DIY Thrifting For Profit - $390 Spent On One Huge Haul Generated $2,826+ In Revenue

in #thrifting5 years ago (edited)

I'm revisiting one of my more fun thrifting snipes from 2017 because it was very motivating.... Wop wop.

I hope this can get people excited to try some thrifting to generate some extra capital or find items for themselves at a huge discount.

I bought all of this mostly sealed brand new Tony Robbins motivational material and three sealed hair serums for only $390!

Some people might call this luck, but I view it as preparation and effort meeting opportunity.

One nice thing about this haul was how popular the material was on the resale market, especially in sealed/new condition. Self-help is a big market and people spend plenty of money as an investment or gift, versus a cost.

Listing these was also a breeze because it was in the same listing category, and I could "sell-similar" to reuse my templates for maximum efficiency.


Here are the goods before I went to the register for one of the longest checkouts in Goodwill history. It was a glorious sight for my eyes because I knew almost everything would sell fast.

This was also infinitely satisfying because I was paying in front of my local thrift store shopper nemesis who'd arrived just after I cleared out this haul. I could feel his scorn burning because I'd won the day and didn't leave a drop behind for him.

These were not fun to carry home, but I did it. No cheating with a taxi (by my standards). Just a free bus transfer and some labored walking for exercise.

  • The moral of this story is that you never know what you're going to find when you walk into a thrift store.

  • The key is to visit your target stores regularly to catch their restock days.

  • All you need to do is show up and take a look. It takes very little effort and the income potential can be substantial if you ramp up.

  • This is more applicable with high volume chains like Goodwills and Salvation Army, versus boutiques, but anything can happen.

Ironically, I still have some of these this left to sell because I didn't list them yet. There's probably a few hundred more dollars in profit to grab when I put them up for sale.

Thanks for reading and your support. Ask any questions or share your hauls below!

@steemmatt

I posted on this find about 1.5 years ago with almost no upvotes/followers, so the value of inspiring more people now is worth the revisit to me. I did rewrite this post from scratch.

Sort:  

It's amazing that you even knew that was worth something. I would see those for like $5 and not even give it a passing thought

Not anymore. Now you're honing your sharpshooter eyes. Not on my watch.

I remember this haul. Can't believe it was technically TWO years ago already!

P.S. - thrifting yet or still in school blitz mode? I want to see some per the pound (or metal-detecting) hauls when they're available.

I'm in a weeklong class that ends Monday morn, then off to a cabin for a few days of relaxation (and nugget shooting metal detecting). Been hitting the local auction house tho, grabbed a few things for profit.

2 years young ago you mean right? Ironically, since most was new, I didn't listen to a second of the material. I still have some left I should try to leverage for my own growth, but I tend to find this stuff eye-rolling.

That's an awesome find and a great profit.

Was there something in particular that you found/bought & then flipped for a profit to get started?

Do you mean when I first got into this? It all started with selling a piece of jewelry an ex had returned when we split up. I'd only sold one thing on eBay before there and bought only 1-2 things ever on the site. The sale happened so fast that I realized there was some potential to try to purge some more. I then sold my old electronic drum set in like 25 different parts and was hooked. I turned to Best Buy online clearance resale using some gift cards and then my own capital. After that route got drained, I discovered thrift stores and destroyed them for profit. It took a while before I stumbled on upcycling, which grew increasingly more in the ratio because it was so easy and free.

Yeah I was wondering what set you off on that path. Cheers.

It seems like you're a bit like those guys from American pickers but have different trade routes and are not so focused on antiques.

Congratulations @steemmatt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78