The Cult of Blockchain

in #thoughts5 years ago

A colleague asked me what I am into today and I said blockchain. I am not sure if everyone gets this type of response but they said,

"like Bitcoin?"

But the look was like I had just tried to direct market Amway or told them I am an active member of the Church of Scientology, and asked if they want to come in for an evaluation.

It is definitely a little cultish.

Ava ladybird (14 of 21).jpg

Perhaps this is the way all large movements begin though as they are hidden away from the view of most people but they have very strong support from a narrow few. In time though, that small group builds by attracting and convincing more until the bandwagon is rolling and people jump on just because others are jumping on. Social proof is a very strong influence, especially in a world of marketing and personal branding.

I think that Steem has an advantage in this as when the bandwagon moves, Steem is likely to be in a very visible position. The same position that is likely a bit of a disadvantage now as all of the dirty laundry is publicly aired will become a strength as all the positives will spread in the same way. While the niche applications on the blockchain create homes, Steem city will continue to grow.

It is a religion of sorts except it is not bound to any particular doctrine or behaviours other than the quest for autonomy and economic freedom from authority. How once goes about satisfying personal needs on the blockchain is up to the user themselves. Of course, not everyone is going to be some Steem millionaire but all have a chance of having stone control over earnings that don't rely on a government to act well or honour agreements. It is going to get interesting.

I wonder what the world will look like 30 years from now and what position in society the founding members and early crypto adopters will have. If you consider how personal and mobile computing combined with the internet has fundamentally changed our world and what and who we value, who knows what an economy driven by a decentralized community might become.

In five years from now will we be looked on as cult members, or will people be asking how they can be like us?

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

That look they give usually also has to do with the FUD propaganda machine. How many average people hear anything good about Bitcoin? From many people's point of view it's like, "Wow! All that bad press but this guy is still in the cult..."

I can't even get my tech friends to hop on the train. "Crypto isn't a silver bullet that's going to solve all our problems," they tell me.

Yet, money is at the core of all problems.

"Wow! All that bad press but this guy is still in the cult..."

I feel like Tom Cruise.

I can't even get my tech friends to hop on the train.

Weird isn't it.

It is very weird, but at the same time I try to make sense of it.

In order to be a true believer of crypto not only do you have to have a very firm understanding of the technology (which is insanely complicated), you also have to have a firm understanding of central banking and geopolitics. This is an extremely fringe group. The crypto cult exists at the fringe of two other cults.

Let's be honest, most people enter the space to make money without having any knowledge of any of these things. Distrupt! Moon! Lambo! There is a lot of white noise here.

The crypto cult exists at the fringe of two other cults.

Yeah I agree. What I like about Steem is that it is positioned between two other cults, consumerism and social media :)

There is a lot of white noise here.

In time it will level out as it breaks into more sensitive/knowledgeable groupings.

I can't even get my tech friends to hop on the train.

You'd think that technology is about innovation and making the world a better place, yet it seems to be really hard to get them at least interested on the potential of the tech.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's become a religion! It's really math and computer science.

Posted using Partiko Android

Block 1:1-5 And Satoshi said, "let there be decentralization" and there was.

I'm signed up to the cult :P

Instead of "going clear", it is going moon.

Indeed it is like a cult. But we all see the diversified potential Steem has to offer. Yes a bright future and I want to be there with the best of them. Thanks @taraazkp

It will continue to grow and set new highs and higher floors through the lows. No worries :)

10 years from now ... hwmm

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, I feel I've become a little secluded in my own cult as far as my connections around are concerned. I am moving some things now and when they roll over I think I will be able to attract some new cultists.

Always good to have members out recruiting for the cult :)

The most valuable Companies are based on cult following so I don’t mind... You think Apple deserves to be worth $1 trillion (not anymore) despite not really innovating for the last 5 years? It is all about the “customer experience” and the value being created among the community.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is all about the “customer experience” and the value being created among the community.

Yep and that is going to be up to the applications here that create the experience and connection.

Since it takes 7 years to achieve overnight success and Steem is now a little more than 2 years old, in 5 years from now, we might be in a situation when our mothers-in-law will ask us, "So tell me about this Steem thing you've been playing..." When this happens we'll know we've reached a 2nd level.

Posted using Partiko Android

"The mother-in-law test" should really be a thing :D

With the way it is going, I think in two years from now there are going to be significant results seen here.

I get that all the time. But it's a cool cult, I'm proud to be a member, so I just revel in the "weirdness".

Being weird is much better than being normal. Normal people are normal... no one wants that. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89