Weekly Trade Updates - Week 11

in #trading6 years ago

Hi Steemians,

here are my weekly trade updates for Friday June 8th, 2018.

XLE Short Straddle:

This position started out as a July 71/77 short strangle.
Yesterday I had to roll up the 71 put to the 77 strike, since my short call got tested.
Now I have the July 77 short straddle on, for which I collected $3.65 in overall net credit.
XLE.jpeg

source:tastyworks

At the moment the position is down 15 cents ($15 per one lot).
My profit target for this trade is $1.04, so I'm going to close this short straddle, when it trades for $2.61.

IWM Short Straddle:

This position started out as a July 157/165 short strangle.
Three days ago my short call got breached, so I had to roll up the 157 put to the 165 strike and create a short straddle.
I have now the July 165 short straddle on, for which I collected $5.38 in overall net credit.
IWM.jpeg

source:tastyworks

At the moment the position is down 26 cents ($26 per one lot).
I'm going to close this straddle, when it trades for $3.65.

SPX Put Calendar Spread:

SPX.jpeg

source:tastyworks

I bought this one for $14.65 early this week.
At the moment the position is down 90 cents ($90 per one lot).
I'm going to close this calendar spread, when it trades for $16.10 (110% of debit paid) or when the short put expires.

GLD Short Strangle:

GLD.jpeg

source:tastyworks

I sold this strangle for $2.12, so I'm going to close it, when it trades for $1.06.
At the moment this position is up 80 cents ($80 per one lot).

TLT Short Straddle:

TLT.jpeg

source:tastyworks

I sold this straddle for $3.41 two weeks ago.
My profit target is 25% of max profit, so 85 cents ($85 per one lot).
At the moment the position is up 30 cents ($30 per one lot.

FXE Short Straddle:

FXE.jpeg

source:tastyworks

I sold this straddle a week ago for $2.53. The profit target for this straddle is 25% of the credit received, so 63 cents ($63 per one lot).
At the moment this position is down 4 cents ($4 per one lot).

QQQ Free Butterfly:

QQQ.jpeg

source:tastyworks

Due to the rally in the Nasdaq, this position is basically worthless, but since I already locked in a profit of 83 cents, I leave it on until next Friday, then I will close it to avoid exercise/assignment fees.

All in all a boring week, but this is what you get, when the VIX is this low.

I wish you a great weekend,

Stephan Haller

P.S. My book on options trading is in the final stage, just some minor adjustments and it will be published.
Stay tuned and watch https://www.tastytrade.com/tt/ while waiting.

Legal disclaimer: These are not trade recommendations. Options involve risk and are not suitable for all investors. The trades shown above are for educational purpose only.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76