Today I Learned about a Swedish Teen Environmental Activist, Checking Emotional Intelligence and Figs!

in #todayilearned5 years ago (edited)

Well I saw a lot of things online today... Ah I love free time.

So what are the things I learned today? I got three things for you:

  1. Greta Thunberg
  2. Emotional Intelligence check
  3. Figs

1 . Greta Thunberg, 16 yr old Environmental Activist from Sweden.

If you've been following me and reading my posts since I started here, you'll have read a smattering of environmental advocacy among other things. So today's topic is related to a now popular teenager, an environmental activist named Greta Thunberg.

You should also be aware of the #trashtag challenge by now. People cleaning up junk and trash and showing the trashbags after they cleaned it. Yes this is a good challenge that is going viral right now. A warning though. Do not be like Manila Mayor Erap Estrada please who let his people throw trash in the ocean for his pictorial on the Manila Bay cleanup drive. Ugh. (There should still be a video of it online, just do an online search.) That's what we call pakitang tao, such fakery just to be said he is really supporting the cleaning of Manila Bay.

Anyway, Greta has been diagnosed with Aspergers but that doesn't mean a label can stop her from being Earth's warrior. I commend her for her actions because she is really someone we should follow by example. We like to post stuff online and just write about stuff and talk about it but she just does what we should be doing. Demanding that we make a change to help save the environment and the world we live in. Yes the pen is mightier than the sword but sometimes the sword does the work best or better.



Kudos to her and I hope each of us indeed start DOING more to save our planet from all the trash we produce.



2 . Emotional Intelligence and matching or checking on others' EQ.

When you (choose to be or) are really someone who don't have a high emotional intelligence, don't follow the advice of someone who is or vice versa. It's not going to work for you most of the time. 😊 At work, when you are being trained and learning from the experts, take what you can and discard what doesn't work for you. We all have our own ways of doing things so someone's advice might not work when we do it if we are very different. There is a better chance it will work especially if or when we are quite the same/similar to the one advising us.

image


Somehow in the past I have never once thought of this even when I got into conflict with a few of my work superiors. So I'm also writing this to remind myself to read more on Emotional Quotient (EQ). I've known about this subject for years but haven't really thought of checking on it until recently.



3 . Figs are fruits that externally look like cute little eggplants

Yes, I just found out what unprocessed figs look like. 😂 Hey we don't have figs here in the Philippines. We have Atis and Langka or Aratelis but we naturally don't have figs afaik.

Imagine my surprise when this picture turned out to be figs based on the caption. 😅

image


I'm used to seeing roundish eggplants like these you know. 😂 But then again I haven't seen one in months and I don't buy them regularly so I didn't remember it had a green stem cover (whatever it's called).

image image



Now I know what figs look like next time I see something like it. 😂 I won't get confused with the two again in the future. Haha.

Anyway, that's all folks! How about you? What did you learn today?

XOXO,
@artgirl



IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg



WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.



Images are screenshots of Instagram and Google search results.

Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist, writer and an online seller. For art and writing commissions, feel free to contact me.
For business inquiries, you can chat me up on Steem.chat, Telegram or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

Click banners to join

IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg


468x60 btc.gif

468x60 bch.gif

AliDropship is the best solution for drop shipping

image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hey, you placed somewhere close to me in @paulag's Redfish power up league this week, so here I am to show you a little bit of support.

Oh hey thanks. Haven't even been checking on that lately. Haha. Still got a long way to go. 😊 Especially since I haven't been active lately.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know the feeling well, 500 SP seems like forever away, but it's doable.

Yes indeed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @artgirl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.439 which ranks you at #7041 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 7037).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 354 contributions, your post is ranked at #332.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @artgirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4000 replies. Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87