Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - expensive, but super nice

in #tourism5 years ago

I will admit that I did not stay here because it is over $100 a night for their cheapest room and that becomes evident the moment you enter the extremely lavish lobby area.

60070521_2312462052410165_279795000252825600_n.jpg

Maybe this isn't fancy to you, but it certainly is for me and I have a hard time spending one hundred dollars per night for a room, regardless of how fancy it is.

We were here because we read online that non-guests can use the pool for a fee and it was meant to have a wonderful view. I know I was impressed when we finally found the damn pool area because it was not very clearly marked and actually a bit difficult to find.

59880678_346350002751981_8656898011227488256_n.jpg

Now the price of admission is a little bit steep in my opinion but since a friend was visiting I had to pretend that I didn't mind the 500 baht (around $14) price of admission. It did include one free drink though and the cocktail menu was as long as you would expect from a place of this caliber. After our first round we got lucky and "happy hour" had just begun (5pm to 7pm) where the drinks ended up being around the same price that you would pay at a dive bar... without the "dive" part.


source

The staff were super-friendly and brought our drinks to us while we were actually in the water. We didn't even have to get out. This was a super-chill way to spend Saturday afternoon in a tranquil environment for sure. At the end of it all, including tip, we ended up spending around 1000 Baht each ($33 or so) and while this is significantly more than i would normally spend on an afternoon a good pal was visiting so it was worth it.

It is very unlikely that you will end up in this area by accident, so if you are in Chiang Mai you will need to either have your own transport or be staying here and if you have $100 a day to spend, you are far more of a high roller than I am.

Overall, it was a wonderful day and I got to feel like I was rich for a few hours - that's nice every once and a while, right?

location including GPS coords

192 Moo2 Banpong Hangdong, อำเภอ หางดง เชียงใหม่ 50230

Sort:  

I don't like paying a ton for hotels either. That being said, the last couple of trips I have been on the hotels were between $200 and $300 for a one night stay. They weren't even that nice of hotels either. The location was just really fantastic for them. This place looks really awesome and even though I am not much of a pool person the view is outstanding!

wow, is that what hotels cost these days? I stayed in a lot of hotels when i had a corporate job in the States but it was always on a company account so I never even looked at the bill. That's outrageous.

Yeah, it is mostly the big cities. We paid $200 a night in Nashville and more than that in Detroit. Luckily that one was just one night.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! That's amazing... Super fancy!

Really beautiful pictures. I love tha amazing pool. But its unfortunately to expensive for me.

Posted using Partiko Android

You have to live every now and then. For most of us $100 per night is the normal what we pay. I think the crappy no frills hotels here now with terrible everything are around $70. There is nothing cheap anymore and to be honest wouldn't blink at paying $100 for that type of hotel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87