What is the worst that can happen?

in #thoughts5 years ago

I like to run silly little scenarios through my head and think about how I might react or handle them and some of the ones that has been playing over the recent years has been surrounding Steem and crypto. Obviously there is a lot of risk in investing into a burgeoning industry as there is a lot of uncertainty about the paths it could take but I keep arriving at the question:

What is the worse that can happen?

If people haven't recognized yet, life is full of surprises that we don't prepare for or consider into our calculations. Most people don't think that much about getting cancer until it happens or, happens to someone close to them. While people might discuss others, not many prepare for the advent of genocide of their own people - these things always seem so distant, until they happen. But when it comes to investing into crypto or time into Steem, what is the real cost of complete and utter failure? Is it really so bad?

This is essentially what people would have to consider when investing because the rule is, don't invest what you aren't able to lose and, this goes for investing into anything at all really. It doesn't mean to neglect the investment of course and can mean to do all that is within one's power to be successful but, there is no guarantees in this life other than eventually, it will end for all of us - past that, no one knows for sure.

When I ask myself the question of what is the worst that can happen the answer always comes back; even if the worst happens, I will manage. Sure, it might be painful but at the end of the day, it is time and money in and losing both of those resources is not the worst that can happen in my life and, I have lost them before in various ways and, survived. On top of that, those losses weren't the worst things that have happened to me in my life.

Don't get me wrong, I'd be very disappointed if all of the work put in amounted to very little other than the chance to put work in but, I would be able to roll with it. Yeah, I wouldn't be able to pay my debts or buy the electric car and little home on a lake I would like to, but that would be unlikely to happen without being involved in crypto anyway. So, what is so bad about that?

People of course take all of this very seriously because most people tie their happiness to a point in time where they are financially secure but, that is generally not the way happiness works anyway. Also, th chance of that future happening for most people living the lives most people live, is very small as it is. What is interesting is that for most of us in this world, crypto gives us the best chances of economic success available.

I was talking the other day about the speed of uptake and one of the things that people don't recognise without technology is that the early adopters are the ones who pay the most for the privilege of buying a product, for bragging rights. They aren't really investors into the projects themselves, they are consumers of the products. The earliest cars, computers, phones and internet connections were very expensive and only the wealthy could afford them. In 1985, the cost of a personal computer was about 20% of the price of a new family car in Australia, a basic Nokia phone was 1100 dollars in 1992. Over time, they dropped in price and value as uptake happened.

However, if you think that blockchain and cryptocurrencies are going to be part of the future, the entire concept turns that model on its head as at least for the core set of blockchains, the early adopters are not only consumers of the product, they are investors in startups on the ground floor and, the prices now are likely the cheapest they will ever be.

It is very interesting. Essentially, those in the earliest are trailblazers of the product but rather than paying the most for the privilege, they pay the least but, they have to hold and, there isn't much to brag about. At least not yet. The bragging rights of social value of early adoption of the latest and greatest cool product is before everyone else has it. The bragging rights for crypto will come after everyone else has it because then, that is when the value is at its highest.

No one brags about owning an iPhone anymore, as they are everywhere. No one brags about owning crypto because, it isn't everywhere. Once the maninstream adoption begins and prices start to really climb, there will be many family and friends asking, Why didn't you tell me? This is the biggest economic opportunity for most people who know about it know they are ever likely to get but, it doesn't mean it is risk free or that it will work in any way at all. a Technology could arrive tomorrow that kills it - as unlikely as that may be.

When I think about the worse that can happen, my mind is always drawn back to the point last year when my wife rushed in saying something is wrong with our daughter and me holding her helpless as she had seizures in my arms with a contorted face I did not recognize as my little girl. That feeling is not pleasant but I hold onto it as a reminder because when I think of the worst that can happen, losing some time and money just doesn't compare.

As humans we seek out security and live an illusion that it actually exists, but when it comes to bad things happening in our lives, we are amazingly flexible to adapt and recover from all kinds of hardships. Yes, very bad things can happen and do happen in this world, but on average, most negative things are survivable and often, bring unexpected values that without the hardship, would actually be a loss.
a
I don't know the worst that can happen because it can always be worse but when I look at crypto, the risk of loss is far less than the potential gains. The worst that can happen rarely does and what the head sees as a risk, rarely affects the body these days. The lizard brain has been hijacked into thinking damage to the wallet is life threatening - it isn't.

It is just money.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I've been there...Milan. My photos didn't come out as good as yours.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I got lucky with some of mine :D

The interesting thing about this is that the goals of the users, developers and producers are aligned. We all want the same thing and benefit from the expansion of the ecosystem and increase in value.

Another thing people don't consider often is the alignment of incentives. Also, the alignment in time - things are slowly starting to pull together into a coherent narrative. Hope you are well mate.

there will be many family and friends asking, Why didn't you tell me?

"I did tell you and you insisted it was a ponzi scheme and refused to look into it." XD

"I did tell you and you insisted it was a ponzi scheme and refused to look into it." XD

Yep, I have heard this argument, I have also had people secretly buy at 6 dollars because --- they know how to invest. :)

Great shot to accompany this piece. It looks like (could be just the B+W playing tricks) there is a storm coming, and that feels appropriate :)

There was indeed a storm coming:

Let's see what the future is going to rain down.

So there is!

There is a light showering of tokens at present. Are you doing the BEOS thing?

It costs 500 BTS for a wallet? Not sure yet. I don't have so much BTS .

Yep. And the BTS are locked inside for 3 months or so while the rainfall happens :)

Money can't buy health which in most cases is what counts so if one loses some money or crypto, it's not a big deal.

Posted using Partiko Android

Don't I know this (not that I have money) as I have been chronically ill since 16. But, I still have managed to live a good life to this point. You are right about losing some money not being a big deal. As I see it, I have gone through worse already.

Another perspective is the risk of NOT being involved in crypto and the potential opportunity cost that it could bring to those that ignore it and the potential.

Posted using Partiko iOS

"Computers?? I am not going to get into that scam!" :D

No worse is actually the worst! Thanks for that Original and thought provoking article @tarazkp

The story of your daughter really touched me I’m very sorry.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.295 which ranks you at #221 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 206 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87