Working for the yawns

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)

I am a little under the weather the last few days as we all have different degrees of fever but have also not had a chance to rest. Because our daughter has had a few issues simultaneously, we also haven't been out of the house all weekend and everyone is a bit stir crazy with cabin fever.

I hope I can get myself in some kind of respectable health as I am behind on a large task at work (not my fault) and I have a training delivery in Helsinki for two days next week. To deliver a day of training it takes about the same in preparation time and my blocked prep time was spent at the hospital on Thursday.

I work pretty well tired overall but when training customers in complex issues, it isn't ideal. I'll have to make sure I get some rest tonight so that tomorrow I can do a longer day at the office and knock out the prep and at least some of the other tasks.

At the moment, I am putting my daughter down for her nap (she is asleep now) and sitting in a rocking chair in the dark. It is quite nice. My "home office" is in the same room but I haven't had a chance to sit and work here for 6 months and the kitchen table is the designated work area.

At some point, I am hoping to be able to get a place with an additional room for us, but that will have to wait until my wife has done form of work. She might still choose to do her doctorate so real work might be done time away. If she does it it might be worth it though as in Finland there are very few people that have a background in what she will study, using AI for management level decision-making, and that could bring good and interesting opportunities.

"Interesting work" is one of my hopes for crypto as if I don't have to worry about paying the bills, I can better choose the places I focus my time and energy. I enjoy work which means it will always be part of my life regardless of my economic position, but being selective with what, how and who I work with would be great.

I was thinking the other day about how much I need to be able to live off crypto and, it is likely a very long time away, if ever. But "live off it" has never really been my goal as it is for me a chance to build an additional revenue stream alongside more traditional sources. More streams the better, even if some are just trickles and with Steem, it also satisfies the interesting component as I find the ecosystem more compelling than any other form of entertainment I have tried.

I think this is also why some people do better than others over a longer period of time as those who are interested enough in Steel to actually learn broadly about it, tend to stock around and play and think in more areas. Those who are looking only to earn from their content are more likely to stay narrower and think more heavily about their corner, not the whole.

Steem can be tiring though as from inside it appears to move more slowly than it actually is in hindsight. The ATH was only 1.5 years ago yet it feels an eternity and, it took about 6 weeks to go from 1.5 - 8 dollars - yet it feels like it won't be years until it gets there again. The crypto industry can move very fast, don't underestimate it's volatility.

Anyway, I will move over to a keyboard because writing on a phone screen sucks.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from a yawn)

Sort:  

Yep. The price can jump up alarmingly and just last night SBD was up nearly 20 percent before it came back down. I think the next rise will be a fast one and the whole crypto space is kind of like waiting for something to trigger it. I personally think it is going to happen fairly soon. I think most of the people are negative about things as all the have known for the last 18 months is a downward slide and can't see the possibilities and are too scared to think like that. Most people are down on their investments and wont say, but they are getting desperate. For a society that wants instant success this must be killing them lol.

For a society that wants instant success this must be killing them lol.

It is funny how many people are expecting this yo make them "instant rich". It could do of course if lucky and put enough in but trying to get there through participation is a longer road. 2 years, 5, 10... it is all very little.

It is not that long in the bigger picture I agree. 5 would be good though as I would like to be young enough to enjoy the fruits of my labor. I don't mind being patient and will wait for hopefully a windfall at some point.

Wow really amazing photography I like it... I appreciate it your photography... thanks for visiting my post... best of luck

I think this is also why some people do better than others over a longer period of time as those who are interested enough in Steem to actually learn broadly about it, tend to stock around and play and think in more areas.

funny that...
The more learn about it, the more I dislike it...

Those who are looking only to earn from their content are more likely to stay narrower and think more heavily about their corner, not the whole.

If I'd stayed focused on that and not learned about it, i'd still be posting...

It's not a con, nor a scam, nor a ponzi. But it is something. I'll let you work it out.... you'll get there, matey...
(power down before if you announce your findings!lol)

What is it, man? Tell us!

Nice post photography @tarazkp

Stellar is also a payment technology that aims to connect financial institutions and drastically reduce the cost and time required for cross-border transfers. In fact, both payment networks used the same protocol initially.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14