TODAY IS NATIONAL CORN ON THE COB DAY!

in #todayis6 years ago



Every day provides us with opportunities to celebrate. Today I invite you to celebrate Corn on the Cob! The sweet delicious food associated with summer barbecues, cookouts, and clam bakes!

Image source

I'M A CORN ON THE COB SNOB

Some would call me a snob,
when it comes to corn on the cob.

It’s fresh picked corn,
to which I’m drawn.

It tastes the best,
there is no contest.

Because the sugar is sweet,
you can taste it as you eat.

After a few hours,
the sugar loses its power.

The sugar turns to starch,
and is no longer top notch.

So, if you have the urge,
be sure to splurge,

on fresh picked corn from a stand,
and you will understand.

Why I’m a snob,
about my corn on the cob.

The Mysterious Origin of Corn. This was an interesting video about how they traced the origins of modern corn to its ancestor. It involves genetics and archaeology.

Video source

Corn on the cob recipe. This is one way to cook corn on the cob, I haven't tried. I will be making this way sometime this summer!

Video source


You might enjoy reading my previous poems written for my TODAY IS series:

TODAY IS NATIONAL BALLPOINT PEN DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL DONALD DUCK DAY!
TODAY IS BEST FRIENDS DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL GARDENING EXERCISE DAY!

I fully support @valorforfreedom, who is a witness for the Steem blockchain. He is dedicated to the community and helping others achieve success on Steemit as evidenced by his creation of Steem School. If you want to support him, he would appreciate your vote.

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

Sort:  

Wao, interesting publication, I'm a new follower and what great content you have, Regards!

I'm glad you enjoyed the post. The topic changes everyday, based on the National Holiday being celebrated.

Yeah, I love eating corn, except when it gets too old yuck.

I agree, fresh is best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94