Doom in a Colourful Disguise - "A Teary Black" Sunday!

in #tragedy6 years ago

Sundays are my super days of the week! I get exceedingly excited. For me Sundays usually start colourfully; it offers the luxury of unregulated time to attend to personal chores; receive and visit friends; well dressed people all over, even more willing to share beautiful pleasantries; serenity and calmness in the neighborhood; and so much to like about. Like every other Sunday, I woke up to the same expectation of the joy and happiness the day would give. But unknowingly however, the contrast was beholding! What was supposed to be the best day of the week started differently, inciting the reason I give today, a Sunday, a different and quite a controversial theme: "Teary Black". I Thought too it sounds like a shade of black yet to be discovered, but painfully, it is the tone for today set without any artificial interference.

I looked outside through the window just to find the source and perhaps the cause of the chattering I heard, but there were people seemingly gloomy, congregated on the road not a distance from my apartment's fence. So I looked a little longer and eagerly listened maybe to make words for the lips movement of the people. Well, a woman from the crowd made it easier when she screamed and wailed at the top of her voice so I heard when she asked; "who killed my husband". Fear struck immediately because death was mentioned, and moreso on a Sunday, my best day of the week. And also for the reason that the Law Enforcement Agency might have questions to ask from the occupants at my apartment, including me, being one closest to the scene! True, no one likes to be interrogated! Well, I don't know where from, but I had the courage to step out to the scene. There, I saw a young man, now a lifeless body, lying on the ground with onlookers mourning and expressing sorrows in different ways. Not recently have I been sad and pained as I have been today.

No one, not even the deceased knew today could be his last day. His last day to breath, see the light, hear a sound, to have a meal, to be a husband, and a father to a few months old baby. Neither had he forgone the natural longing to stay alive, no he did not! Fate, is it? Was today the end of his days? People said he was a good man. He worked hard to care for his father who's ill and wailing at the hospital. I did not know him personally, not even his name, but i know he did not think to die today. I know he had plans, hope and faith. Did he forgot to care for his own health? The wife claims he was sick. Did he think he was stronger so he'd have to start his day early to meet up with endeavours? Today was different for him wasn't it? He, as usual set out early in morning, but fell and died on the road halfway from home, halfway from his destination. Halfway from his life ahead.

A Sunday that was supposed to be colourful turned black with tears! This has got me thinking and believing that each day has its theme, each day has a story. I looked back at last week, that is few days ago; for me, each day of the week had a different theme, I only did not give the kind of attention. Last week alone I was upset because I got betrayed by supposed very close friend; I received a new letter of appointment; I got paid a debt; I found a new kind of interest; I completed a week - long project! Each and every day is unique- we give attention we'll find the theme, we'll find the story.

No pictures are attached to this post because I did not find it fun taking photos at such a sorrowful scene.

My Theme today (now day 1) is "Teary black". Could we share the stories and the Themes we find fit for each day for the next 5 days.
I invite you to this @MisterAkpan

Thank you
@Abass-jason

Sort:  

Congratulations @abass-jason! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @abass-jason! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11