The commercial present and future

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)

Tomorrow is Mother's Day and my daughter and I haven't organized anything yet, but I am not sure what we should do. Of course, there is the breakfast in bed kind of thing and the card made by my daughter go to but, these days there is some kind of expectation that it should be more than that. It is funny how commercialized life has become.

I read a post today about a child throwing a tantrum in a store because they didn't get a toy they wanted and I find it quite a common occurrence these days, more so than when I was a child perhaps as there were repercussions delivered by parents in those days that tempered the temper. I also find it interesting that people sit their kids in front of programs that are designed to create some kind of emotional attachment and then wonder why their children want the conveniently created merchandise of the programs.

In Finland, I have friends saying how their kids go crazy over "Paw Patrol" merchandise, and these are kids under two years of age. We set kids up for a consumer lifestyle from ever decreasing ages I think these days and then simultaneously expect them to make good economic decisions when they are older and admonish them for being attracted to brand names. But, I think this is a lot of the way life is these days as it offers an easy process for parents and the solution to a tantrum in a store is to buy the product the child desires.

Well, we all want things don't we? I have been "promising" to my wife that one day all of this time I have spent will be worth it, that it will reduce our own economic suffering and provide additional possibilities that we won't likely have access to otherwise. My wife would like to one day own a home where we can comfortably live yet at this point, it is well out of our reach. Even when my wife starts working, it would be a struggle and the cost of owning a home will mean a massive loss of other opportunity. Of course my promise is less a promise and more a position of hope which she understands.

Time investment is the most valuable we can make into something as to get anywhere at all, time is a necessary component - nothing happens instantly. It doesn't matter if it is the developing of responsibility and better decision-making skills in children or, developing the resources necessary to go on holiday - it all takes time and how much time we are willing to invest and what we are willing to invest that time into matters for our future possibilities.

Yesterday I spent a couple hours talking with people about Blockchain and possibilities and while they were interested to some degree, once the conversation turned to entertainment topics, their wealth of knowledge in that area was amazing, and the time it must have taken them to get it is quite the investment indeed. It is quite fascinating that people can go from being mildly interested in the technology that can change the world to passionate about who is the best standup comic.

Don't people realize this manipulation of attention? It is about where we are willing to invest our efforts and while some people are going to eventually change the world, most are going to be entertained by what they are fed and believe that their suffering is unrelated. Our desire and suffering are in an intimate relationship, always married.

Well, I don't really know what I am going to do for a Mother's Day present as I can't say something like "Steem has finally made a difference to our lives", not this year anyway. That is actually untrue, it has made a difference to our and many other's lives too. For us it has taken me a great deal of time investment in the hope that one day it will increase opportunity for our family and empower other families too.

Who knows if it is a pipe dream, but in my opinion, working toward a dream is better than living vicariously through the dreams sold by others.

Time will tell, as it always does.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

God invented time to avoid the bedlam of everything happening all at once.
We have a notebook that the kids write/draw in each year for Mother's day. That way instead of cards that stack up, there's just the one book of memories. She loves it.

This is a great idea and what I went with. I bought a nice notebook and started this tradition and I think I wil have @smallsteps write in it for each special occasion day.

Our desire and suffering are in an intimate relationship, always married.

As noted a long time ago by certain Indian fellow whose golden statues litter the land in large swathes of Asia. :)

I think he enjoyed having his belly rubbed.

We have all sacrificed hoping for something better. I honestly believe it is time well spent and we will have to wait and see how lucrative this is going to be. You are right though as you are being proactive doing something and you are not sitting around idly hoping for something to happen. That is the difference and it gives me comfort knowing that We are giving ourselves a shot at something.

So much of life is spent passively consuming these days feeling like what we do is of value. I am looking forward to getting active again :)

Hi @tarazkp

I know it will be a very happy day for your wife and your daughter and for you, and best of all will be the happiness of his wife to see the attention you and your daughter gave her.

My two daughters and I since yesterday have scheduled the special day for my wife.

Who knows if it is a pipe dream, but in my opinion, working toward a dream is better than living vicariously through the dreams sold by others.

Good point of view, but the best thing about that phrase is what it implicitly contains, and that achieving those dreams with facts is as rewarding as dreaming it.

Greetings from Venezuela.

It is always nice to do something a little different with the family so I hope you enjoy your plans :)

As long as your wife knows that you appreciate her that's what counts. It's not about money or the gift as it is her knowing that you love her. Yes time is very valuable and cannot be replaced. But life teaches us patience for those who wish to take the time and learn. Blessings. @tarazkp

I think part of the value in learning is improving the learning process so that more can be learned in the future. It will be a cruisy day tomorrow, that is enough. :)

Would your wife be angry with you if tomorrow you gave her a gift in Steem which she could power up?

Posted using Partiko Android

Furious :D

She supports my activities though, that is enough for now but if it doesn't move soon, I will be paying her the alimony payments in Steem. ;D

The way I solved this challenge with my wife is through encouraging her to post her comics on Steem. Now she is hooked. But you see, we both draw comics and it's almost a fun way for us to do something nice for each other and with each other. When I draw a comic, @laputis is my first viewer, when she draws it, I'm the first of hers.

Can you find an activity you both could do together on Steem?

Oh and by the way, my wife is shy and she doesn't post her comics on Facebook. But Steem is OK for her. I suspect not only because of financial rewards (which we all know currently are too small for people living in the EU) but also for the relationships she has built with a few people who appreciate her Pinky and Spiky comics.

But obviously, we are all different and what works for us might not work for you.

Unfortunately for quite a long time, we have no activities together. It has been years since we have danced or gone to the gym, two things we used to do together but don't. Hopefully one day.

I have no doubt you super creative mind will figure something out...

Posted using Partiko Android

Time is our most valuable asset so the allocation we use of it need to be relevant and worth it as it is ours at the end!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09