People Want Offense Not Defense - Is it Wrong For Investing?

in #timm5 years ago (edited)

If you look at the trends throughout our society as a whole you can notice certain things. One of them I am noticing more and more is that people want to be entertained, they want offense. The go go go and rah rah rah over the sensible or prudent thing to do.

This is especially dangerous when it comes to investing and is why a lot of people get caught with their pants down when the tide goes out.



People Want Offense. Defense Is Not Entertaining


At least to the majority it is not. And I am certainly not the majority. I see it in my sports preferences and especially in my investing and crypto trading.

Why Someone Oblivious Gets More Attention


Offense (disguised with optimism and promotion) is what garners attention. This is why someone who knows very little about crypto or the technical principles of trading can still grab a large audience.

Think about it - who would you rather listen too?

The guy that is constantly doing videos saying XYZ crypto is going to the moon! HODL and buy more, don't miss this chance for millions!

Or this guy

XYZ has become overbought and formed a reversal pattern. I would take profits here and look to re-enter on a pull back

We all know the answer to this, whether we'd like to admit it or not :-)


The former is always going to garner more attention. It's just how we are built as human beings. Not saying there is anything wrong with it, just sharing an observation.

The question we need to ask ourselves is: which person is giving us the best advice to make an informed decisions with?


Published by ScaredyCatGuide

on

with SteemPress
https://mentormarket.io/scaredycatguide/people-want-offense-not-defense-is-it-wrong-for-investing/


Sort:  

I actually watch far more of the later. I don't like when they use a lot of cryptic language though. I get enough of that in my occupation, computers.

I also prefer defensive strategies to avoid conflict though and don't like a lot of sports that are pretty popular. I like the Winter Games though. But it's always hard for me to watch them, because they're often broadcast live and I end up missing a bunch of things I wanna see and waiting through a lot of boring shit.

Offense does seem pretty popular in this day and age though. Doesn't mean it's wise.

I hear you man. I like watching defensive battle in american football games not the scoreboard lit up. I invest that way too...I am the scaredycat after all ;-)

Quite funny you wrote this... I kind of did that today... when I reverse posted things you will NOT hear when coin prices are down. :)

As they say, minimizing losses are more important that maximizing gains! You cannot invest if you suffer losses that impair your ability to reinvest. Defense is the best way in the long run!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Defense wins championships!

Yessir !! I liked the pants down when the tide goes out Analogy ... kinda loled 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, thanks. Always bad getting caught with your shorts down!

Haha I’ll say.. been caught a few times in the act lol 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21