Unconstrained superpowers

in #thoughts6 years ago

I was just on my way to bed but I missed my window, the baby woke up. Maybe tomorrow night then. It is funny how little sleep is required to function at some kind of level. It is 530am and since I am sitting here making shhhhh noises, I figured I may as well write a little.

The photo was taken a few years ago at about this time of the morning before Steem. My wife used to work in Helsinki and would catch the train and I would take her to the station. It meant 430 wakeups. Did I mention I am not a morning person? I am a night owl though.

I have always loved being awake when everyone else is asleep as there is so much more space to think and do but, it is hard to keep it up with a young family, plus that pesky small business I have. Steem in one form or another takes up most time though.

In some way it is an addiction because I believe so strongly there is a future somewhere here that far outstrips the current value both monetarily and for a larger purpose. In some ways I feel that if I don't give it my all, I am somehow selling myself, my family and the community short.

In a chat tonight there was a serious talk concerning geopolitics and borders. It is funny for some perhaps, but I think that in a couple hundred years the imaginary borders many fight and die to protect won't be there. Many of the countries will no longer be in the form they are today and what we are doing here is part of that journey.

The technologies, currencies and delivery systems we are creating undermine the very economic models that maintain those borders. It makes the walls porous and eventually irrelevant as value distribution starts to spread outside of the control of authority. All it really takes is enough people to agree that this system is better than theirs.

A lot of what holds this process back is the competition between the bordered states, nationalism, pride and a sense that where one is randomly born defines them. It isn't true, they are just labels, but we live as if this random placement is worth dying for, and many have and continue to do so.

What is interesting is that these concepts we hold so strongly to are nothing more than stories we tell each other, tell ourselves and then act upon as if they are the only way. Why can't we just imagine a better story and live it instead, why live a narrative where the majority are slaves indentured to a debt cycle, and engineered mechanisms which limit out potential? If we all agree, couldn't we just shift the paradigm and then work to make it reality?

My daughter woke up talking and when I came into her room she was saying, "I saw you, I saw you, Daddy" I guess she had a dream about me. She is too young to understand what they are yet but I hope that when she dreams of me, at least there I am doing my best by her.

Sometimes, I look at the world my wife and I have chosen to bring a child into and question how selfish we are to have created an innocent life, and be almost powerless to improve the world in which she lives. I try to always remind myself though:

Almost powerless is not, powerless.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

I wholeheartedly agree with the thinking about borders. But that will only happen if we manage economic stability.

If, historically, you look at the rise of the right in elections it always came after several years of economical hardship.

No wonder the EU member states lean always more towards populism and self-preservation after 10 years of austerity in most. Austerity more often than not meaning cuts in jobs rather than the creation of jobs.

Hitting those at the bottom hardest.

France, one of the most populist nations in last few decades, has struggled with high unemployment since the 80s. That it needed another populist to withhold the right nationalists is a wonder, the wonder being given that it actually worked. But in truth, it wasn’t much less a protest vote. I doubt many read his actual charter.

As a world citizen, pro a globalized world, I say globalization hurt hard. That helped by privilege and entitlement but one global world is still the future.

Let’s do this.

It is funny for some perhaps, but I think that in a couple hundred years the imaginary borders many fight and die to protect won't be there.

So Finland isn't real is it? You can tell me Screen_Shot_2017-05-23_at_10.23.44_AM.png

LOL. The one who wrote that was “pantsdrunk”.

Finland, the non-country that keeps on giving.

After consultation, I can neither confirm or deny on the basis of committing treason. To which country the treasonous act is against, I cannot say.

Indeed we are slaves yes. We are powerless to a point. Yes. But we have more power than we exert. We need to believe. Yes in even 50 years we will have a borderless world. Agreed. I however believe borders have a valuable place as do certain boundaries and rules of life. Thanks @tarazkp

But we have more power than we exert.

Every day we wake up this is true.

I however believe borders have a valuable place as do certain boundaries and rules of life.

The boundaries and rules are being redefines as we speak.

Love the light trails in the photo. I'd like to live a few thousands years just to see how the world changes.

Would be interesting to have a birds I view and watch it at speed.

I have always thought that the limits are in the mind, that is something similar to what you say of borders, it is possible that in the future nothing is equal, but everything is part of a process that must be lived, to learn new ways of thinking and continue in this life, which is finally for a limited space of time.

So, if from birth we are bounded by years, by life, by geographical areas, by the country we were born in, by skin color, ideas, thoughts, I don't understand why, we wear ourselves out in so many differences when we all live on the same earth, breathe the same air and are essentially human beings, when life gives us the gift of being here to come and enjoy the fact of being alive.

In general, since we are born we have rules, they tell us what is right or what is wrong, what to do and what is not, that is very good, because parental guidance is the best instrument to go out into the world, education at home.

Therefore being parents represents a great responsibility and more currently that the world is transforming. But when you can look into the eyes of your baby, you realize that everything will be fine and you'll be a good dad, because love can do everything.


I like to read you, you flow naturally and get your followers involved. I leave you a virtual hug, with much good vibes and blessings for your family. See you soon.

Good vibe.

because parental guidance is the best instrument to go out into the world, education at home.

It depends on the parents because for the most part, they too are brainwashed by the same rules that perpetuate the control of state.

Why can't we just imagine a better story and live it instead, why live a narrative where the majority are slaves indentured to a debt cycle,

If I were to answer this I would say because we have been wired to accept anything thrown at our faces as the best option and are too timid to want a change for fear of uncertainty

Wired yes, but not to believe anything. It is just wiring, the programming can be changed.

Conceptually great to think about and fathom but given the economic factors at play and the interests of those in power, it would never happen... Shows what we are up against for communities to thrive but may be I’m being pessimistic to start off the week...

it would never happen.

Not necessarily. It takes a gathering until a critical mass point is reached. If that can happen at a global rather than local level as is technologically possible now, all control systems break simultaneously meaning chaos and, change.

I sometimes feel bad about having kids as well but I figure we do what we can do and get them to a stage where they can do more and that might be the best we can manage :)

Don't die (from sleep deprivation) over this either XP

Hope you're able to start getting more sleep soon :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I figure I try to give her the tools to be able to cope in a terrible world and try to make it less terrible while I am able. That way, she is okay regardless. I had a nap :D

In some ways I feel that if I don't give it my all, I am somehow selling myself, my family and the community short.

I feel the same way and I definitely do not want to wake up one day and realize I was right while I did nothing

I definitely do not want to wake up one day and realize I was right while I did nothing

There is what we are willing to try and then the discomfort of doing what is required.

Don't be too hard on yourself @tarazkp. The world is an imperfect place, if our parents said that they will not bring an innocent child to the world because it is bad, we will not be existing now. 😄

if our parents said that they will not bring an innocent child to the world because it is bad, we will not be existing now.

For many in this world, that would have been the compassionate choice rather than exposure to future suffering for little point.

Yah, correct. But what really is the essence of life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30