Hello...Tiny Vintage Toy Collection

in #toys5 years ago

image

As I have written in the past many times, one of my favorite aspects of owning the comic and toy store is the collections that folks bring in to sell. Comic books, Funko Pops, action figures, statues...we just never know what’s going to come through our door on any given day.

People sell or dump their collections for a variety of reasons. Moving, getting married, having a baby, going to school, broke as fuck...these are just a few of the reasons that people give us. I always ask too. I just try to find out as much information as possible as sometimes I get the ol’ “this motherfucker is shady as hell” vibe. I stay away from those as I don’t want any part of purchasing stolen shit. That’s happened a couple of times throughout the decade plus that we’ve been here and it sucks. So if I get that bad vibe, we just pass all together...even if we desperately want it. Just not worth the trouble.

Sometimes we get the seller who obtained the items in a house clean out or a storage locker. Those kick ass because usually the seller is just looking to dump the items. They have no attachment to whatever they are bringing in and in more cases than not, are just happy to get something for the lot. Those can be tasty finds!!!

I’m not sure about this vintage toy collection as it was my partner who was working this day, but I do know that he offered the seller $30 bucks in store credit for it which was accepted. The gentleman that brought this stuff in ended up using the credit on a handful of kids comics. Creep!

Having people accept store credit is fantastic as I’m obviously not shelling out cash, and they usually end up spending more on top of the credit we give them. The icing on the cake is when they take crappy product with said credit. Makes my day.

Now to be honest, we never really pay much for loose figures...even if it’s vintage stuff. We just have too much of it already and it comes in often enough that we don’t have to overpay. So the $30 store credit ended up being about $15 bucks in reality with the comics that he ended up taking. Let’s take a look at the score below...

In this lot there is a Gobots carrying case with I believe 15 Gobots, the Marvel Super Hero Training Center Playset, a nice lot of Star Wars figures, and then a smattering of other toys from the lines of Ghostbusters, Transformers, Lone Ranger, and more. A quick search reveals that the Marvel Training Center sells for a nice chunk on its own.

image

The best part is the weird phenomenon that happens when we first get a collection in. People seem to go ape shit. I have a store choc full of tasty goods that sit forever. But when we get new stuff in...folks lose their minds and the impulse to buy hits them hard. I got these texts from my partner showing how quickly some of this just vanished.

image

image

image

As you can see, we are already up and in safe territory. The rest is just gravy. Now we won’t get rich on this by any means, but we will turn it into a few hundred bucks which is fine by me. Anyway, have a look at some of the toys below!!!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Thanks for looking. I always enjoy sharing these types of collections with you guys.

Blewitt

Sort:  

Oh man, I gotta follow you to see more of this stuff! LOL
I have a couple of small collections of stuff, it's been interesting...
I've been contemplating selling my Johnny West stuff on Ebay, but it's such a pain in the butt to list all the stuff, and the market isn't what it used to be. Of course, I don't want to just toss it out, because I know there's collectors out there...
I'm Keeping my big G. I. Joes for now....LOL
I was into collecting comics for a while in the 1990s, I still have some of those, but they probably don't have much value these days with the way the market is. I still have a few comic art posters that take turns hanging on the wall, a couple of signed posters and other things like that.

Thanks so much !!! Yeah I post dorky nerdy shit all the time. When I am not being sappy about my dogs. Lol

Selling online does suck but can be highly profitable if you put in the time and effort.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Pretty sure I had that Transformers tank when I was a kid :(

Posted using Partiko Android

I loooooove the old TF figs but I’m absolutely horrific at transforming them nowadays.

Posted using Partiko iOS

@blewitt Ya loser... lolz

yeah folks...this guys right here in @phoenix32...he's a friggin master at Transformin! lol

Love vintage toys! I’m gonna have to make some posts specifically for you. Show all my comics and old toys!

Awesome how you guys made that money back quick!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Tag me in em when you do em!!!

You know it!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blewitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75