Yet ANOTHER Toy Trade In...

in #toys5 years ago

It seems lots of folks are coming in to sell/trade in their unwanted toys lately. This is the 4th one this week and while none of these are going to let me retire early, they are still worth mentioning. Take this one for example.

Gentleman pops in yesterday with a box of 14 Funko Pops and a total of I believe around 25 action figures. The figs were a mix of McFarlane’s Sportspicks...I believe all NY Giants players. The rest consisted of pieces from an assortment of Rocky figures, the Batman Arkham line by Play Arts along with one giant Deluxe Solomon Grundy from DC Collectibles. So let’s just round it and say 40 pieces in all. Oh, all the pieces are opened and loose and there is a broken Joker figure in here as well. I guess he was a little too rough with it and the arm snapped in half.

image

image

He actually wanted store credit but I initially thought we were going to be worlds apart. As I always do in these situations, I asked what he was roughly looking for and the first thing he blurted out was $10 bucks a piece. Meaning around $400 bucks. We get loose figures in so often these days and I never pay that much so I told him that we usually pay between $1-$4 bucks a piece...depending on what’s there.

I told him to look around a bit and pull out some stuff he was interested in and then we can go from there. So he hunted for a bit and ended up pulling 3 of the 4 Ninja Turtles pieces by Mondo. I guess we sold Leonardo a while back. Each one is $150 bucks totaling $450 for the set of 3. They are really nice but kinda big and bulky, plus they have been sitting for a while. Funny thing is that I always get people interested in them but then they see the retail price and it scares them away. Figured this would be a good time to move them.

image

He asked what I could do if he were to take all 3 and paid the difference. I thought for a minute and offered him $100 credit on the lot and he accepted. That breaks down to around $2.50 per piece for each item in the lot and it helped in boosting the day a bit as he was going to spend an additional $350 cash. Win!!!

I haven’t looked up the Sportspicks yet but I should be able to get at least $5 bucks a piece on them. Hopefully more if I’m surprised with a gem or two but I might just try to move them out to one buyer. I have a woman that always looks for these whenever she pops in so I might just keep these on the side for her and make her an offer she can refuse just to clear them out.she sells them at a flea market and asks for them every time. The good news is it’s all Giants players meaning a local team. Should be easy to move them. I won’t make bank but I should do ok on them.

image

Then comes the 11 Rocky figures from NECA. I have to do a bit of detailed research before I price them up as some of these fetch a bit of coin. I’d say these will bring in a minimum of $12 a piece with some going into the $20’s. Nice little score there and I have zero of these in the loose figure bins currently so that’s a giant plus. These will be gobbled up quickly if priced well I think.

image

Then the DC figures. These are part of the Play Arts Arkham line. They are larger than the normal standard 6” lines and he even had a baggie complete with weapons and accessories. Quick research shows that I should be able to get between $15-$30 a Pop on these depending on the character. Not too shabby and I don’t have many Playarts pieces in the bins either. Double score! I’ll even sell broken Joker for probably $10 bucks to a customizer or a brave soul who would want to try to repair his arm.

image

image

Ya see that big Solomon Grundy piece up there? The huge monster looking dude??? That’s from DC Collectibles and its an expensive piece. I knew it went for a decent chunk of change initially if sealed up...I believe retail was initially $100 on it. But I was pleasantly surprised to see that sealed ones fetch over $200 with loose one like abouve bringing in between $100-$150!!! Tasty!!!!! I think I still have a sealed one of the shop that I have to dig out from the abyss to pop on the floor.

image

image

Finally this brings us to the 14 Pops. With a quick glance, I believe I only need 3 from here currently. Spider-Man, Venom, and regular Wolvie. The rest are doubles or triples of what I already have in the back. No biggie. These will start at $12 for the commons and then move up in price a bit to around $25 with an exclusive such as the Venom. I’ll place a few of these in the claw machine or something as well.

image

All in all, a decent score that will end up bringing in over $500 over time. The best part about it though was the ability to move older inventory that he ended up paying the difference on. Peace out 3/4 of the Turtles!!!

image

image

image

Until next time...which at this rate will be any day now.

Blewitt

Sort:  

is there any chance you love doing what you do :-)

lol...

Just a tad. No, I love the world I am immersed in but to be honest...I wish I was doing something else at this point. Been doing it for a while and there are issues within the industry that are being piled up and ignored by the publishers...even some retailers. But yeah...I am a giant kid at heart and love and appreciate this stuff!!!

most of us wish we were doing something else....me well I would like to be sitting on a beach some where warm working from my mobile phone :-)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 201 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

you da robot!

I have a bunch of original TMNT and Transformers figures from the 1980s. One of these days, I should dig them up and see what they’re worth.

That’s some really nice stuff! Especially the Rocky figures!

Dig em out and put up a post about it!!! Embrace the inner nerd in you!!! I would love to see it. I used to hardcore collect TMNT growing up.

I didn't realize there were so many well articulated figures out there!

Oh yeah, there are now tons of companies that put out highly detailed and super articulated figures. Pretty impressive!!!

I'm impressed that someone will likely throw you a tenner for a busted up Joker fig. Forget Jordan Hembrough - you're the real Toy Hunter!

I dunno..maybe I will get a bit less. It's like a $60 dollar piece new. Loose would probably go for like $15-$25. If I can just write on the package, busted arm and put it for $10...I bet eventually someone will pick it up. Probably one of my guys that do customs. They dismantle and repair shit all the time so it would be perfect for that. Or maybe it rots in the bin forever...I dunno….lol

I don't doubt you'll move it. If you have customisers coming to you to buy figures whole, then getting a cheaper one for parts is a no-brainer I guess.

Any interest in acquiring a comic book collection?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blewitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87