Made for walking

in #thoughts6 years ago

The factory location I was training at today is about a two kilometer walk from the train station which I generally quite enjoy, especially on days like today where the weather is quite good. The problem is that, these boots definitely weren't made for walking. I bought them a few weeks ago and I thought they would wear in a bit but, not so far. Pain.

The day isn't over yet unfortunately.

In my last client session for the day we were talking about work ethic and how those willing to do what others are not generally are the ones to benefit. This of course goes for early adopters but it isn't just because they have access to a product before.The largest benefit early adopters have is the ability to learn and adjust behavior before others, to move on potentials earlier than the masses.In some way, it is the position next to insider trading, added advantage from having access to information early.

There are a lot of people who have been on Steem a very long time but haven't actually benefited that greatly from it. Some put it down to the system's design but often, it is more that on isn't willing to change processes, approach, genre or demeanor. This isn't actually necessary for everyone because like just about any environment, some people are better suited than others.

the willingness or unwillingness to change is for many personal reason but for me, Steem has been a 50/50 mix of being suited for it and it being well outside of my normal world. While the topics I write about come naturally to me and I can discuss across many areas, the putting it out into the public sphere and especially the 'personal branding' side of the equation is very uncomfortable for me. Maybe even more so than these shoes which is really saying something.

I have learned a lot here and continue to do so every day as I try to explore facets of the environment that interest me but I am not necessarily suited directly for. I wish that I had more attention in math and statistics classes because they would come in handy here.

Work ethic plays a large role in learning as it means taking responsibility for experience rather than waiting for the formal training that will come once things are known and there is stability; mainstreams. People want all kinds of freedoms and benefits but are much more resistant to learning what is required to be in the position where it is possible than they care to admit.

All of us here have a great deal of potential ahead of us but, it isn't granted to us on silver platters for the most part, learning, adjustment and most importantly discomfort is going to play a role. Possible even pain, at least of the emotional kind as we have to face the facts that not all we do is going to be gold, possibly even none of what we do.

Part of being an individual is taking the steps to investigate and discover who we actually are and if we want to benefit from it, recognize what changes we might need to make in order to satisfy out wants. This isn't about conforming to fit in, it could be breaking the mold to stand out but for most, some adjustment is required.

The uncomfortable truth of Steem is that while everyone is free to post and behave how they choose, it doesn't mean that it will be liked, accepted or rewarded for the attempt alone. We live in a world of trends and changing tastes so if one wants to take benefit from the shifting sands, understanding of the environment and shifting with it is a necessary component.

The choice of how we act should be our own but, so are the results and consequences of our movements. No one knows it all, there is and always will be room to learn more.

Now.... I have to prepare my mind and spirit to walk a bit more in my own shoes.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Work ethic and learning go hand in hand as the effort you put into change is what determines how well you can adapt to unexpected or uncomfortable situations. I think this ecosystem is great given the sense of community mostly seen in that many want to help to succeed as rising together is easier that taking an approach at it alone. The perspectives shared along the journey are valuable in the process itself and they provide guidance and learnings to improve.

Unless one is able to have heavy stake, there is very little chance of being the successful lone wolf here I think. At least now. Plus, it is so much more fun to be interacting with people around the platform.

At the beginning of reading your story with shoes and I am sincere I put myself in them because many years ago as a student I also had to walk a lot more than 2 kilometers twice a day, I know what that feels like.

I tell you at that time of student was very fashionable a song of a type of music that in Venezuela is known as ska

Part of the letter was referring to wearing new shoes at a party

chorus:

New shoes bother me
New shoes I do not want to have
Because dancing with them I'm going to fall

Now with respect to the subject in question. Indisolublemente here in steemit many of us are learning example my case little by little I am growing up sometimes I am doing well others do not. However I do not stop walking in this long and hard path that touches me inside steemit even though in some cases that walk causes me pain but as everything in this life without effort there are no triumphs and this from my part to move forward.

When you mention ethics at work you are also right because that is what represents you in that way you can know us better and know that our work is good.

I have a pair of shoes ,two years later I am still trying to break them in.
Understanding and learning helps to see the opportunities as they arise. These days they seem to be everywhere and only once you have tried it do you see the potential.

I hope these break in...

I think the more learnt and opportunities takem, the more you see. It is a cycle.

Usually with new shoes at the beginning are a bit painful to walk you have to start using them for a short time until you adapt to them I think that can be STEEMIT at the beginning we do not understand much about the subject we make some mistakes but we are learning

For the place where I live the truth Steemit has helped me with respect to their currency, much more than that I can tell you that I have learned a lot from so many things here like food, places around the world, recipes and so many things but I think it depends on the side that you see it

The biggest benefits of Steem are to come i think. Hopefully a lot of people will benefit.

In a way Steemit parallels the world in which we live. There is opportunity and change...but it is up to us. We have free will but the boots are not fit for everyone. Time and experience using those steem boots help some. Thanks @tarazkp

In many ways it parallels real world actions and especially so with the economic aspects. we can see here what is normally hidden.

Definitely so very interesting. Liked it. So relevant.

I don't like comment mining here, especially on such useless comments.

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.130 which ranks you at #259 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 278 contributions, your post is ranked at #12.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86