Today's Office: The Train!

in #train6 years ago

IMAG0341.jpg

I did another session in Cheltenham today, big up @mathlovett @farmhandle and @idiopath and the others whose accounts are in application limbo!

More about that another time (I'm keen to see what other people say about it first - I mean it's their thing, but it's exciting!)

I also learned that @gillianpearce has been doing #workingat posts in Brighton & Hove like the one I did yesterday in Guildford for a few days now - such an innovator!

So it's time for today's desk. Again, this is a better place for thinking than for doing. I always imagine that I'm going to get masses done on the way there and the way back I can't really bring myself to write much, I'd rather look out the window, even when the view is like this a daggy bit of Swindon. So lots of thinking got done and now I'm actually writing this when I got home...

But I love days like today when I've got something small to deliver somewhere far enough away to travel to in a day. I had several hours in my railway thinking office, a couple of hours working with smart people and an hour wandering around a town I last visited properly thirty years ago. Fab.

Sort:  

Hey @lloyddavis, that was another ace session - too many thoughts running around my head as usual now though!

Seriously though, you’ve kickstarted some really great debate and discussion here at Gloucestershire Uni around monetisation, value and what this particular form of blockchain tech can offer to creatives and business-minded individuals.

Like I was saying last week, I think blockchain can get one into a bit of a Fukuyama / end of history mindset - where everything is just totally brilliant and anyone who isn’t part of the success story and doesn’t realise just how brilliant everything is just needs to get over themselves - but there’s something intriguing about the Steemit platform in that it opens out the entrails of a particular political economic way of thinking and lets you have a good poke around inside.

Plus I find myself getting quite drawn to @haejin and all of his ‘THAT'S 810.5% in PROFIT!!! IN LESS THAN TWO MONTHS!!!! 810.5%!!!!!’ vibe, and thinking about the value of way too many exclamation marks... and I’m totally loving having a whole bunch of new stuff to get my head around!

Hope the train journey was a good one 🚂

This is the first post and reader reply I have read and voted for on Steemit. I'm lucky to know Lloyd, so when I read the post I could hear him. Lovely, always.

Your reply was a very interesting read Math, I'm grateful for your perspective as a new Steemian. Lloyd's mind seeds are very special aren't they.

I've been trying to come up with something witty about 'steem trains' for a couple of mins, you know, to sign off with a giggle, but I've failed (this time) :-)
Onward.

thank you @mathlovett it's been really interesting working with you, I look forward to expanding a bit on what else you might do next. Let's talk soon :)

Sounds like a wonderful day @lloyddavis.

I always imagine that I'm going to get masses done

I'm the same. I cart my laptop around with me in all sorts of situations thinking I'm going to "work" and I rarely do. I also like just staring out the window and watching the world go by.

Glad you liked the #workingat tag. Maybe some more people will join us! 😊

I did the train office for eight hours the other day!

Enjoy your travel dear.

Never been to England before ):

What is a must visit in England? @lloyddavis

Cornwall, The Surrey Hills and Scotland (see what I did there)
More here https://www.visitbritain.com

Awesome, thanks for the share! Really cool page! @d3p0

oh gosh, there's so much. The main thing is experiencing history prior to 1600 - London's great but there are many interesting cities. Also get out of town and see some green rolling hills and experience the great British seaside if you can :)

Will keep that in mind, thanks! @lloyddavis

Enjoy a lot and have a good time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82