Reasonless meanings

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)

Back to work after what seems like an eternity but was only one day. I haven't missed a day of work in years other than when my daughter has been in hospital. I think that this weekend I am going to have to catch up on a fair bit that I have missed as next week I am travelling half of it and there are a couple company events I have to attend also. Such is life.

The weather should be good however, therefore I am planning to take the family out to do something nice. It can't be too active but perhaps for a meal and a bit of a walk around the city. It depends on how our daughter feels tomorrow though, but this morning she was almost her normal self.

There is a lot going on everywhere on Steem which I want to write about too, that can wait though. I write enough as it is and I think I should probably cut back a bit and instead do some shorter content pieces, give into the brevity of acceptable internet length. 140 characters instead of 3-5000 words a day. Lols, I don't think I could do it.

I find that while people like short content as it is fast and easy to consume, the stuff people consider in depth and act upon is rarely short. Usually, it is also hard to obtain in some way as it means that investment is required and then there is a sunk cost to getting the information so wasting it is less likely.

I think this is why that the lessons learned in negative situations are considered valuable because they appear to be more important due to the struggle to learn them. Pain is a great memory creator.

It is also likely why so many people feel the need to voice their displeasure as the suffering they feel appears to have a higher weight than the pleasure and because it is more valuable to them, it is more valuable to share. Then, because other people can sympathize as they carry and connect with the pain too, it is easy to spiral the emotional state as a group. An emotional circlejerk.

I don't know much about these things though. I just do what I do and now I should do some work.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted for no reason in particular)

Sort:  

What we acquire too cheaply we esteem too lightly.

This is why so many of the early Steem earners don't have much in the Steem bank now. Easy to earn, easy to sell. At some point, I am hoping that this reverses enough to put serious demand pressure on Steem and I think that those buying over the last year will find it harder to let go of as the climb in price will be coupled with an increasing vote value.

What many people don't consider from the early days is even the larger earners were still affected by n2 meaning they earned but their vote wasn't worth much. I think i had about 6000 SP before HF19 and had something like a cent vote and the price was around 1.50. This means that there wasn't a lot of gain in holding, but large in selling.

Upvoted!

Exactly, I prefer short content as opposed to 3000 words for example.

Depends on what purpose you need it for I think. If you want to understand something at a deeper level, most people don't give themselves the time to actually think about it past the reading so if it is short, not much gets achieved.

Good point and I agree.

This is where podcasting comes in..or Dtube :)

Yeah, I have thought about it but unsure it is for me. I should try.

Get to work then, Taraz! I'll get to sleep, and we'll pick up where we left off again tomorrow.

sounds like a plan :D

You going to start writing haiku? 😃 is that 140 characters? Or flash fiction? That’s a bit longer but still plenty short enough to fit on even a small screen without scrolling 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Limericks are more my kind of thing. I have considered the flash fiction :)

I like the mix of short and long content as it allows me to engage according to the time I have which has been challenging this year. I will probably appreciate it more in a few hours as I turn into Tourist Dad for two weeks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I will be trying to throw shorter content in too but it is a challenge :D

i prefer shorter unless i'm reading a book ie winnie the pooh. personal preference. :) oh best short i read sofar today - https://steemit.com/d-day/@preparedwombat/imagine-yourself-on-dday-bga2hqck

edit: really depends what mood i'm in, time of day, blood sugar levels :) etc

I don't have the time to read Winnie the Pooh length books.

The challenge I have is once I start writing, it keeps going. Then, I have got into a groove where I feel that if I make them shorter, people assume I am getting lazy :D

just space it out, use bigger font, add more pictures and i wouldn't know any different haha

Obviously very correct, the truth is that sometimes difficult experience seems to leave harder lessons on us, simply because its far more biting and people tend to get it when they're pressured to. I wish your daughter a speedy recovery

I wonder if we should sometimes adjust and try to learn in the positive too :)

Well pressure is what makes us More inclined to do something really, I wish we can

It is and response to stress is also an indicator as to what kinds of lives people have led perhaps.

Sometimes it can be positive when we think about it because sometimes we notice a certain kind of fighting spirit that we didn't even know it was there in the first place

In Finnish there is a term "Sisu" which is the energy used when under intense pressure. In English it wood be loosely translated as grit.

I wrote a post some time ago:
https://steemit.com/adversity/@tarazkp/the-active-avoidance-of-sisu-finnish-grit

I also believe you wouldn't be you if you started trimming your posts. They are always as short or as long as they should be. I wish a creative and healthy weekend to you and your loved ones...

Posted using Partiko Android

They are always as short or as long as they should be.

It sounds like a Tolkien wizard :)

Have a good weekend too.

You are reading my mind with Gandalf...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79