Starting the Process of Selling...

in #toys5 years ago

image

Lack of space is something that doesn’t just affect me at my shop, but at my house in my personal life as well. Throughout the years long before I even had the shop, I would purchase and resell collections of toys and statues. Let alone the nonsense I personally collected myself. It’s safe to say that I have a ton of cool shit that has just been sitting for over a decade. I don’t want this stuff any longer and haven’t for sone time, but I ya net had the time not the space to properly work through it. Well...tough shit.

It’s time I really get cracking and make some major changes in my life.

A) I could use the space as this stuff has consumed my garage, basement, storage pod, attic, and shop.

B) I could use the funds. All of this stuff has been paid for ages ago and profits have been taken from other pieces throughout the years so it’s just wasting away.

C) It’s just time I start actually making the changes that I keep talking about making.

I’m also hoping that this will motivate me to start making other necessary changes that I’ve been taking about tackling but have yet to actually do. I have some major personal and professional plans and goals that I’d like to hit in the next few years and moving this stuff would help me reach success in several areas.

image

So today it’s a beautiful day and I’m setting up a table outside. Im going to be listing shot ALL DAY LONG outside of a couple breaks to eat and recharge my phone. I have only gotten 15 items up so far and looking at this mess of treasure is extremely daunting, but I have to take the reigns and start sometime...that time might as well be right now. Figured I’d start with the garage due to the lovely day outside.

image

I’m going to try to set a goal of listing a minimum of 10 items a day. No exceptions. I figure over the ne t few months I can build up to a few thousand items up at all times meaning a lovely steady stream of $$$ flowing in while slowly but surely creating space and feeling better about “things”.

What about you? Any projects that you have been putting off since the dawn of time that you need to tackle?!? Lmk below!

Wish me luck today!!!

Blewitt

Sort:  

Hello my fellow horder! (as in: it's a good investment and will be worth something at some stage...) It's amazing how much stuff a person can accumulate in just a few years time. When I left Holland to move to Ireland almost 8 years ago, I gave a lot of stuff away, brought stuff to charity and unfortunately, because I didn't have the time, I didn't sell all that I wanted to sell, so had to leave a lot of it behind.
I came to Ireland in a small car, with two kids (the third one had travelled on the plane, luckily), the car filled to the brim and stuff on the roof, with a 6ft long/ 5ft8 tall trailer, also stuffed to the brim and the roof filled... The border police were scared to even touch it LOL. (DAMN, I should have smuggled kilos of weed...). But still, that was peanuts for a family of 4. So aside from the kids' bikes, some furniture and some of their toys, (a lot of) their clothes and books, we really didn't have that much.

Three years later we moved house and it was unreal how much crap we had to get rid of, and were still moving with us. I had to do a few trips! We moved one more time since, and I loved getting rid of all the stuff we just didn't want or need. And now? Nearly 2 years in this house and you should see what has accumulated in the garage!
So the past few months, I've been sorting, stacking, taking pictures, documenting all that we have and that can go. Little by little, I've sold bits and pieces. But there is still a lot. Now that the weather is picking up again, it's time to dive in there and actually get rid of most. With the plans we have, we won't be able to bring those things anyway.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


ee8211ae85f8f741a280fe323fe26b56.gif

good luck blewitt! You sound like you could use some lovely cake to accompany. Getting shit done. Bonus props! -eonwarped

This is the spirit. Effort = results.

Put a lemonade stand on the side too so you don't have to go inside for a drink when everybody is creeped out by a grown man with a lemonade stand to leave it all for you.


Lol. I was already outside going through sone stuff in the garage and a bunch of school kids (teens) walked by and saw me basically playing with toys on the driveway.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Smart, get rid of unwanted stuff and make money! Then you can have more to throw into Bitcoin

Yup. I want to be completely debt free and strengthen sone bags including btc by the end of year.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Oooo.. don't get high on your own supply.. - Tony Montata. I got rid of my personal collection of MtG years ago..

So you have no more? I thought you still played.

Posted using Partiko iOS

personal collection.. I haven't drafted in 2 years but the old crew here are pressurising me to have another do! After the drafts.. the cards go on sale.

Lololol. Sucker!!!!

I do love a good declutter post but how much STUFF have you got?

build up to thousands of items

I probably have about 200 items I wanna get rid of (if I include my LPs)... I tried this same strategy earlier this year - although 10 a week was my goal. I managed two weeks and then gave up... I found it so tedious, mainly the packing and posting aspect.

I'm gonn return to it at some point. Most of the stuff should gain value over time anyway.

Good luck sticking the mission - lots of good reasons there to declutter!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thx brother. I have a stupid amount. It’s not even funny. It’s super annoying and it would t be as terrible if it was my only gig, but running a small business as my main job. It’s hard to find the time and energy so I totally get where you are coming from.

Just think of all the steem as you sell it!

Hashtag KonMari!

You do have some cool stuff. Good luck selling it off 👍 I feel like you'll be on eBay and LetGo more than on Steem! Unless you figure out how to leverage it to use as a marketplace 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I know right?!? Lol

I already feel like I’ve been slacking here this week. Taking me days to reply to this! Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Deep down, we're all slackers.

Posted using Partiko Android

Right? Sone weeks I’m like...where the f*!k is everyone?!? Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 72000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 73000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14