TODAY IS NATIONAL PEANUT BUTTER COOKIE DAY!

in #todayis6 years ago



Every day provides us with opportunities to celebrate. Today I invite you to celebrate Peanut Butter Cookie. Often we associate many of our memories with certain food. Peanut Butter Cookies, remind me of loved ones, fun, and kindness. Oh and did I mention they are delicious.
Homemade Peanut Butter Cookies

MEMORIES

Peanut Butter Cookies invoke,
memories of loved folks.

When I was young,
cookie eating was fun.

Our elderly neighbors,
loved to do favors.

They were locally known
by the form of love, they’d shown,

As the Cookie Ladies,
both in their eighties.

They would bake,
cookies and cakes.

The Cookie Ladies would give,
cookies to the kids who lived,

on our street,
what a sweet treat!

My Great Uncle Ken,
was my cookie eating friend.

Once a week on his diet, he would cheat,
together we would eat something sweet.

Around 1979 we discovered Nutter Butters,
our favorite cookie above all others.

Finally, when my son was young,
baking together had begun.

I taught the kitchen rookie,
how to bake a peanut butter cookie.

We had a cooking song.
Feel free to sing a long:

“Cooking with Mommy,
can be lots of fun,
when it is done,
we’ll eat it, YUM-YUM!”

My Peanut Butter Cookie recipe (from the Cookie Ladies)

2 cups of Peanut Butter (16 ounces)

2 cups of sugar

2 eggs

There are only three ingredients! I mix the sugar and eggs first then mix in the peanut butter. I do it by hand with a spatula. I find it easier than using a mixer.

Either scoop the dough or roll it into a ball, place on a nonstick cookie sheet. Flatten with a fork, be sure to cross the fork mark. This is the secret to truly great Peanut Butter Cookies.

Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 10 to 12 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes then enjoy warm fresh baked cookies.

Nabisco Nutter Butter cookies TV commercial from the 1970's My Great Uncle Ken and I shared a love for Nutter Butter Cookies. Nabisco introduced the Nutter Butter Cookie in 1969.

Video source


You might enjoy reading my previous poems written for my TODAY IS series:

TODAY IS NATIONAL CORN ON THE COB DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL BALLPOINT PEN DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL DONALD DUCK DAY!
TODAY IS BEST FRIENDS DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM DAY!

I fully support @valorforfreedom, who is a witness for the Steem blockchain. He is dedicated to the community and helping others achieve success on Steemit as evidenced by his creation of Steem School. If you want to support him, he would appreciate your vote.

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34