It doesn’t matter how things turn out if you did your best.
I would rather have the guy work for me who does his best and falls short then the guy where it turns out great for him with little effort

Would be nice to be able to have a skill that could earn with little effort at times though.. just sometimes... :D

Its a nice thought a wishful thought. Like hitting the lottery. There is always a cost. What will the cost be and would we recognize the fee before it becomes due.

Wow... All I can say is may cryptic reward you for your faith, consistency and efforts

Lord Cryptic from the Halls of Transactions

Man let me say youre such an inspiration on the platform for me. I get lazy sometimes saying I dont have time because I need a break to watch tv or some other lame excuse. 2 years with a post at least once a day is a new goal of mine.

Hopefully that will help me reach 10k Steem before I know it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Everyone has their strengths, weaknesses and interests.. Steem is all three for me :D

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.285 which ranks you at #225 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 199 contributions, your post is ranked at #1. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10