My Story Day-Trading And The Bitgrail/NANO Hack

in #trading6 years ago (edited)

I used to be a miner, I mined mostly ETH. But since early 2017 I became a day-trader (and I still am). My best months so far were October and November 2017. I won 800% of what I had only on November 2017, and I thaught this was it, I thaugh I was going to be a Bitcoin millionaire and have a Lambo and all that. I didn´t. Or at least I haven´t yet...

A friend of mine told me about a coin that was killing it, called Raiblocks (NANO since the rebranding). It was December and I bought 6 bitcoins worth of Nano, which wasn´t really a lot because NANO was at all time high during that time, It was like $30 each NANO. I read the whitepaper and I loved the coin, feeless, instant transactions, scalability, etc. I was going to buy at Mercatox, an exchange that had the coin, but the same friend told me Bitgrail was a better option, again I listened to him. So I bought 6 btc worth of Nano on Bitgrail Exchange (or should I call it Shitgrail?).

It was on the 8th of January 2018, and I realised I could not withdraw my Nano from Bitgrail, they needed, or claimed they needed my documents, in order to be verified and withdraw my coins. I sent them everything, and they never verified my account. I never got the coins. On the 9th of February, a message popped up on the Bitgrail Exchange saying "17 million NANO were hacked". My dreams of becoming a crypto millionaire were destroyed, my Lambo, my private jet with my sexy girlfriend on a bikini, everything.

The things I learnt: Never put everything on the same coin/exchange, diversify, and never invest more than you can afford to lose.

I started again. Why? Because I believe in all of this, and maybe because I´m a dreamer and a tough motherfucker who refuses to surrender. Today I´m trading on Binance, I bought 1 BTC to start again, some of it provided by my good friend sponge-bob, who I thank very much. My goal, as most crypto traders, HODLers, miners, is to see Bitcoin succeed, because all it would mean, a world with a decentralized economy, where governments and banks can´t fuck with us anymore.

Anyways, I hope you like my story, and you can take something positive from it. If you liked it feel free to upvote and leave a comment below. I hope you have a very nice evening.

Sort:  

Sorry that you lost your bitcoins through an exchange scam. I lost bitcoins as well through a couple of scam schemes. But we live and learn, right my friend? I'm glad you haven't given up on bitcoin, and neither have I. I still mine bitcoin although at this price it is barely paying the electricity expense of the miners. I have pretty much stop day trading and am in to masternode coins now. There are plenty of scams in that realm as well so you really have to do your due diligence and research before you chose to invest. Even then, the best looking platform can fail. I have a couple that I believe are true winners (Stipend and Giant) and maybe someday we will pass each other in our lambos!

Hey, thanks for the comment! I read about your son, I hope they let him go very soon, he is a hero, it is so unfair. I´ll definately take a look at Stipend and Giant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16